We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I'd expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
Ranked #105 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having read numerous reviews on trip advisor, I was apprehensive about our stay at this hotel. However, from the moment I stepped foot into the property my expectations were exceeded. (Mind you, had just come from awful Holiday inn old sydney which was another story and very different review)The room was a two bedroom suite with kitchen. Room 33 overlooking Collins and spencer st. I Was impressed with the the glazing on the windows as the location has the potential to be very noisy. However, I could hear the occasional ping of the tram bell and little more. The room was clean and the kitchenette was well provided should you chose to self cater. The location was great for seeing the sites of Melbourne.
My only small Criticism was the buffet continental breakfast. This was a bit basic and was a bit dry and not replenished when things were running out.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. Great for tourists and business trips.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livelifeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear reviewer, thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. We are happy to see that overall, your experience with us was a positive one. Your comments regarding your breakfast will be passed on to our Food & Beverage Department for continued improvement. We hope to welcome you back to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill On Collins very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 990 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very nice building (at the outside) on a perfect location.
Rooms are small with basic comfort. Walls and ceiling are thin so you can enjoy all activities in you surroundings.
Staff is helpful and friendly.
Restaurant has a limited menu but what the offer is good. Breakfast is good but they need to do something about their coffee!!
I stayed here for 7 nights and hesitating if I will return, accommodation for sure can be better but going out in the morning and coming back in the evening is very smooth.
Btw, internet connection is also good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fransmortier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. Thank you for highlighting our ideal location in the heart of Melbourne, which is close to many of the city's finest attractions. We are happy to see that your experience with us was positive overall, and we do hope you decide to stay with us on your next Melbourne trip. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Batman's Hill as part of a package holiday taken with Mercury Direct.
On arrival we found locating the reception quite a challenge, we found it eventually but it was up a flight of stairs which is not practical when travelling with heavy luggage. I understand there is access from the car park via a complicated lift system.
Check in was easy with a pleasant young man who assisted us with our luggage down some more steps to another lift.
At the reception desk there were several invites to upgrade your room and the cost involved which seemed a bit strange, on seeing our allocated room it began to make sense.
We had requested a twin room,and we were allocated a tiny twin room with a view of a scruffy back yard, one chair and very little space. My friend then noticed that the bathroom had a glass door with gaps top bottom and side. Whilst a couple may find this acceptable I don,t consider this suitable when travelling with a friend and think one should be entitled to privacy.
We returned straight away to reception to express our disappointment and was informed that the only option was to upgrade...This we did at a cost of $30 per night.
I am perhaps being a bit sceptical but could this be a ploy showing you to the worst room in the hotel first?The room we upgraded to was much nicer.
We went for breakfast on the first morning and was told we could have continental breakfast in the dining room near the bar or a full cooked breakfast in another room, we opted for the light option which was adequate, the following morning we thought we would have something more substantial but were informed that we were only entitled to the light breakfast.
We dined in the hotel on three evenings and the food was very nice,
The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear reviewer, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman’s Hill on Collins. We are happy to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and we will pass your kind comments on to them. Regarding your first room, we have addressed this internally – in many cases, this room type is allocated through agents, etc. as an ‘entry-level’ option to accommodate price sensitivities. However, we offer a wide variety of rooms to suit all budgets & needs, including 4-Star Club Rooms & Apartments. As part of your package, you were entitled to a free continental breakfast, with the option to upgrade to a fully-cooked breakfast for a small charge. We apologise for the confusion, as this should have been made clear to you by our staff, and we have informed our Food & Beverage Manager of this mistake. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Melbourne. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The first room we were given was very small, and the bathroom, which faced into the room, had a glass door which my friend and I found unacceptable.We upgraded to a better room which cost an extra $30 a night, but afforded us more privacy. The reception desk was up some steps, so not easy for anyone with disabilities, but the staff were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was adequate and we ate in the dining room each evening and found the food very good.

Room Tip: Don't go for the basic room unless you don't mind your partner seeing you get out of the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. Thank you for noting that our staff were friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed your meals with us. Your comments regarding your first room will be discussed internally for continued development. We hope to welcome you back on your next stay in Melbourne. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel about three months back on a business trip. Reasonably priced , close to the railway station and super market.

The reception staff was friendly and helpful. There was a fat, big bellied middle aged staff member who seemed to be unfriendly.

Remember to catch the city circle free tram which stops in front of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a cheap place to stay and easy access to public transport

Room Tip: Do not book a room that is close to the road. Trams start early in the morning and is a real annoya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickcave255437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batmans_Sales, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear reviewer. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. Thank you for highlighting our convenient location, which is close to public transport and many of Melbourne's finest attractions. We are pleased that you found our reception staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay, and we will pass your comments on to them. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has a great location across from the railway station and DFO. We were upgraded to an apartment on the second floor. It was very large and spacious with a full kitchen. Perfect for longer stays. There is an IGA store half a block away. The air conditioner worked great. In fact everything was nice except for the bed and bathroom. The bed sagged quite badly on one side and definitely needs replacing. The bathroom was a tight squeeze between the basin and toilet. Also very little room for toiletries and no place for soap. The staff were extremely courteous. Free newspapers and a good buffet breakfast. Drinks were reasonably priced. There was no view from our room window as it overlooked the dining room below and the walls of the next building. Bonus - no street noise. This hotel would be very difficult for anyone with disabilities or in a wheelchair to access due to stairs, having to go from one elevator to another to access different floors and the bathroom layout. The food in the restaurant was very ordinary. This hotel appears to cater more for bus groups than individual travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms/apartments on the second floor are very spacious - perfect for two couples or a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins. We are happy to see that you were happy with your stay and that the service delivered to you by our team was of a high standard. The information you have noted about your bed and bathroom has been acknowledged and will be passed on to the relevant departments for review. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Across the street from the railway station. Trams right outside the door. Staff very efficient and friendly. we stay here on a regular basis. Their family rooms are spacious. I would recommend this place to either corporates or families as well as holidaymakers.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keldonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesBHOC, Manager at Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for continuing to stay with Quality Batman's Hill on Collins. We are pleased you enjoy our spacious Family Rooms, and our ideal location in Melbourne's CBD. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 161 in Melbourne
3,910 reviews
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,618 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Address: 623 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batman’s Hill on Collins is a charming historical hotel conveniently located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, opposite Southern Cross Station and the Skybus Airport Shuttle’s city terminal. Our beautiful hotel is walking distance from Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Etihad Stadium, Crown Entertainment Complex, and The Art Centre. The hotel features 190 suites and apartments and fully equipped Studio, One Bedroom and Two Bedroom, a versatile conference center with 10 event spaces and two restaurants a public bar and entertainment room, as well as a cocktail lounge where our resident pianist plays songs on request. Starting life as the original state Bank of Melbourne, listed as a heritage building and offering an impeccable service, Batman’s Hill will make your stay unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing