We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Happy and impressed, although wifi shouldn't be charged for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Lygon Street)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay. Happy and impressed, although wifi shouldn't be charged for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend stayed at the Best Western Travel Inn for a girly weekend break in Melbourne.
We had a deluxe double room to share and were very happy with our stay. No complaints.
The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful! The hotel was clean, modern and comfortable! Massive, huge king size bed, clean modern bathroom, fridge, ironing facilities, great adjustable heating for the room also.
Only 2 blocks walk to jump on a tram to city centre (10 mins on tram from centre) and only $10-14 for taxis from city centre to hotel.
Lots and lots of cafés and restaurants nearby ( strong Italian influence).
Overall we were very happy with our stay, we found it good value. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel once so can't comment on that. Our only slight complaint is that wifi access comes at a charge of $7.50 an hour! In this day and age wifi should be provided to all hotel guests for free considering we have chosen to stay here over other choices.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    102
    72
    19
    15
See reviews for
40
74
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had a wonderful time while staying at the Best Western in Carlton, it's close proximity to the CBD, access to public transport and local shops/restaurants. It was perfect for us as we were there for Oz Comic-Con. I found the room very comfortable and clean. The one downside was that on the Sunday evening , we experienced some disturbances from across the hall with other patrons being incredible loud, however, this was not the fault of staff. One of the best things was being able to get the Starbus shuttle to the airport which was only $20 per person.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayer3994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money this hotel offered for its location. The room decor, whilst a bit dated, was certainly clean and tidy and housekeeping was regular and efficient. We had gone over for a football weekend and could not have had a better place, so close to Swanston Street and the trams and Lygon Street for before game breakfast and after game dinner. Supermarket just around the corner for refreshments and supplies. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Buzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The room was spacious but badly laid out. There was a huge shower in the bathroom but very little storage space to put toiletries. There was no wifi in the rooms as they said they were updating the system, so any internet activities had to be carried out in the noisy and freezing cold reception. Housekeeping was hit and miss - we had to ask for towels, one day there was a dirty wet towel left in the shower tray and there was on one occasion no creamer for the morning tea, a bit of a pain!Breakfast was vastly overpriced at 14 dollars for coffee and a pastry. The coffee was dreadful too. Although the overall cleanliness in the rooms was fine the basket for used paper towels in the downstairs toilet was always overflowing and on my last morning the tables and the floor in reception were covered with muffin crumbs. Not a great welcome for new visitors. I would not stay here again despite the reasonable location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed three nights hear, we got the King deluxe room was totally disappointed I couldnt even use the basin in the bathroom as it was so small my head hit the wall I paid for a buffet breakfast and was told that I had to order from the menu anf the wait staff was so rude !!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nikos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night. It’s right next to Lygon St and in a very nice area, so feels save walking around at night and there are lots of restaurants to choose from. Short distance from Carlton gardens and the Fizory gardens which are both nice in the morning. Room was tidy and clean, but you can hear doors slamming all the time. Breakfast was awful. Just go out to a nice café and buy something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadasinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and everything was just fine until the time we checked out. It wasn’t a big deal, but we were quite surprised about it. The room was small, especially the bathroom..it’s tiny. We don’t mind at all because it was nice. We got the room with pool view and we liked it. Like I said, we didn’t really complained about anything at all basically.

The check-in and check-out process were also efficient, only….when we checked out we found out that they charge us parking fee…which was actually fine for us…but we expected to know about it earlier. Upon checked in when we asked for a key to the parking, the receptionist didn’t mention anything about the fee. As we also read from their website that the parking is free, we didn’t think at all to ask about it. Apparently, because we booked our room through Agoda, we were required to pay the fee as it’s not included in our room rate. In other words, the parking is free only if you make a booking through the hotel directly…and I’m pretty sure in their website, there’s nothing about this term and condition.

Again, for us, this is actually not a big deal…but it’s still an unfavourable surprise and if only they could have told us about it when we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianArianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#107 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#80 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#138 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#102 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing