We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Ranked #116 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Naracoorte, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for the first time last weekend.
Found the room to be clean and quiet. The bathroom is very small, not good for those with long legs who will find it a tight fit to use the toilet!
Breakfast and parking was included in our room fee so we were very happy with the price.
Our son lives just one block away so once the car was parked (in the very tight car park) we could walk everywhere.
Lygon street is just around the corner and for those not familiar with Melbourne this seems to be the place to eat. It was bustling with people and it certainly didn't lack choice for eateries.
Overall we were very happy with our choice of motel and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    109
    75
    19
    15
See reviews for
43
78
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms are specious, ours had a double and a single bed. We had a ground floor room overlooking the small heated pool. Tea and coffee making facilities, an iron, an in room free safe and a small fridge are provided.

The bathrooms are modern but very small. The sink is ridiculously small.

There are guest laundry facilities which are the most expensive we saw throughout Australia.

The hotel has Wifi there is a charge for this service, our experience was the service was reliable. Many restaurants and cafes have free Wifi just ask and they will give you the password. Also Federation square has very good, free, and reliable Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Arran Fraser
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed recently in the family room that easily accommodated 5 adults. Separate room with 3 single beds, own TV & aircon and a king bed in the main room.
Very comfortable,quiet, clean and well equipped room with sink, microwave and spotless bathroom. The family room is in a good position at the rear of the property, so very little street noise.
A great location, just around the corner from Lygon Street, with secure parking and very good service. Will definitely consider again for future visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have just stayed at the Travel Inn in Carlton, a hotel I have stayed at regularly over the past five years. The location of this hotel is simply superb. Running parallel to Lygon street, there is ready access to fabulous restaurants, cafes, bookshops and clothes stores. It is close to Melbourne Uni and easy tram access to the city. Something is clearly right in the management of the place as it seems to me that there has been the same reception and restaurant staff there for at least five years. The staff are helpful,and know their stuff, and Sue - the maitre de of the breakfast room - makes everyone at home. The rooms are a good size though basic for a four star.
Though comfy and well located, the hotel is getting a little rundown, with, for example slightly worn carpets and only one very slow lift for the entire hotel. Like other Aussie hotels, the internet is expensive and it is disappointing that you can only download things like flight tickets by paying for one hour of Internet time. The place offers reasonable value for money and good choice for those wanting a little oasis in the centre of bustling Carlton.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51KarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bolac
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First stayed at this motel back in the early eighties and it still delivers.
Situated in the midst of cosmopolitan Carlton, it is close to the Lygon Street restaurant strip yet in quieter Drummond Street where street noise was not a problem
We had a standard twin room which, although a little on the small side, was very well equipped and comfortable.Entry to the compact bathroom is through a sliding glass door which is not as totally private as some would like
The room had a fine air conditioner, but openable windows as well which is a plus.
Excellent bedding was appreciated.
Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cereal,toasts, and a choice of ordered to cook dishes. Best omelet I've had in years . It was just so much better than the usual bain- marie overcooked stuff served up at most places these days
Service both at the breakfast and reception desk was friendly and efficient
Easy transport access in to the city proper make this my choice in Melbourne

Room Tip: Overlooking pool could be noisy perhaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RookyLakeBolac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have been staying at the Travel Inn a couple of times a year since the mid 1980s and over that time have never been disappointed. The hotel has been refurbished during that time but has always been comfortable and conveniently located. Have never had a problem at checkin even when arriving early. On those occasions luggage is secured and you can go about your day in the knowledge that a room will be ready upon your return.

Room Tip: For a really good night's sleep request a room at the back of the building although street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before on my previous visit and upon my return some 3 years later it is stll as lovely as ever. The hotel is ideally situated just around the corner from Lygon Street with all its restaurants and a vibrant cafe society and yet it is a quiet Oasis which belies it close proximity the the hustle and bustle. The staff are very friendly and I was given at late checkout for 12 noon at no extra cost. I highly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again on my next visit to Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayzee_darl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#108 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#59 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Lygon Street
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
#139 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#123 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Address: Cnr Grattan & Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Travel Inn Melbourne is a boutique hotel accommodation in Carlton, situated close to the Melbourne CBD with only a short stroll to some of Melbourne's famous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Travel Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing