We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing: Not good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 10, 2008

The Best Western Travel Inn Hotel is in an excellent position for Lygon Street Carlton and Melbourne University. But don't bother with this hotel if your needs are in the Melbourne CBD. This property is very tired, and needs a major make-over. It is really a 1970's style motel. While it is clean and well managed, it does not offer value for money. My wife and I paid $160 for our room, booked direct with the Best Western chain. The "spa room" on the third floor was not worth that money. And in addition we paid a further $34 for two uninspiring continental breakfasts. Most Melbourne hotels offer a free morning newspaper, but here if you want a newspaperpaper you pay for it. This hotel is the sort of place where you might spend a single night if on business in Carlton, but otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wasamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 392 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

I stayed here for a week on business and would quite happily stay again. It's just one street along from Lygon St and easy walking distance to the hospital and Uni which is where I needed to be.

While the hotel isn't the most glamorous I have stayed in it had everything I needed and I loved the location. I had a large room with a fridge, but the bathroom was a bit dated.

Breakfast was good, for most meals it's prob best to head for Lygon St where there is plenty of choice. Bus stops one block away which goes towards the hospital, and the tram to the city centre is just a couple of blocks away.

There was wifi access, which was possible to purchase for one week, meaning it was quite reasonable. There was a laundry on-site which was also quite reasonable.

The only thing I didn't like is that it seemed I was above a smoking room as there was sometimes a strong smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cork_girl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

There are 2 travel inns in Melbourne so hope I am reviewing the correct one. This one is Carlton - one street back from Lygon. Stayed 4 nights and the room whilst small was adequate for just sleeping there. Cost was reasonable compared to lots of other hotels for the first week of the Aust Open. Nice small pool with comfortable chairs situated in courtyard setting.

Easy to walk to city or catch circle train which takes you around the city.

Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Avoid this hotel! Some staff and management need a personality bi-pass! I had something stolen from my room and yet received a completely unsympathetic reaction and yet it took them 12 hours to find it in the room (supposedly) and to ring me!

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank WellingtonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed here as part of a group on final stage of a tour of Australia. Hotel was in a good spot for walking to (free) tourist trams and restaurants, reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Our ground floor room (113) was very small for a double with barely room to squeeze past the bed. The room was very dark being partly behind a wall at the back of the swimming pool. It was also next to the laundry room so a constant stream of people walking past meant the curtains had to be closed for any privacy. As we had an afternoon flight the hotel let our group have a courtesy room for last minute changing. Situated at the front of the hotel this was a far superior room.

The pool only had about 3 or 4 sun loungers and no handrail by the steep steps leading into the pool. Some of the less able people in our party were afraid to use it.

The restaurant was quite small which meant there was often a queue for breakfast. We discovered on the last day it was far better to go round to Lygon Street where breakfast was served until midday.

The hotel is Ok if you are on a budget but disappointing as a last memory of Australia.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank HarleyStisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayato K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#120 of 162 in Melbourne
135 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#45 of 162 in Melbourne
389 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#88 of 162 in Melbourne
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#155 of 162 in Melbourne
84 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 162 in Melbourne
116 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel

Address: | Cnr Grattan And Drummond Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $104 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions including Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Buildings, Imax, University of Melbourne, Royal Melbourne Hospital to name a few. We welcome our guests to take advantage of our location while enjoying our well-appointed rooms and services. Our hotel restaurant and bar is a relaxing area where guests can reflect and enjoy our seasonal menu with a refreshing beverage. We have easy access to trams, buses, trains and major highways, hotel car parking available if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing