We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We went to the Marriott as part of a lastminute deal where the hotel was a surprise. I must admit I was a bit sceptical that the hotel was the 5 stars it purported to be. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The room on the first floor was spacious, modern and had its own balcony/ courtyard looking out at the pool.

Upon my arrival and check-in I was offered a complimentary champagne. I said that I would love one but would wait until my husband arrived from work. I stated that he was entitled to be late given it was his birthday. Imagine my surprise and delight when we arrived back from dinner later that night to find a bottle of white wine chilling, a box of chocolates and a happy birthday card for my husband. I didn't think this kind of thing happened anymore! Thank you to the Marriott! You really blew us away with your thoughtfulness and generosity.

Room Tip: First floor had lovely outside courtyard with view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melliodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    478
    103
    34
    14
See reviews for
324
460
86
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed here in Nov 2011 during my biz trip as Westin was booked out. Alas I have been treated to perfection so perhaps my expectations were high. Unfortunately as I was paying the same for Westin and Marriott I was expecting something similar to Westin.

The front desk\concierge were pretty awesome and helpful. The biggest plus here was the free internet but as my company pays for the internet (due to my mobile) it didnt matter but it would if were travelling myself.

Room was nothing short of a let down. Carpets were stained, bathroom had old school type of faucet (one cold and one hot, we all know how hard it can be at times). The wash basin really tiny compared to the dual I had in Westin. The bed and study table were of decent quality.

I had a second booking with them which I cancelled and went back to Westin as for the exact same price you get a lot more with Westin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F1Maniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I spend alot of time traveling for work and I must say one of the most pleasurable hotels I stay in is the Melbourne Marriott.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The location puts it right in the middle of wherever you might want to go. It's walking distance to museums, restaurants and cafes. Situated close to Federation square you can get a metro ticket for use on trains, trams and buses to almost anywhere.

The rooms are always clean and spacious and all amenities are superior.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had a one week reservation at the Marriott while looking for a permanent accomodation in Melbourne. Well all did not go well with the house hunting and one week turned into 5 weeks. Being Gold members we had access to the executive lounge. The breakfasts were excellent and evening tidbits were a dinner buffet with curries and pastas. A full bar with a lovely variety of wines, beers and liquors. ALL staff including George the General Manager, were more than welcoming and every request or problem was solved immediately. The staff made us feel like family during a very difficult time in our lives. We have stayed at luxury properties worldwide, and while other hotels might have more glamour, this Marriott stands alone in the exceptional degree of customer service. Rooms are very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. A big plus for the business traveler is that there are enough powerpoints in the room for mobile phones and computers. Room lighting is also excellent. The value for the room was outstanding. We actually were considering staying at this hotel for our entire year in Melbourne. Other guests we met in the executive lounge were equally fond of this hotel. We were very sad to leave our Marriott family.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 4, 2 adults & 2 children, stayed one night in a room with 2 large double beds on the 10th floor. Great sized room, clean and fresh. Super comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Great location for theaters, shopping, MCG etc. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is ideally located in Melbourne close to all attraction, you can walk to most or a short taxi ride to others. The rooms are clean and spacious, service is excellent, ammenities are of a high standard and the staff are very helpful. You will not be disappointed, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, it's the location of this hotel that matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collingwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal! We were able to walk to all of the things we wanted to do. On our first night there it was raining and one of the employees noticed we did not have an umbrella. He quickly secured one for us from the Concierge and told us to return it when we got back. The staff was very thoughtful, the rooms were quite spacious and very clean and the food that was served was excellent. This was one of the best Marriott's we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,339 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,524 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing