We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, comfortable accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #59 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I started staying at the Downtowner a few years ago and have stayed there 4 times since. As someone who has stayed in a large number of apartments and hotels around Melbourne, this reflects well on the standard of this accommodation; it's not luxurious but it's pleasant, clean, comfortable and the location is good. The CBD is within easy walking distance, as is Brunswick and Smith St with all of their great restaurants. On my last stay a week ago, I was also impressed by the staff at reception.

Room Tip: The street / traffic noise seems more noticeable in the rooms on the street on the first floor. Mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Jacqui B,

Thank you for your kind words about our team on the front desk.

It is good to know you return regularly and that you find our rooms clean and comfortable.

I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    396
    100
    15
    10
See reviews for
137
273
57
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed in the king spa room and was spacious for the 3 in our family. Big bathroom, but didn't use the spa. The bathroom was located near the road so kept out traffic noise. The location was excellent and happy to walk to Fitzroy to have breakfast in this funky part of Melbourne. It's not a hotel where you would spend a lot of time in the room, although the room was clean and comfortably appointed. Would be happy to recommend as a value for money hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear JeanPerth,

Thank you for your feedback.

Getting out and about is definitely the thing to do in our part of town- we have so many of Melbourne renowned attractions right on our doorstep.

Come and explore again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located in the heart of Lygon Street. Car park was easy to get in and out of. Street was very noisy at night time. Rooms are clean and adequate but very comfortable. Was attending a function at the exhibition centre and it was only a 5 minute way away. Breakfast was basic. Staff were friendly. Would stay again for work trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10417347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 10417347,

Thank you for your comment s and I am pleased you found our car parking convenient.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel, with spacious rooms right on the edge of the restaurant strip on lygon St. For anyone that doesn't know Melbourne, this is actually in Carlton rather than the CBD, but is really only 10 minutes walk to CBD - and Carlton is where the best restaurants are anyway. Definitely not a flashy place, and not necessarily the best choice if you wanted a romantic weekend away, but for a work visit (which is what I was there for) it's plenty good enough. I'd come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpwaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear mpwaide,

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you become one of our many regular corporate guests.

Please vist us again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for a week and found that it was a good location; close to the city but not in the hustle and bustle, very close to a wide range of restaurants, close to Brunswick precinct, Carlton Gardens, the shuttle bus and Circle Tram stops, and QV markets. The room was a comfortable size and comfortably aged. There was little noise from outside to disturb our sleep but there was some noise from the pipes which was rather like listening to a water feature. When I was cold all I had to do was ask for another blanket and I was given one.
Staff were always friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the dining room so can't comment on that.
It was ideal for a couple of mature friends wanting a restful haven after sightseeing and eating all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear EFLynette,

Thank you for your review, and I am pleased you made the most of our cosmopolitan location. The advantage of being so close to everything without the hustle an bustle and being easy to get to from all major freeways.

I am also pleased our team was able to assist with your requirements.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights last week to attend a RMIT facility for a course. The front desk staff and the restaurant staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. I stayed on the top floor at the southern end (city side) and although a few rooms away from the Lygon St side the street noise did penetrate. But as the difference between hearing the noise and not hearing it was about two glasses of red I slept better on the second night. The bed was comfy, the breakfast lovely and the room overall was spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapableGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear CapableGuest,

Thank you for your feedback on you recent stay with us.

I am pleased you found the cleaning spotless and the breakfast a good offering.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the "Quality" downtowner on Lygon for my birthday this September we were so excited looking at the hotel reading the review though this will be the nicest hotel ever..well were we wrong the Elevator was very old and slow :-/ Out dated rooms paid for executive suit with balcony but was a shared balcony with other peoples rooms leading off our balcony not private at all,defiantly would of been asking for a refund if had of paid full price very noisy could hear other patrons The traffic/street noise was very loud crap movies not worth the money. Stated we had free wifi but could not connect to it without paying extra for this..
On a positive note the staff were very friendly and professional secure and convenient parking on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumble20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Belinda S,

I am sorry to hear of your concerns during your stay and that our slow elevator was upsetting- it is one of the quirks of the hotel often commented on by our regular guests. I am also sorry that you were not able to find your private balcony that overlooks tree lined Lygon Street- all the executive suites have one, which is separate to the public walkaway on the inside of the building.

We offer complimentary WIFI to all our guests - the password to access is available by asking reception. I apologize if you were unable to find a movie that you liked from our selection of twenty recent releases, but I do agree they are expensive and we are looking at alternative options.

I appreciate your feedback and thank you for the comments on our team. I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit, and please ask if there is anything you need assistance with.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#49 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#78 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing