We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel Close to Lygon Street & CBD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #112 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Close to Lygon Street & CBD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and no wonder I keep coming back. The rooms are always lovely and clean and the reception staff are very welcoming and friendly.

The indoor pool area has very nice surroundings although it could have been a bit warmer.

We ate breakfast in their restaurant and it was absolutely beautiful. Didn't need to stroll down to Lygon Street for breakfast where you had nice food at your doorstep.

This hotel is so handy to Lygon Street being only one block away plus only a short bus or tram ride into the CBD area.

Overall this hotel is very reasonable in tariffs and the rooms and neat and tidy. I will definitely be staying there again when I visit Melbourne.

Thank you to all staff.

Regards
Todd and Bronwyn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    121
    81
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
92
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a decent & basic hotel near Lygon Street in Melbourne. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. There is no mini-bar, grand lobby etc and the staff varied between friendly and bluntly matter of fact.

I didn't try the breakfast, but there are plenty of cafes on nearby Lygon street, so I wouldn't see the attraction of eating in.

This is somewhere to stay while you do other things in Melbourne rather than a destination in itself - and can recommend it on that basis.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenno11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently spent two nights at the Best Western Travel Inn. I chose the hotel as it was close to my daughter's university accomodation. I hadn't been to Carlton before but I have got to say its a great place to base. Pretty walkable or tram ride to everything in town, and as a runner nearby Carlton Gardens is fantastic. Lygon Street is a hop, skip and a jump away.

The hotel is typical Best Western, but that is not a criticism as you know what to expect. The room was certainly big enough for me, but for the 3 it sleeps perhaps a bit on the small side. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable. The price was reasonable, and they throw in parking and a hot breakfast if you book direct. My room was quiet, ask for a room not on the street frontage. I would definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Drummond Street to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Glen ,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If you like i could give you some more options for running in the area as there is a lot of parks, gardens and the yarra river not too far from us!

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.


Sincerely,

Arran Fraser
front office manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Travel Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Clean & basic.
Room was very small and bathroom was tiny with only a sliding door from bedroom which did not even shut properly.
Staff on reception could have been more helpful.
Convenient to lygon street for restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Would thoroughly recommend, very quiet area and a lavishing room. The only disappointment was that there was no mini bar for my partner. The price was right and as always you can depend on Best Western hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are a standard size but have everything you need.
The bathroom is small but complete. The bed is comfortable and I had room 108 near the pool that was nice and quiet.
My friend had room 102 and he said it was a bit noisy.
But the location is why you would stay here, this hotel is 1 minute walk to Lygon street in Melbourne with all the atmosphere and restaurants that you could ever want.
The Italian food in Lygon street is famous and the Cafe's are to die for.

Room Tip: I had room 108, very quiet and easy to get too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for the first time last weekend.
Found the room to be clean and quiet. The bathroom is very small, not good for those with long legs who will find it a tight fit to use the toilet!
Breakfast and parking was included in our room fee so we were very happy with the price.
Our son lives just one block away so once the car was parked (in the very tight car park) we could walk everywhere.
Lygon street is just around the corner and for those not familiar with Melbourne this seems to be the place to eat. It was bustling with people and it certainly didn't lack choice for eateries.
Overall we were very happy with our choice of motel and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Adara East Melbourne
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#145 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing