We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Delights Package
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like others here have said, it's very good --- but it's not 5-star excellence.
The staff/managers/etc are all great. The service is fine. But the rooms are just okay. Spacious, but not special. Worst part is the shower design in some (most/all?) rooms : Truly horrible layout/design.

However, the location is indeed excellent. Right in the center. Right next to Chinatown and all kinds of amazing amazing amazing food. Walking distance to the QV mall, the Bourke St mall, the Victoria Market, ... Location is great.

Melbourne is one of the best cities in the world. If you're in Melbourne, you're gonna have a good time. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors. The walls are thin and you'll hear everything from next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Marriott website promotes the Melbourne Marriott as being a 5 Star boutique hotel. It is very good with really helpful and friendly staff, excellent staff, but by international standards I would put it at 4 to 4 and a half stars and not boutique.

My room had an adjoining room and was not noise sealed which meant that conversations and alarm clocks etc were far from private. Other than that was well laid out, spacious, comfortable, reasonably well lit and adequately equipped. The curtain didn't close properly so it was not possible to fully darken the room during the day.

The shower taps are on the other side of the water stream, ie you have to get wet to turn the water on, which is ok if you are the one taking the shower but they are separate taps rather than a thermostatically controlled mixer so it is going to be too hot or cold while you get it right - not very 5 star. Also the mirror is not heated so it will mist up, again not very 5 star.

One of the things I have got used to in 5 Star hotels is some kind of music system, I didn't notice anything in this respect. Obviously there is scope for disturbing the neighbors but it would be handy for drowning out the noise from an adjoining room.

As for 'boutique' the Melbourne Marriott does not meet any description of boutique that I can think of. To me a boutique hotel is usually on the smaller side, have some distinctive attribute of luxury and very importantly will have a notable character or charm. As far I could see this Marriott was a normal hotel from the outside and on the inside.

Finally I would really appreciate hotels leaving a note as to whether tap water is drinkable or not - how are international travelers to know otherwise. Of course we can ask but a statement by the hotel is more reliable.

Would I stay there again? Yes.

Room Tip: Unless you need it I would not recommend an adjoining room, also check the lift location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making our stay with you so enjoyable!
From the reception staff onwards, our experience was very positive. Being across the road from the course I attended added to the ease of the stay, while my husband was occupied walking around Melbourne and re familiarised himself to all the sights. The staff helped us celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary, even sending a surprise complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryll1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was fantastic. We were greeted at the door by the bellhop who took our bags and then poured us a glass of champagne while we checked in. This was a first! The staff were genuinely interested in our stay. 10 minutes after arriving in our room a birthday card, chocolates and a bottle of wine arrived to celebrate my birthday- complimentary! This made my night !!!!!!!the room was spacious and well appointed, we even had our own courtyard. The bedding was exceptional and the tv enormous. Breakfast the next morning was everything you would expect. I will definitely be recommending this to others and returning in the near future. Well done to the staff at the Marriott- you made my stay.

Room Tip: Every room would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
504 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Melbourne is far more understated than Sydney but overall I think I prefer it. It has a super fun vibe and it must be a wonderful place to live.

The Marriott is right in the heart of the city near Chinatown and easy to walk everywhere.

The hotel is a little bit in need of a refurb but the rooms have a great HD TV system.

I was upgraded to a suite as a gold card holder which was lovely

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

The executive lounge was actually far better than the one in Sydney

So an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: If you do like a little street noise you need to stay high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham Vale
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful night at this hotel. It is in easy reach of public transport, a range of dining options and the theatre district of Melbourne. While the rooms are understated, they are clean, tidy and well appointed. The staff make this hotel great, taking time and great care in ensuring we were relaxed and comfortable from the moment we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahWyndhamVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

just returned home after a 3 day get away to melbourne with my friend.we stayed here as we got a great deal including 2 double beds and breakfast in a a deluxe room on the 7th floor.
we could not fault this hotel.the staff were super friendly and helpful.the breakfast was plentiful and delish.they even made us eggs beni and pancakes to order.how nice is that.
the room was spacious and clean and well appointed. there was no bath but the shower was hot and strong.very nice.the only issue i had was that the pillows were too soft however bed super comfy.
there is happy hour in the bar every night and you can get a glass of bubbly or a vino for 5 dollars.could value and a great start to the night when you go and explore melbounes food scene.
we both loved it. well done marriott.love to come back one day and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perthminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,847 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,623 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing