We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great location. Great staff.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This Marriott is well located - one block away from Chinatown and downtown, and at walking distance to most main attractions in Melbourne (Aquarium, Museums, Federation Square, Botanic Gardens, the main shopping malls, etc.). The staff was helpful and courteous. The room is relatively small, as are the bathroom and the gym. There is no bus shuttle from/to the airport, and taxi cabs would cost you AU$60 one way. Good value and recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The location is very central both for restaurants and shopping. You'd be pleased to know that an upgrade of the gym and pool area is planned for this year. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    479
    103
    34
    14
See reviews for
326
462
86
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. Great room, the hotel was gorgeous, the lobby always smelled amazing and a cocktail was waiting for us at reception during check in. The staff catered to our every need and I loved the personal touch of every employee addressing me by name. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Melbourne Marriott. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
573 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Arrived early morning on Christmas Day and an executive room was found immediately and we were in within 15 minutes. We had previously booked the Xmas lunch but soon realised that we were so jet lagged that sleep was our priority.
I called AT YOUR SERVICE and within half an hour was told that no charge would be made. In addition, if we changed our mind we could join in at $100 each...a big saving. Needless to say we slept. It now turns out that we had already been charged the full price. On checkout I was assured that the matter would be investigated but was assured that there would be at least a 50% refund. I again explained that I had been told there would be no charge and that I would hear from them very soon......so far nothing.
The hotel has great staff and overall we were satisfied although access to the breakfast lounge on our final morning was not available as it was full. They again allowed us to used the main restaurant .
Be aware that there only showers but this was ok for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Each year we check in to a 5 star hotel in the CBD as a treat on our wedding anniversary. Most years we are very satisfied with our choice. This year we were somewhat disappointed. Low lights included ... Cold lattes in the bar, ice ordered from room service not turning up, being told our room light bulb could not be replaced because it was after 5pm and maintenance had gone home, very ordinary food, No atmosphere in bar area, having to bus our own table in the cafe so we could sit at it, our room not being serviced until after 3.30pm and then all they did was pull up the bed, a lot of dust in drawers etc. room as ok but nothing special. Must say concierge and reception staff were very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a regret to read that your stay was not as it should have been. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings on our part. I’ll ensure that all these issues will be looked into. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future again and enjoy a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 2nd to the 9th Decembers. Great friendly staff, hotel and room spotlessly clean. No issues recommending this hotel. Very central to all the locations, great to walk down to and along the south Bank to take in all the bars and restaurants.
Literally seconds away from china Town with loads and loads of restaurants to choose from and various price ranges

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyMac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott. The location is very central both for restaurants and shopping. Merry Christmas !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Marriott has a great locaton for tourists and I suspect businessmen. The hotel has recently been updated so everything is new and fresh. The rooms are really spacious, almost a mini-suite and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are no baths however, these were taken out of all rooms at renovation time. The manager is obviously on the ball as there were drinks and dining specials every day. The 'grab and go' breakfast for $7 was very good value. The gym was too small for a hotel of this size and although the apparatus was new.....anymore than 5 guests in the gym was too many. There is a large indoor pool and sauna.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.
This is a truly upscale Marriott!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithY651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Melbourne Marriott. The quick 'grab and go' breakfast at just $7 has been very popular for guests 'on the run'. The full buffet breakfast is great if you have more time. You'd be pleased to know that an upgrade of the gym and pool area is planned for next year. Your appreciation will be passed on to our staff. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Level Contributor
238 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A cut above the average up-scale Marriott and made even more so by the attentive staff, who seem to anticipate your every need. Breakfast and evening snacks in Executive Lounge were excellent. 1.5 blocks from free tram around the city is a big plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoodLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
So pleased to hear that our staff were attentive and did their best to ensure your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing