We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #63 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay in Melbourne being in Lygon ST with the scrumptious variety ( but mainly Italian) restaurants. Friendly knowledgeable service , mainly a clean room but the crucial part of the room is the bathroom shower .. It's a shower over the bath BUT the base was brown and stained and a ring around the bath , I really didn't want to shower in it but I ended up standing on a towel to shower .
Comfy bed, spacious room , mini bar , table with 2 chairs , good menu but too much is on offer with all the other restaurants around.

Don't get me wrong - Great Hotel and value for money and location location location ...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyzafletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Kyzafletch,

Thank you for you feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that the bathroom was not our usual high standard and I have followed up your comments with our housekeepers to ensure your concerns have been addressed. I am pleased that the rest of your stay was comfortable and my team were friendly.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    401
    104
    16
    11
See reviews for
135
284
60
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently and it was so convenient for restaurants around the Chinatown area in Little Bourke Street. We had a king spa room which was clean and all that we needed; on the smallish side but we got a great deal through booking.com so that was fine.
Downside: the room was directly opposite the lifts so it didn't feel particularly private and we could hear people chatting while waiting for the lifts. The spa was in the small bathtub which was explained on the hotel site and perfectly okay but you really need to be careful of the step in and out of the bath - I nearly fell.
Upside: location is ridiculously good for shopping, eating and entertainment. Loved thqt we could open the windows and get fresh air.
Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the rooms opposite the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ally P,

I am pleased you found the hotel well located, and my team pleasant to deal with. I am sorry the noise from people waiting for the lift was disturbing; on your next visit please ask the receptionist to allocate you a room a little further away.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travelled with a colleague to Melbourne and the Downtowner proved to be an excellent choice: clean, comfy bed, big bathroom with a magnifying make-up mirror- very handy! The TV didn't seem to be operating but it was of no concern to us so didn't contact the front desk. When we arrived the service at the front desk was friendly however the WiFi was not free (:. It is well positioned in Lygon St with a very easy walk to shopping, restaurants etc. We did not use public transport so can't comment re the ease of transport there but we were able to walk to our work conference near Walter & Eliza Hall Institute. Didn't eat breakfast there but rather chose to eat in Lygon St. While I would not stay at the Downtowner if I was looking for a luxurious holiday for a business trip it was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - I didn't find it very noisy but my colleague did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Jan D,

Many of our regular corporate clients, have very similar feedback, and I am pleased you found us to be a good place to stay whilst on business in Melbourne. For future trips, public transport is easily accessible with trams less than 5 minutes from our door and Melbourne central station only 7 minutes walk away.

On your next stay try our breakfast offering, which can be included in your room rate for reduced price.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent location near CBD and wonderful restaurants. Good facilities and good service. Breakfasts in the dinning room was very good. The room was spacious and well designed, although it is a pity that people walk right past the window and so you need to keep the blinds down. The broadband was expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Graeme N,

Thank you for your comments on our hotel and team. I am pleased you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, and hope that you took up special offer of 33% off for prebooking.

I agree with your point about our WiFi, which whilst has good bandwidth and strong signal is charged by a 3rd party provider- I am looking at options at reducing the cost this with our current supplier.

We do however offer complimentary broadband access in our executive rooms which is unlimited, so please ask my team for an upgrade to one of these rooms.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Room was clean ..bed fantastic..was ofered up grade for breakfast for $20.00 for the two of us..
when we went to eat...there was pretty much NO food left @ 9.00am. a couple of peices for dry bacon..and scramble eggs othe than ceral ect..all other hot food on the smoragboard was empty..numerouse others walked out....Not even Coffee we were told we would have to wait 10min for a coffee ..(the coffee in room was bitter and not drinkable)..when l went to pay on check out we were charged $20.00 EACH for a breakfast ...grr we then went else where to have some coffee and food. :( l would stay again for the comfort and quietness but not for breakfast..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Donna,

Good afternoon.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Downtowner on Lygon Hotel whilst in Melbourne.
It was our pleasure to host you however, we are disappointed to hear about your breakfast experience and that the quality of the food was far from our usual high standard.

Our hot buffet breakfast is $30.00 per person however we have a special offer if pre-booked at $20.00 per person, on a Sunday morning service is from 7am-10.00am. I apologize that this was not clearly explained to you.

On you next stay at The Downtowner on Lygon Hotel, I would like to offer two hot breakfasts in the hotel restaurant complimentary and also a complimentary room upgrade, subject to availability. Please contact me directly when you wish to make a reservation.
If I can be of any other assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Warm regards,
Lynne Chepanidis
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at this motel/hotel on many occasions, approx 8. We book the same time every year as we go on a shopping trip at the outlets in Melbourne. The motel allow us to park our cars when we get there 1st thing in the morning, as we come from the country, and then book in when we get back from our shopping. It is a short stroll, hop skip jump, to Lygon st great food restaurants. And Vic market is just down the road, not far at all. The staff are friendly and polite and are more than willing to help us out if needed. We dont fird it noisy either but we arent there for relaxation or peaceful rest. The bed is a little hard, only bad comment really, Great pricing as well. Laurene.

Room Tip: We have always had the family room, so cant comment on any other rooms or positions. If you have alo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Laurene E,

I am really pleased to see you have stayed with us on number of occasions and enjoy doing so.

We look forward to seeing you on your next shopping trip to Melbourne, but hope it will be before Christmas next year...Melbourne is a great place to shop for friends and family birthdays throughout the year too!

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice clean hotel in a great location with helpful staff. Only downfall is that the rooms are accessed via a walkway which is not enclosed, so you can sometimes hear road traffic noise/ road works!, hence not the 5 star rating!

However apart from this the hotel cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for review, and I appreciate your comment regarding the balcony; whilst this does allow for each room to have a fresh air landing outside their room, I agree that noise would be an issue from Lygon street.

Kind regards

Kevin Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
317 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 160 in Melbourne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#70 of 160 in Melbourne
1,899 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#71 of 160 in Melbourne
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Property: Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing