We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect choice in CBD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #15 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“perfect choice in CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband & I arrived at the Marriott for a two night stay at the end of August, after a late night flight from Brisbane. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who even offered us a complimentary glass of wine....lovely touch!!. We were also given the opportunity to upgrade our booked room to a Junior suite for a small extra fee. As we were in town for a birthday getaway we gladly agreed & were happy we did!. The room had a separate living room with a view of the street & theatre area, well equipped bathroom & sectioned off dressing area. The quality of the linen & towels were very good, the bed very comfortable, the decor tastefully done & the two large flatscreen tv's were a bonus. It was nice to be able to spread out in a hotel room for a change( even though admittedly we didn't spend a lot of time indoors as we lucked out with the Melbourne weather!) The concierge & doorman were always pleasant & helpful with directions & suggestions for daily activities, & the housekeeping was well maintained in all areas of the Hotel.
We actually initially found this Hotel as a mystery hotel but would not hesitate in rebooking on another trip to Melbourne.

Room Tip: worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toowoombatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    415
    90
    33
    13
See reviews for
276
368
74
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were greeted in a very warm, friendly and professional manner. We enjoyed the services of the Executive Lounge, the value for money was excellent! The room was very quiet, clean and comfortable with loads of space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

just been to Melbourne and stayed at the Marriott Hotel. Great location close to everything. Rooms where large and had a separate area where you could leave your suitcase out of the way from the bed area which I think is a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0ycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The staff, from the concierge to the front desk, to the banquet staff are amazing! The room service is of good quality, the rooms are comfortable and nice (newly updated a few years back), and the hotel is in one of the most convenient areas for shopping, eating, getting on the free or paid tram, and taking the subway. There are also tons of theaters in the area within walking distance as well. I used the fitness center in the mornings most days and was by myself each time, the hotel has an indoor pool next to it and all of the machines have individual tv's as well. I would recommend this property and wish I was still there as I spent a week! Also, Marriott rewards members get free wifi in the public and sleeping room space - a huge plus in my book!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott for 2 nights with our family (2 adults/2 children) on our trip to Melbourne to see the Tutankhamen exhibit. The hotel is newly renovated and beautiful. Our room was on the 6th floor and immaculate. What really makes this hotel is the staff, they could not make you feel more welcome, special and nothing at all is a problem. We had the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on, they made you feel like you were floating in the sky. Our kids also loved the indoor pool, even though it was August, the pool was 35 degrees in the spa or 26 in the pool. We would definately stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rennie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

very nice room, great location(shopping and theater)...but the staff,while not rude - didn't seem to notice us at all - and we were there for 3 days. we didn't need them, as we have a friend in melbourne who showed us around - but I think they should at least say Hi to you when they see you several times. but great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maestromuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

First time here and what a pleasant surprise. The location, in the theatre district, is full of life and its only a short walk to shopping and a million restaurants. Quality, committed staff, an attractive and well maintained hotel (with terrific photos of Melbourne mid-20th century decorating both rooms and public areas) and good food. Only drawback is bathrooms that (unlike the bedrooms) need refurbishment. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,485 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,229 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing