We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, clean and spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Downtowner. It is located on a street where they are tones of good restaurants (don't miss out the Universal and Pho restaurant). It is walking distance to CBD, stadium, jail museum, etc. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and nice. They responded right away to any requests we had. The only complaint I have is the pay parking. It is gated and should be free for hotel guests. Free laundry facility on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room which does't face the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlefan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear turtlefan8,

Thank you for your endorsement of our location- close for all sporting events and cultural or shopping trips too.

I am sorry you feel the parking should be free, the cost to provide parking this close to the city is expensive to maintain, but for only a small charge from as little as $10 if you book your room directly with the hotel- it represents great value for money.

Please stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    321
    84
    10
    9
See reviews for
112
211
50
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in Melbourne for weekend trip. Car parking was affordable, close to Melbourne Central walking distance to loads of restaurants. Staff were helpful and had nothing too much trouble. Very pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshinePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sunshine Portland,

It was good to read that you found our central location convenient for the shopping precinct.

Thanks for your review, come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location just out of the CBD. Plenty of restaurants to dine at on Lygon Street. The staff were very helpful and friendly. One of the people I travelled with forgot their phone charger and staff went out of their way to find one which fitted the phone. Nothing was to much trouble. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Car parking was only $10.00 a day which you do not get at to many CBD hotels. Tram stops are nearby or you can walk into the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Michelle B,

I really appreciate your feedback and was pleased to read my team went above and beyond to ensure you had everything you needed.

I am also pleased to see you made use of our on site car park, which for $10 a day is probably the best value parking in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon and were very happy with our experience. We generally have a hotel mid city where we stay, which was booked this time, so we thought we would stay at the Downtowner as it offered a good price. We were very pleased with the room, it was comfortable and quiet, and the staff were always friendly. The position is very handy, a few minutes walk to Lygon restaurants and an easy walk back to the city. All in all very good value for money, we will certainly be returning

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Martin D,

Thanks so much for your comments on your stay.

I am really pleased that we will now be your preferred choice when you visit Melbourne.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I recently attended a conference in Melbourne which was held at the Downtowner on Lygon so decided to stay there. I was pleasantly surprised. Although the decor is dated. The rooms are spotless and the staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. The location is great for exploring Lygon Street and a short stroll into the CBD or to the free City Circle Tram. Would suggest asking for a room backing onto the adjoining building as there can be quite a lot of street noise - Lygon Street is a restaurant street so gets busy at night.

Room Tip: Ask staff for a quiet room if noise from the street disturbs you. I seemed to be over the bottle re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Sala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear HK_Sala,

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your conference and accommodation at the hotel. I appreciate your comments on our decor but am happy to hear tha tour team were pleasant and the standard of cleaning in your room was to your liking.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Downtowner on Lygon is one of our favourite places to stay when visiting Melbourne. The location is perfect for a short walk to the theatre, then dinner in Lygon St following the show. Friendly and efficient staff make for a pleasant stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable and certainly value for money. Only ten bucks for parking, so much more affordable than some inner city hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjayMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear JNMag,

Thanks so much for your comments on your stay.

Easy of access not only to the Threatre district, but also many of Melbourne's top attractions is why many of regulars choose to stay with us.

I am also pleased you found our car parking to be a good value proposition.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a comfy king room. Position is excellent, you can easily walk into the cbd, we walked to the theatre which was only 10 mins and so close to many great restaurants and cafes. Also close to vic market which is good for a look. Dont miss Brunettis for delicious cakes. Would stay again

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilove-sthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear ilove-sthea,

Thank you for your review.

You are the 100 person to give us a 5* STAR review, and I would love to acknowledge this more formally- Please contact me directly if you can.

Otherwise we hope to see you back for your next theater trip soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#80 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#107 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#99 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensbury Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing