We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Below average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #117 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Below average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on NYE 2013. Great price compared to other hotels on this night and was suppose to include unlimited free movies and a jacuzzi spa bath all for $180. Room was small but clean. Check in was quick and easy and staff member working at the front desk was friendly and efficient. I'd also called prior to my stay in regards to parking and the staff member on the phone was very friendly and helpful also. Location was 10/10 literally seconds from Lygon street. And staff aloud us to have a mid day check out!

Unfortunately the positives end there. We discovered upon arrival that the free unlimited movies included as a bonus with our room rate was actually just a movie channel which we found was very misleading as to what had been advertised.
we woke up and wanted to go in the jacuzzi in the and had to wait 20 minutes for the house keeping staff to open the jacuzzi for us. After entering the jacuzzi we realised we didn't have towels and asked 2 different house keeping staff members to bring us a towel but instead pointed and mumbled where the front desk is and said the staff there could help us; who would want to walk around in the lobby dripping went in a bikini in freezing cold weather?

Parking wasn't included and was expensive.

The staff members working in the customer services areas were excellent but the house keeping staff at this hotel need further professional development. The lack of friendliness from staff ruined our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffanyf1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    102
    72
    19
    15
See reviews for
40
74
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We travelled with a 7 yr old kid on a holiday. This hotel is located in a nice neighbourhood where Lygon St is just round the corner & walking distance to the tram stop. The room is clean but the design of the washing basin needs to be improved. Small basin makes the floor wet after a wash up in the morning. Internet access cost me $16.50 a day & only 1 device can log in at any one point in time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like florescent room lighting and filthy carpeting, this is the hotel for you. Walking on the carpet in socks left black residue on the socks. The internet is without doubt the worst I have experienced anywhere in the world. It is expensive and is frequently either exceedingly slow or down altogether. Worse, for a couple who travel with laptops, iPads and iPhones, it allows for only one device to be connected at a time and the process to change devices is especially onerous. Calls to the internet support 800 number and emails to their website were not answered. Avoid the restaurant at all costs. On the plus side, the hotel is situated in a great neighborhood for restaurants and walking. It is especially convenient to the University of Melbourne. Despite the hotel’s problems, the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, is to be commended for their cheerful attitude, pleasant demeanor and their genuine willingness to help in any way they could.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Travelsphere package holiday.Facilities include swimming pool, tea/coffee ,fridge,personal safe,fridge.Nice room not massive but adequate .close to free Melbourne tram link.Most attractions are within walking distance or the transport is easily available.,positioned in the middle of little Italy.
The staff are helpful when required and will help you ,however they do appear to be a bit a aloof

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Walked in and the two male receptionists didn't even really acknowledge our arrival or even look at us much, not much eye contact at all. Told them our name and one of them proceeded to process our reservation but did not know which one until one of them handed us a form to complete. Not a smile to be seen. Just going through the motions I guess of booking in the 30th couple for the day. But the rooms are modern, nice and clean and the rates are good. Nice pool area. Conveniently located to Lygon St restaurants, Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and IMAX Theatre. Parking good. Besides the reception service we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petama20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our party stayed here for 3 nights at the end of an Australian tour. The hotel itself is very nice, in a handy location for nearby restaurants and 15 minutes' walk from the famous Victoria Street Market. The stop for the City Shuttle bus is just around the corner on Lygon Street. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was very good. One day a lady was struggling with a young son and a baby. The lady in charge offered to look after the baby (which she did, brilliantly) to give the beleagured mother the chance to eat her breakfast. My wife and I thought that this was wonderful, and it summed up the friendliness of the staff. The room was not the largest in the world, but was perfectly fine for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept very well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waketrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recently booked two rooms when we came to Melbourne for a family wedding. Very handy location for Lygon Street and a leisurely 20 minute walk to the the city. Free under cover parking was a bonus. Rooms were smallish but clean and comfortable. We were in ground floor rooms facing the pool which were nice and quiet as the weather was cold but might be noisier in summer. The breakfast buffet (not included) was OK and service at breakfast by an older lady was excellent - very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#107 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#80 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#138 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#102 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing