We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience & comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #60 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenience & comfort”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent room with all facilities - comfortable bed. Handy location for sight seeing (museum, old gaol, tourist bus, metro station) and restaurants. Excellent cooked breakfast. Covered walkway/balcony for smoking. Air conditioning appreciated on 40 degree C. day! Great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shewry26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear shewry26,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you found us well located for all the top Melbourne attractions. Also pleased to read you enjoyed our renowned breakfast and the room was comfortable.

Please stay with us again on your next visit to our fantastic city.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    401
    103
    16
    10
See reviews for
135
283
60
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I attended a conference that was held at the Downtowner in December 2013. Check in was smooth, and friendly, and the room was quite large, clean and tidy, although a little dated. Bed was very comfy, and everything in the room worked well. The bathroom is able to be closed off by a sliding door, which blocked most of the noise that was coming from Lygon Street. The conference facilities were good, with everything we needed, lunch, morning and afternoon teas were also good. Hot breakfast is cooked to order, which is so much better than the usual buffet.
Location is fantastic, easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and the Lygon Street night life.
I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't have a room facing Lygon Street, which is busy 24/7 with traffic and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppcp19792015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear pp1979,

Thank you for your comments about your conference at the hotel and our suitability for business travelers. We have many corporate guests who stay with us regularly for exactly what you mention as well as the on site car parking and Free WIFI.

All our conference rooms have lots of natural and include modern audio visual equipment as standard, as well as a range of catering packages which you mention.

Please use us again for your next conference or event in Melbourne, and please contact me directly if you would like to arrange discounted corporate rates for your company.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3-4 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel including the rooms were of a very good standard. To get to the CBD involves approx a 10-15 min walk. Buffet breakfast was decent, can't remember the price though although I remember it not being too pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear dotbd,

Thank you for your kind words about our team.

Our breakfast is only $20 if booked as part of your stay and includes a wide slection of continental dishes including charcuterie; cheese selection; fresh fruits and juices and bakers corner...in addition it also includes all hot food cooked to order from our a la carte menu- a good value proposition.

Please try our a la carte dinner menu as well on your next visit to our shores

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this property, the rooms are very bright and airy, and spacious.
it is well located at the beginning of the restaurant strip of Lygon Street, but still a short stroll the the CBD, making it a handy spot of a weekend in Melbourne.
The bathroom was very light and roomy with a nice big walk in shower and decent size towels, they offered both cups and mugs in their coffee making facilities which I appreciate and biscuits (These are little things that make a difference).
My only negative is that the room gets very light in the morning, so take your eye shades, but otherwise it is very good value and I would stay there again. Note they do charge $5 a night for parking, but it is offstreet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear AussieSharon,

Thank you for your feedback and it is good to hear you enjoyed our bright airy bathrooms and extra large bath towels- a real point of difference for us from many hotels. I am also pleased the combination of all the little extras, which I agree is what make a big difference, enhanced your stay.

Come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a medium-range hotel within walking distance of the centre of Melbourne, and right on Lygon Street with its wonderful mixture of restaurants (the other end is better). The hotel is well-run with firendly, helpful staff and the managers were ever-watchful, and I even saw one manager clearing breakfast tables during a particularly busy period. The breakfast, both the buffet and full breakfast is excellent and really good value. We got freshly prepared eggs and bacon and other delights. The rooms are smallish but this is to be expected for the price; they were very clean and the beds were comfortable (not always the case in Australia, I'm afraid). The staff were helpful and engaged with people well. All in all, a good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main drag; they can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear MikeGalway_Ireland,

Your review is very insightful and I was especially pleased to hear our team engaged well with our guests and that the leaders were there to support and assist both staff and guests.

Thank you also for your endorsement of our breakfast offerings- we felt doing all hot food to order was the best way to keep everything fresh and presented well.

Please stay with us again on your next trip down under.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Close to everything and good all round value, what more can I say. Well to get this listed I need to have a minimum 200 characters. So, it is a short walk up to some really good and relaxed eateries. Um.that's 203

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear, they are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geezerart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Geezerart,
Thank you for your 203 characters, really pleased you found us good value for money.

Come and stay again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights when in Melbourne for a conference.
Firstly, the quality of staff at this hotel is exemplary. This is an older hotel that has been renovated. It certainly served the purpose of my 3 night stay.

PROS
- Good location right on Lygon street. Easy walk to a multitude of restaurants - you're really spoiled for choice. It's also an easy walk to the iMax theatre as well. It's also an easy walk to St Vincent's Hospital where my conference was.
- Staff were awesome. From check in to breakfast to check out, nothing was too much trouble.
- Parking on site and free of charge is always a bonus.
- Internet. It may seem to be a given, but these days, free wi-fi is not always included, but it was here.
- Room. It was decently sized, and the bed was comfortable. My room had a table and chairs, but I saw others that had a sofa - if you have a preference, just ask. Also, every room contains an iron and ironing board, and toaster.

CONS
- Street noise. I'd read a number of reviews on here that said that this was a problem. I thought "i'm sure i'll be right", but it was really quite loud. If you're a light sleeper, consider asking for a room that will minimise this as much as possible.
- Natural light/air. Natural light was minimal in this hotel, and you also can't open a window.
- Air con. It would appear that there was no heating/cooling in the rooms. While there were air vents, they were not personally adjustable and appears to be some kind of central heating/cooling system.
- Room. While the room contains an iron, it's not a steam iron. There is however, I believe, a steam iron available to use from reception.

Overall, it was a decent hotel in a good location at a reasonable price. I would consider staying here again dependent on availability of other similarly priced hotels if it suited me location wise.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room as far away from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicciBerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear RicciBerrie,

I appreciate your well structure and detailed feedback and pleased that you rate our team so highly.

I apologize for the noise factor, and as you point out being in vibrant and exciting part of town can have its drawbacks- we can certainly accommodate requests to be on the South side of the hotel which is significantly quieter, however with out the views of Lygon Street. The AC can be individually managed in each room- please ask one of my team to demonstrate on your next visit.

You did point many of our unique features and I am pleased you made use of the Free WIFI and onsite car park.

I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#41 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#86 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing