We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for the whole family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful for the whole family!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are currently spending 3 nights at the Marriott with our two small children in a premier delux room.

The concierge and check in are wonderful, upon arrival we were offered a drink of water and we received a complimentery bottle of wine and our children received a small bag with crayons and activities for them to do as well as a lollipop. Our bags were taken to our room and the concierge explained how to use the light switches that really aren't as complicated as previously implied.

The rooms are beautiful although the carpet seems a little grungy (coming from an interior designers point of view" the carpets could do with cleaning but aren't excessively dirty (our daughter was crawling on them and her knees were hardly dirty) and although I read the walls were thin we haven't heard a peep!

The concierge has been wonderful, we called down for a cot and it was there in 5 minutes, then we called for an extra key an they brought it up within 10-15 minutes. Then deserts from room service took about half an hour and I find for a hotel the mini bar and menu prices are fairly reasonable, no more than you would pay on an airplane, we paid more or a drink down at the 7/11 than we do from the mini bar.

The hotel is close to the free city circle tram and getting around is easy from here.

Overall I think they have payed close attention to previous negitive reviews and made mountains of improvement from what I read before booking, I was hesitant but now I am glad we chose to stay here, it definitely has the luxury feel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandBPayneandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    489
    106
    34
    15
See reviews for
342
491
87
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The price is not cheap for a hotel here (average in Melbourne), but since I had a deep discount, it was def worth it for me.

The hotel is in the heart of the city so walking distance to many of good eats; we also rented a car to travel since we were visiting family and Melbourne isn't a place where everything is within walking distance. Car park is not free. Rooms were cleaned everyday and the rooms were very spacious with tons of shelf space for our clothes.

We were given a free bottle of wine for our 7 night stay on the 6th or 7th night, which was another plus. Quiet (for those people who are light sleepers like myself), and hospitality at its best. Breakfast (at around $20/person) was average, with foods being warm (not hot) and nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wow! Everything about staying at the Marriot was amazing! The welcome at reception was beyond expectation and really set the scene for our stay. This was a 5 star experience: from reception, to our beautiful, roomy, comfy suite, to the executive lounge. We also met some other guests in the lounge and had a wonderful night. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy499642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Marriott Melbourne is in a great location in the city - close to shops, shops and more shops, and has plenty of transport options close by to get anywhere else you would like to go.
The Hotel itself is newly renovated, exceptionally clean and even smells fabulous! The bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept on in my life. The indoor pool is clean and a great escape from the cold outside. The gym is also great to help work off all the great food and drink in Melbourne.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but did order room service a few times and the meals were delicious, a good size and arrived quite quickly.
I was very surpirsed to come back to our hotel room one night to find a complementary bottle of sparkling and chocolates waiting for us and a birthday card (as my birthday was the following day)! The staff really do go the extra mile to ensure you have an amazing stay.

We will definitely be going to back to the Marriott next time we are in Melbourne!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecBelsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fanstastic place to stay!! Could not fault the staff, service, rooms, food, or decor.

The bed was amazing! There were 3 adults in my room and it was big enough to accomodate all 3 of us even with 2 double beds, the bathroom was big and the room decor was nice and modern.
The service we recevied from all staff was of a high standard, from the time of booking until the time we left. The breakfast was lovely and the room service was reasonably priced.

Mangement should be very proud of their staff.

Looking forward to returning to this hotel next time in Melbourne!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first stay with Marriott and we were pleasantly surprised. The service from start to finish was excellent from reception, check in to the bar and restaurant. A really friendly atmosphere. Our room was good. Spacious and modern. The location of the hotel is perfect for theatre, restaurants and shopping. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, AL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in Melbourne's Marriott from Sept. 2-7 for business purposes. The rooms were nice, the location was great and an easy walk to free city transportation such as the City Circle Tram and the City Shuttle for tourists. The Concierge desk staff were very helpful at every opportunity. They sent welcome wines and chocolates to us several times, and offered directions to enjoyable tourist places and restaurants. Half way through the week my husband pulled his back and the housekeeping staff were SO thoughtful, offering ice and extra pillows as needed. The hot tub was very pleasant and the heated pool was enjoyable for exercise. There were 3 couples in Melbourne on business; the wives found the Executive Lounge to be quite adequate for breakfast, coffee and tea, and even dinner one evening when the men were delayed returning. All in all, it was my favorite part of our Australian travels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,553 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,680 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,066 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing