We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #65 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location where you can either walk or catch a tram anywhere.

The rooms are adequate with a large bathroom although I don't to shower in a bath.

Front office staff were effecient and very helpful.

Only downside was room cleaning which was done poorly one day and not at all on another.

Room Tip: Try to ger a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
G'day janice000,

I was disappointed to hear that we missed your room clean on one of the days you stayed with us. We pride ourselves in the presentation of our rooms and on this occasion obviously got it wrong.

I appreciate you letting us know and I will follow it up with my housekeeping team.

Kind regards
Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    326
    87
    10
    9
See reviews for
114
216
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over the long weekend, was quite pleased with the room in general, clean sheets (although the supposed king bed was actually two single beds joined together and you could feel the gap in the middle). You could tell that the hotel is rather dated, still using keys and door knobs for their rooms.

The spa bath was quite a narrow one and we didn't really make use of it. The noise from the street at night was bad (cars/bikes, people shouting away) did disrupt our sleep a little. Our bathroom blinds were a bit broken at the edge as well.

Location of the hotel was all right, not directly central but you could walk about 10mins to the nearest city circle free tram stop at the corner of La Trobe and Russell Streets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
G'day welovetravels21,

Thank you for your comments. We will look into your suggestion of putting electronic door locks on.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A convnenient place for the business traveller to Melbourne. Walking distance to the CBD and right on Lygon Street where lots of restaurants are for entertinment. Rooms are clean and spacious, although promimity to the streets can mean noise from those pesky exhausts on cars/bikes tearing down the streets.
Staff are generally friendly and checking in and out was a breeze. The premises was buildt like a motel but has been refurbished to a higher standard. Parking available for a fee and I had no problem securing a space the period I was there. Internet was also chargeable, speed was tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor (3rd) but just can't escape from those streetnoise from the souped up exha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear rynwong,

We are a popular business travel hotel and our location makes for easy access to the city and surrounds.

If your company are sending people to Melbourne regularly, please contact us to discuss a corporate rate plan.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were welcomed with a warm and friendly service from reception who were very helpful. We drove straight into the free car park and unpacked. The motel complex isn't too big, so unpacking the car was easy. The room was bright, fresh and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and so were the amenities. The room was quiet and spacious. It is in a perfect location being on Lygon St, with plenty of restaurants on your doorstep. Trams were handy but we just walked around the city - even down to Southbank. We booked breakfast as we had an early start to the next day. Breakfast was cooked and buffet style in their restaurant. We will be booking Downtowner for our next Melbourne Trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NInbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ninbee,

Thanks for the great feedback and perfect score!

I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here recently and it is very handy for the Queen Victoria building. The hotel is good you get what you pay for. The staff are friendly but you have to pay for internet. Breakfast is reasonable but for the price only ok. All up a fair hotel 15 dollars cab ride from federation square.

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear karen M,

I often enjoy going down to Queen Vic market on the weekend as it is so close. I appreciate your comments regarding our WIFI and breakfast.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an ok place for one night. It is more a motel than a hotel. We booked a Spa room for three people over the phone and were not advised that the room only had one bed, so we were disappointed to have to get out the sofa bed for our 14 year old son.

However when we complained about it the hotel were good enough to offer us a complimentary breakfast and it was very good with big portions and freshly cooked not the usual buffet you might expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Chris D,

Thank you for your review and my apologies that we did not explain that our triple rooms included a sofa bed.

We have recently made some changes to our a la carte breakfast and am pleased you and your family were able to enjoy it.

Please come and stay again, and I may suggest either a 2 bedroom apartment or family suite with interconnecting doors as a suitable alternative.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Downtowner over the weekend as a late Valentine's celebration. Staff at reception could have been more friendly, car park while on site had very small spaces so you need to be careful if you have a bigger car. Rooms are basic but clean, the blinds are a nice touch. Very convenient location for what we needed and all that Lygon Street has to offer. Over all it was good but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koukli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Koukli86,

I am sorry to read that despite a good stay overall you do not wish to return.

As you mentioned our location is very convenient and car parking in Melbourne is like gold dust.

I do appreciate the feedback, but hope you reconsider and stay with us again for your next trip.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#82 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing