We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOST HOTEL EVER” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #112 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOST HOTEL EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed three nights hear, we got the King deluxe room was totally disappointed I couldnt even use the basin in the bathroom as it was so small my head hit the wall I paid for a buffet breakfast and was told that I had to order from the menu anf the wait staff was so rude !!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nikos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    81
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
92
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night. It’s right next to Lygon St and in a very nice area, so feels save walking around at night and there are lots of restaurants to choose from. Short distance from Carlton gardens and the Fizory gardens which are both nice in the morning. Room was tidy and clean, but you can hear doors slamming all the time. Breakfast was awful. Just go out to a nice café and buy something.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadasinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and everything was just fine until the time we checked out. It wasn’t a big deal, but we were quite surprised about it. The room was small, especially the bathroom..it’s tiny. We don’t mind at all because it was nice. We got the room with pool view and we liked it. Like I said, we didn’t really complained about anything at all basically.

The check-in and check-out process were also efficient, only….when we checked out we found out that they charge us parking fee…which was actually fine for us…but we expected to know about it earlier. Upon checked in when we asked for a key to the parking, the receptionist didn’t mention anything about the fee. As we also read from their website that the parking is free, we didn’t think at all to ask about it. Apparently, because we booked our room through Agoda, we were required to pay the fee as it’s not included in our room rate. In other words, the parking is free only if you make a booking through the hotel directly…and I’m pretty sure in their website, there’s nothing about this term and condition.

Again, for us, this is actually not a big deal…but it’s still an unfavourable surprise and if only they could have told us about it when we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianArianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now, quite a good little spot. Always booked directly, good price and service. Ask for the breakfast and parking included deal- good value. Also we had a "spa room" and they were MUCH better then the ones near the pool. Non smokers or asthmatics should avoid rooms near the pool as that is the smoking area. The pool is lovely, but can be a bit cold in winter! Staff were very courteous and relocated us with ease when we asked. Buffet breakfast is alright- the typical fry up, as well as cereals. There are some nice cafés around to have breakfast in as well if you want to. Beware with the parking- if you are coming back late at night in a car you will not get a park inside, you will have to park on the street, or even as far away as McArthur place. Over fairly good spot located a few blocks away from the centre of Carlton and Lygon Street.

Room Tip: Chose the spa rooms - away from some of the noise, bigger and have much bigger bathrooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldencandyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Melbourne. It is very clean, staff excellent and the location for us is great. The rooms are very well set out and appointed. The pool looks very resort like, but it was too cold to swim during our stay. We have been coming here since 2000 and would definitely recommend this motel to others

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank mackenziefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and have valued the position, the rooms and the price. This visit we booked 4 rooms to accommodate 12 friends.
However, the very large, unpleasant, unhelpful man behind the desk left a VERY sour taste in our mouths. He was not only rude to us, the guests, but reluctant to accommodate us when attempting to pay our bill.
The travel Inn will no longer be used by any of the 7 families that used it for this experience, and we are all frequent travellers to Melbourne!
Your loss Travel Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawonga South 3698 Victoria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My room was on the ground floor (north-east corner) and it was quite noisy on the Saturday night; however one of the reasons I choose to stay at the Travel Inn is its proximity to Lygon Street and I suspect that many others do the same!! maybe the Hotel could place some signs re noise and courtesy for others? I find the staff brilliant; nothing seems to be too much trouble. Yes, there's a bit of an issue with parking...ie it's VERY "tight"!

Room Tip: I cannot comment on spa or breakfast as did not have/use these facilities. My room was on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#145 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing