We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Stay During Grand Final Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #116 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Stay During Grand Final Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked a room for three nights over Grand Final weekend. We drove over from Perth for the big game. This hotel is in an excellent location in Carlton and a three second walk to the famous Lygon Street restaurants.
Quick and efficient check in at 4 in the morning. Undercroft parking was excellent and included in room rate. The room itself was OK. If anything, the bathroom was poorly designed and very small. The use of space was amateurish. Our room faced onto Drummond Street. Quite noisy from the road. You can hear all the road noise as well as people talking loudly on the street. Double glazing would easily fix the problem.
Wi-Fi? Not free. It should be. How much does it really cost to provide internet access?
After a night out in Lygon Street, I thought a night cap at the hotel's bar would be a good idea.....if only there was someone there to offer the service.
Over-all a good stay. Would I stay again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Get a room out back. Quieter The noise from Drummond Street is loud to front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace1WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    109
    75
    19
    15
See reviews for
43
78
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Hotel has, in my opinion, a terrific location. Drummond St is one of the most beautiful in Melbourne, with old houses and lush front gardens in a relatively quiet "backyard" of Lygon. All around there are great Restaurants, and, at walking distance, the Museum of Melbourne and the University Campus, with its historical sandstone buildings.
The Hotel is relatively quiet, it is clean, although the bathroom (I was on the first floor near the swimming pool), can be minuscule. Also, the room facing the inner court are quite dark (I have already been here three times) and, somewhat "depressing". Also, I was a bit disappointed because the Hotel has no free wi-fi, which is not good if you are traveling for business. The amenities are also standard (Chinese-made shampoo and balsam). But if you are in Melbourne for work, it is a bargain. The best thing is the courtyard pool, heated in Winter. It is great to be capable of relaxing with a swim, although the bean-shape of the pool does not allow laps, after a whole day of brainstorming.
I did not have breakfast here because I'd rather go to Brunetti. That is a wonderland!

Room Tip: Not those with the windows opening on the courtyard...I do not know of the others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvia_frisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderfull location clean rooms friendly and very helpful staff Breakfast great ,service great No complaints what so ever they even have a area off the street for smokers thats a bonus these days I stayed with my sister-in-law and the room was big enough for us both.
If I had to think of a downfall it would only be that they had a water saver shower

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel last week and found it quite satisfactory. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the room was clean. The hotel looked great on the way to the room and I loved how it is draped around the courtyard pool. I was disappointed when I saw the room, because it was very, very dark. The window went out to the corridor. However, I did not spend much time in the room, so it wasn't too bad.
During the night it got a bit noisy with other hotel guests returning late and chatting right outside the room for a while. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, but I found the sink too tiny - more suited to a powder room than a proper bathroom- that water was all over the floor by the time I finished washing my face.

I had booked two colleagues into rooms as well and they were happy with their rooms.

The location is great with lots of Italian restaurants nearby. It took me about 30 minutes to walk to Southbank (on the way back I took a taxi which cost about $10).

I would go back to this hotel if I had business again in that particular part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This motel is in a great location if you want to visit Lygon Street, the University of Melbourne or the surrounding areas. The rooms are clean and tidy, however they are getting dated and the bathroom is tiny. I wouldn’t recommend this property if you are a light sleeper, you can very clearly hear the noise of doors slamming and other guests talking as they pass outside the rooms throughout the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocobean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is situated a bit off the main street , which is quiet and nice. The staff we met were helpful . They took their time to direct us to the trams, buses, parks, UniMel etc. As Melbourne city in itself is not too big, you can actually walk or take the free transport. Hence, I think of most importance is food. In Lygon Street you have it all.

The room is a bit small but all things worked. Can't really complain although it would be good to be free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends when we went to see a show in the city. The city was a decent stroll, or a quick trip on public transport. There were heaps of restaurants around the hotel, and a 7-11 just on the corner. The guy who checked us in was very friendly and helpful, the girl who checked us out not so much. Parking was free and convenient, but a little disorganised and difficult to get around! The hotel itself and rooms were modern and clean as a whistle. The bedding smelt a little bit of bleach, but at least we knew it was thoroughly laundered. The bathroom was modern and clean like the rest of the room, but a little poky, and the towels were quite small. The major let down for me was the lack of sound-proofing in the room. Luckily we were on the top floor, so didn't get any noise from on top, but we did get a lot of noise from the corridor and the street during the night and early in the morning. Our friends were in the room next to the lift and said it was very noisy. I would definitely consider staying there again for just one night, but would ask for a room at the end of the corridor and away from the street if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#65 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#140 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#123 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing