We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$113
$109
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$114
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$160
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$237
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$191
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,732)
Filter reviews
1,732 results
Traveler rating
1,032
530
118
36
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
530
118
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeconcierge deskspecial thanksexhibition streetroom was spaciousvalet parkingearly checkan upgradebuffet breakfastfederation squaretheatrelolliesgymcbdfurnishingsdoormanmcg
Filter
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 1,732 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I travel a lot for work and sometimes stay in Marriotts if I can in different parts of the world.

Location of this one was OK
Staff unhelpful, lady at check-in kept telling me that she didn't have a king available - then manager came and changed it. First she said we needed to pay for internet, I pointed out that I was a member (as I told her 1 minute before) after which she said, oh well, then you don't need to pay - as if it was a battle she had lost - yet in any other Marriott, this would be standard service. That kind of stuff is just below any standard.

Room did not have a view, in fact we were facing a wall.

Would not go back and in fact this stay has changed my previous generally positive view on Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_P23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

I was most concerned to hear of your disappointment with your check-in experience. We try very hard to ensure our guests are made to feel welcome on arrival, but obviously we fell short on this occasion. Complimentary internet access is extended to Marriott Reward members and I am very sorry for the confusion you were confronted with. Not being aware of your arrival, it is impossible for us to find out who checked you in, but we place great importance on training of our associates so please be assured your experience will be highlighted in future training to ensure a similar situation does not occur again. Not being a high-rise property in the heart of the CBD, unfortunately all rooms do not have expansive views. On any future visits however please do not hesitate to request a room on the Exhibition Street side which has a very pleasant outlook. Please give us another chance to prove to you that we normally do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived Easter weekend for a short visit to Melbourne before heading down to the coast. Convenient location for exploring and comfortable room for 3 of us. Our request for early check in was taken care of despite the hotel being busy. Had also requested a quiet room - at the end of a corridor & no problem with noise from the street. Very helpful, pleasant staff at reception and the concierge desk, which always counts for a lot. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinglight17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

So pleased you and the family enjoyed your short visit to Melbourne ..... and the Melbourne Marriott! We always do our best to meet requests from our guests and glad you were happy with your quiet room. Look forward to welcoming you back again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found this great place to stay to over Easter to enjoy the Comedy Festival. All the show venues we attended were within walking distance from the hotel which was really good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a little hiccup with our booking but it was confidently sorted and we upgraded. Downside was the fold up bed was a bit uncomfortable for our son but as soon as another was available it was replaced. We stayed in a very pleasant one bedroom suite. The photos of "old Melbourne" really give the place a nice feel and the orchids in the room are real plants.The staff were all confident and capable in their duties. I could not fault any of them. This was our second stay at the Marriott Melbourne. We really enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

So sorry to hear there was confusion with your booking - but pleased that it was sorted out with hopefully not too much inconvenience. You'd be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of purchasing new mattresses for our rollaway beds as we have been aware that time has taken its toll. Hope your son was comfortable with the replacement. Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We got a great deal over the Easter Long weekend through QuickBeds.com.au which our travel agent put us onto. The rate we got was excellent for this standard of hotel. WIthout a doubt we had the best stay and cannot fault the hotel. We had 2 teenage children/2 adults and the room was plenty big enough for us - 2 Double beds with a courtyard. The bathroom was a great size and very clean. The breakfast was outstanding - in fact the best buffet we have ever had! They had smoothies, pancake machine, freshly cooked to order omelettes, Lattes from the cafe included and even sparkling orange juice. We sat at a corner table with a great street view - and the lady running the cafe (sorry I don't know her name but long blond hair - was ever so helpful and lovely). We even got some sparkling on check in. The location was perfect for everything we needed to do - hop on/off (free) bus, Free tram, normal trams and walking distance to Bourke St etc. Kids and hubby loved the pool, gym and pay TV. Loved this hotel and will definitely only stay here in Melbourne. The only negative thing which didn't affect us because we have Australian mobile plans was that you had to pay for the wifi in your room - might be a bit expensive if you needed it. There was also a table set up in the foyer for little kids activities which would be great if you had littlies.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawesFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks so much for your review - and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Will pass on your appreciation to the breakfast team. Your children would have been far too old for the kid's table that we set up for Easter, but it did prove to be a winner with the younger ones. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights to explore Melbourne. The location is great and it is very convenient to explore Melbourne without the need of having a car.

We stay a lot at Marriott hotels around the world and this one fully met our expectations.
Our room was nice and cozy. Bathroom was clean and nice. The breakfast was a bit expensive, but excellent.

On the second day I picked up a rental car and parking in front of the street was very convenient.

In case I go back to Melbourne I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Also try to have breakfast in the hotel neighborhood. Great places are within 5 min walking distance.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relssog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Many thanks for your feedback ..... and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is in a great location to explore the city, so hope you had a good look around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews