We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep expectations to a minimum and it will be just right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Batman's Hill on Collins
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Location wise it was perfect. Lots of important stuff within walking distance e.g. supermarket, eateries, Southern Cross Station diagonally across the road from the hotel, walking distance to day tour pick ups, walking distance to free city tram stop.

For the hotel itself, actually booked a family room but given a one-bdrm apartment with a king and several singles for a 5-night stay which was appreciated. (Thank you) But that is as good as it gets. For a start, wifi is complimentary for only an hour a day. You know something is not quite right when you look at the phone and find that all requests go through reception. There isn't even a dedicated housekeeping line? Basic amenities that you really expect to have in hotel rooms it is not provided for here e.g. bath slippers, shower gel (yup, you are given only the tiny round soap here which most hotels provide as hand soaps) in room safe (I can't imagine an apartment without providing a safe. You have to deposit important stuff like your passports in a safe deposit box at front desk) And back to the housekeeping... called to request for assistance regarding the bathtub one night, was promised to send someone up to check, never came. (I actually expected this considering reception handles all calls)

But all in all I don't have too much of an issue. You wouldn't either if you spend little time in the hotel and mostly out on day tours or exploring the city. I would have given a rating of 3.5 if I could as average isn't quite fair and very good is too much to give.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TuckWeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins with your family.

It is great to read that our location was to your liking and that our Front desk staff were able to upgrade you to a 4 Star apartment free of charge from a 3.5 Star Standard Family room that was booked for the duration of your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 939 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

we loved it we had a suite of rooms and there was 4 of us two adults and two children. very friendly spacious suits very clean. it is ideal if you want to be in a place where it is easy to get to the attractions. we went back there 3 years later and still loved it. It is right by the railway which is brilliant.

Room Tip: best ones if you have a suite otherwise it can be noisy if you are in a bedroom as people get up al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed in a twin room on the third floor last weekend 31 May/1 June with a friend. No carpet in room so it was very sterile and noisy. The window seat had stains all over it, and there was a really unpleasant smell. There was also the added inconvenience of no direct lift access from the ground floor to the room - having to go up the staircase to the 1st floor, then down another set of stairs to lifts then up to the room, and on the way down the same in reverse. There are lifts on the ground floor but we were told they were for staff only. In all really disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 12, 2015

Dear Javad,

thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. It's awesome to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that our location was perfect for your requirements.

We do hope you will have the chance to come back to Melbourne and to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Federica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in room 507, a standard double room which was more like a shoe box with hardly any space in the tiny wardrobe and 2 shallow drawers for clothes. The air conditioners outside the room were very noisy at night. Felt very disappointed.

Room Tip: Floor 5 was very noisy at night from A/C units and the standard double room we had (room 507) was ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatmansHillSales, Rooms Division Manager at Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't as expected and appreciate you informing us about the noise from the Air Conditioner outside Room 507, I have reported this to our Maintenance Department who will investigate and repair.

Thanks again for taking the time to submit your feedback, we can't fix problems we are not aware of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Lucky to have 3 stars. Good location. Rooms very small, cheaply done and lacked items such as spare blankets. Bar fridge only contained milk. Staff seemed to be unaware of level of assistance required by some guests. Staff polite but appeared disorganised and unapproachable. Restaurant average. Would only stay for an overnight if I had to.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank missy2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were so helpful, the location is ideal to reach so many places in Melbourne CBD on foot. We booked only the room as there are plenty of places to eat around as you walk out of the Hotel. Access to the hotel is so easy as it is almost opposite the Souther cross. So we had to only take the sky bus to get to Southern cross and then cross the road to get to the Hotel. This hotel is totally worth the money we spent.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Imali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatmansHillSales, Rooms Division Manager at Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

Your positive feedback is welcomed as we are proud of our Hotel, the staff are happy to help all our guests with any information they need to make their day easier and it is great you have taken the time to say you had a good stay.

Hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

With only 48 hours to sightsee Melbourne, this proved to be a great location. Spencer St railway station across the road with a Woolworths grocery store, and Spencer St outlet shopping just a bit further. Casino area just a short walk away, as well as DFO South Wharf. Staff were pleasant and helpful at all times, and the room (twin) was a good size, comfortable and clean. Tram stops right outside and a 48 will take you to Fitzroy Gardens very easily. If energy is limited (as it was for us), take the tram a few blocks to access the heart of the shopping areas in the CBD. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Spencer Street and was not jammed next door to another hotel as many are in Melb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthiebne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatmansHillSales, Director of Sales at Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins.

We are pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, our location and ease of access to many tram lines is a big positive with our guests.

Thank you again for your positive feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne and to our Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 161 in Melbourne
3,764 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#46 of 161 in Melbourne
1,886 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#134 of 161 in Melbourne
640 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#98 of 161 in Melbourne
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batman's Hill on Collins

Address: 623 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#94 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $91 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman’s Hill on Collins is a charming historical hotel conveniently located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, opposite Southern Cross Station and the Skybus Airport Shuttle’s city terminal. Our beautiful hotel is walking distance from Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Etihad Stadium, Crown Entertainment Complex, and The Art Centre. The hotel features 190 suites and apartments and fully equipped Studio, One Bedroom and Two Bedroom, a versatile conference center with 10 event spaces and two restaurants a public bar and entertainment room, as well as a cocktail lounge where our resident pianist plays songs on request. Starting life as the original state Bank of Melbourne, listed as a heritage building and offering an impeccable service, Batman’s Hill will make your stay unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing