We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, Best BEDS, GREAT WEEKEND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have stayed in many a hotel most a lot dearer than the Marriott) and yet Ive never received better service! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here, whether it was sending up a pair of scissors, room service at 3am, or letting us stay in the room until 12 when we called hung over the next morning! Four girls stayed here for a hens and we were sent up a complimentary bottle of Champaign (all guests receive a glass and a chocolate strawberry on arrival) Despite booking the hotel on a discount web page we were treated like princesses as opposed to second-class citizens, as has been my experience at other hotels. The standard twin room was large with loads of storage and all the amenities you would expect. The beds, linen and pillows were heavenly and two bath robes are supplied in the room (but no bath) Even though our package included breakfast for 2, all 4 of us ate for free, including espresso coffee! A large buffet variety, only complaint would be the food was not on par with the rest of the hotel standards (granted we did crawl down 15min before breakfast finished and most people wouldn't expect a Michelin star at 3am!) Loads of reasonably priced parking near by.
Marriott is fantastic value and all the girls cant wait to stay here again, a wonderful experience, thank you!

Room Tip: If you want a bath book a spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed two nights while attending a training course for work that was being held in the hotel.

Room was well appointed and recently refurbished, however, retaining the existing bathroom ventilation fan and noisy room air-conditioner was disappointing. Also some finishing touches were not really up to 5 star standard, but that may be me being a picky designer.

Breakfast was wonderful, but extremely expensive and I would have gone elsewhere if work wasn't paying. Another course member sat with me and had a coffee while I finished breakfast and disappointingly they wanted to charge him for a full breakfast even though he ate nothing and had already paid for his coffee.

Other than this, staff were courteous and polite, even when another guest managed to stop our lift between floors.

My only comment - for the cost of the rooms, some free WiFi would be expected!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JzdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed for three nights with a four year old, the staff were wonderfully friendly especially with our daughter. We have stayed at a few Marriott hotels and the staff here were far the best.
The rooms were very clean and modern with IPod docs and wireless internet. Plenty of room and sitting areas. The beds were very comfortable. The only thing that was missing was a bath, which I would have liked with a small child.
The swimming pool etc is nothing to write home about, in fact not really somewhere you would choose to spend any time, in need of some updating.
The location was ideally centrally located and an easy walk to many attractions, and the best coffee shop only a few doors away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Overall wonderfully hotel, friendly staff and nice rooms. Had a specific problem with out air conditioner which was annoying, but staff helped out the best they could.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osubuckeye415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed for two nights with a large corporate group for a weekend of leisure. Most of our group were able to check in early as the rooms became available - very helpful anf friendly staff. Spent an hour in the bar testing the Lemon Meringue cocktail....superb , while waiting for our room to be available.
Room was very spacious and the bed was very, very comfortable although my partner is not keen on feather pillows - but didn't ask for an alternative which I am sure they probably have. Nice quality linen, pillows, feather topper etc. Alarm with i-pod dock was a nice touch - make sure you check alarm is off each night but I found it easy to use and not bright at night.
Bathroom has walk-in shower only but that is fine as we never use baths. Good selection of toiletries.
Our room was right next to the lifts on the 4th floor and we were not disturbed by any noise at all! Only thing we heard was shower in the morning next door but we were up anyway.
Essence breakfast was great with a good selection to choose from.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enelyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Overall, the stay was good. Most of the staff knew what they were doing (with the exception of a couple at the front desk). Restaurant staff were very friendly...great breakfast buffet spread, but the poached eggs were over-cooked (tut tut!). The room decor was modernised 60s...spacious. The gym was a bit old, TV was not working.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH-SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have 4 days stay it was nice warm welcome, they let us early check in as the room ready anyway. We stay on high level floor, overlooking the front of the hotel, there is nothing much to see except some building and blue sky. We are happy the room is comfortable, bed sheet is nice, so many pillow, nice 42 inch LCD TV but no movie channel, except the paid movies.
We stay most of the time in hotel because getting around is so close and easy. There are so many restaurant around, many theatre, shopping centres. What else, even Churches and Museums are close by, with in short walk. There is no bathtub in my bathroom that is a bit backward, maybe they design so they can save water. Its good idea. But the bathroom was not new i think. Just fine with me. Compare to other Marriott hotel maybe this is not as good as other. Maybe its a bit old.

Room Tip: Get room at level 1 if you like swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,770 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $163 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing