We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$208
$93
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$157
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$147
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$252
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
105
176
105
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
176
105
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslygon streetmelbourne universitygreat locationlovely poolspa roomexhibition buildingcarlton gardensminute walkcar parkingwalking distancequeen bedgreat place to staystayed here for nightschecking inreception staffpublic transporttram stop
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 433 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location, close to restaurants in Lygon Street, walking distance to University of Melbourne, and Royal Melbourne Hospital, and to Melbourne Museum and Imax Theatre. Good place to stay for families with children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Elizabeth C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed at the Best Western Travel Inn for a girly weekend break in Melbourne.
We had a deluxe double room to share and were very happy with our stay. No complaints.
The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful! The hotel was clean, modern and comfortable! Massive, huge king size bed, clean modern bathroom, fridge, ironing facilities, great adjustable heating for the room also.
Only 2 blocks walk to jump on a tram to city centre (10 mins on tram from centre) and only $10-14 for taxis from city centre to hotel.
Lots and lots of cafés and restaurants nearby ( strong Italian influence).
Overall we were very happy with our stay, we found it good value. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel once so can't comment on that. Our only slight complaint is that wifi access comes at a charge of $7.50 an hour! In this day and age wifi should be provided to all hotel guests for free considering we have chosen to stay here over other choices.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Haggis-Lady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had a wonderful time while staying at the Best Western in Carlton, it's close proximity to the CBD, access to public transport and local shops/restaurants. It was perfect for us as we were there for Oz Comic-Con. I found the room very comfortable and clean. The one downside was that on the Sunday evening , we experienced some disturbances from across the hall with other patrons being incredible loud, however, this was not the fault of staff. One of the best things was being able to get the Starbus shuttle to the airport which was only $20 per person.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holidayer3994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money this hotel offered for its location. The room decor, whilst a bit dated, was certainly clean and tidy and housekeeping was regular and efficient. We had gone over for a football weekend and could not have had a better place, so close to Swanston Street and the trams and Lygon Street for before game breakfast and after game dinner. Supermarket just around the corner for refreshments and supplies. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_Buzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The room was spacious but badly laid out. There was a huge shower in the bathroom but very little storage space to put toiletries. There was no wifi in the rooms as they said they were updating the system, so any internet activities had to be carried out in the noisy and freezing cold reception. Housekeeping was hit and miss - we had to ask for towels, one day there was a dirty wet towel left in the shower tray and there was on one occasion no creamer for the morning tea, a bit of a pain!Breakfast was vastly overpriced at 14 dollars for coffee and a pastry. The coffee was dreadful too. Although the overall cleanliness in the rooms was fine the basket for used paper towels in the downstairs toilet was always overflowing and on my last morning the tables and the floor in reception were covered with muffin crumbs. Not a great welcome for new visitors. I would not stay here again despite the reasonable location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews