We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short break - clean & comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in Melbourne for weekend trip. Car parking was affordable, close to Melbourne Central walking distance to loads of restaurants. Staff were helpful and had nothing too much trouble. Very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshinePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Sunshine Portland,

It was good to read that you found our central location convenient for the shopping precinct.

Thanks for your review, come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 784 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location just out of the CBD. Plenty of restaurants to dine at on Lygon Street. The staff were very helpful and friendly. One of the people I travelled with forgot their phone charger and staff went out of their way to find one which fitted the phone. Nothing was to much trouble. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Car parking was only $10.00 a day which you do not get at to many CBD hotels. Tram stops are nearby or you can walk into the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Michelle B,

I really appreciate your feedback and was pleased to read my team went above and beyond to ensure you had everything you needed.

I am also pleased to see you made use of our on site car park, which for $10 a day is probably the best value parking in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon and were very happy with our experience. We generally have a hotel mid city where we stay, which was booked this time, so we thought we would stay at the Downtowner as it offered a good price. We were very pleased with the room, it was comfortable and quiet, and the staff were always friendly. The position is very handy, a few minutes walk to Lygon restaurants and an easy walk back to the city. All in all very good value for money, we will certainly be returning

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Martin D,

Thanks so much for your comments on your stay.

I am really pleased that we will now be your preferred choice when you visit Melbourne.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I recently attended a conference in Melbourne which was held at the Downtowner on Lygon so decided to stay there. I was pleasantly surprised. Although the decor is dated. The rooms are spotless and the staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. The location is great for exploring Lygon Street and a short stroll into the CBD or to the free City Circle Tram. Would suggest asking for a room backing onto the adjoining building as there can be quite a lot of street noise - Lygon Street is a restaurant street so gets busy at night.

Room Tip: Ask staff for a quiet room if noise from the street disturbs you. I seemed to be over the bottle re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HK_Sala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear HK_Sala,

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your conference and accommodation at the hotel. I appreciate your comments on our decor but am happy to hear tha tour team were pleasant and the standard of cleaning in your room was to your liking.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Downtowner on Lygon is one of our favourite places to stay when visiting Melbourne. The location is perfect for a short walk to the theatre, then dinner in Lygon St following the show. Friendly and efficient staff make for a pleasant stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable and certainly value for money. Only ten bucks for parking, so much more affordable than some inner city hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjayMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear JNMag,

Thanks so much for your comments on your stay.

Easy of access not only to the Threatre district, but also many of Melbourne's top attractions is why many of regulars choose to stay with us.

I am also pleased you found our car parking to be a good value proposition.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a comfy king room. Position is excellent, you can easily walk into the cbd, we walked to the theatre which was only 10 mins and so close to many great restaurants and cafes. Also close to vic market which is good for a look. Dont miss Brunettis for delicious cakes. Would stay again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ilove-sthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear ilove-sthea,

Thank you for your review.

You are the 100 person to give us a 5* STAR review, and I would love to acknowledge this more formally- Please contact me directly if you can.

Otherwise we hope to see you back for your next theater trip soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very comfortable large beds. Had a spa unit but spa was just a small bath with jets, our friends had a normal room and their bathroom was much nicer. Easy parking, easy friendly check in and out. Great location!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear natleah,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

I pleased you made use of our parking and found our location suitable.

kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#44 of 162 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#89 of 162 in Melbourne
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#119 of 162 in Melbourne
135 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#74 of 162 in Melbourne
1,077 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#73 of 162 in Melbourne
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $238 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing