We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good, until....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #116 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was good, until....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and everything was just fine until the time we checked out. It wasn’t a big deal, but we were quite surprised about it. The room was small, especially the bathroom..it’s tiny. We don’t mind at all because it was nice. We got the room with pool view and we liked it. Like I said, we didn’t really complained about anything at all basically.

The check-in and check-out process were also efficient, only….when we checked out we found out that they charge us parking fee…which was actually fine for us…but we expected to know about it earlier. Upon checked in when we asked for a key to the parking, the receptionist didn’t mention anything about the fee. As we also read from their website that the parking is free, we didn’t think at all to ask about it. Apparently, because we booked our room through Agoda, we were required to pay the fee as it’s not included in our room rate. In other words, the parking is free only if you make a booking through the hotel directly…and I’m pretty sure in their website, there’s nothing about this term and condition.

Again, for us, this is actually not a big deal…but it’s still an unfavourable surprise and if only they could have told us about it when we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianArianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    102
    73
    19
    15
See reviews for
41
74
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have stayed here a few times now, quite a good little spot. Always booked directly, good price and service. Ask for the breakfast and parking included deal- good value. Also we had a "spa room" and they were MUCH better then the ones near the pool. Non smokers or asthmatics should avoid rooms near the pool as that is the smoking area. The pool is lovely, but can be a bit cold in winter! Staff were very courteous and relocated us with ease when we asked. Buffet breakfast is alright- the typical fry up, as well as cereals. There are some nice cafés around to have breakfast in as well if you want to. Beware with the parking- if you are coming back late at night in a car you will not get a park inside, you will have to park on the street, or even as far away as McArthur place. Over fairly good spot located a few blocks away from the centre of Carlton and Lygon Street.

Room Tip: Chose the spa rooms - away from some of the noise, bigger and have much bigger bathrooms and beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldencandyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Melbourne. It is very clean, staff excellent and the location for us is great. The rooms are very well set out and appointed. The pool looks very resort like, but it was too cold to swim during our stay. We have been coming here since 2000 and would definitely recommend this motel to others

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank mackenziefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and have valued the position, the rooms and the price. This visit we booked 4 rooms to accommodate 12 friends.
However, the very large, unpleasant, unhelpful man behind the desk left a VERY sour taste in our mouths. He was not only rude to us, the guests, but reluctant to accommodate us when attempting to pay our bill.
The travel Inn will no longer be used by any of the 7 families that used it for this experience, and we are all frequent travellers to Melbourne!
Your loss Travel Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tawonga South 3698 Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My room was on the ground floor (north-east corner) and it was quite noisy on the Saturday night; however one of the reasons I choose to stay at the Travel Inn is its proximity to Lygon Street and I suspect that many others do the same!! maybe the Hotel could place some signs re noise and courtesy for others? I find the staff brilliant; nothing seems to be too much trouble. Yes, there's a bit of an issue with parking...ie it's VERY "tight"!

Room Tip: I cannot comment on spa or breakfast as did not have/use these facilities. My room was on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very close to Lygon Street, in the Italian district. It is reasonably priced, but rooms are quite small, but clean. Our renovated bathroom was brilliant, but oh so tiny! We stayed 3 nights, but after a horrible buffet breakfast on the first morning we ate in cafés around the corner at a much cheaper price with freshly cooked food. The dining is a letdown. Would we stay again.....probably not as whilst the rooms are okay, the rest is tired and needs upgrading and dining is not up to speed

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over the anzac weekend.
We have previously stayed here and have been extremely happy.
This time we were put in a room just inside near the pool. It was very noisy. People sat outside smoking until about 2am and this was right outside our window. Also the door through to inside was noisy with people leaving very early in the morning.
This is the only time we have had a bad experience here and know for next time to ask for a different room.
Great service, location, rooms, price and my daughter loves the pool. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#106 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#73 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#138 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#104 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing