We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and some lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vibe Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Ranked #82 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and some lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room was warm, clean and comfortable. Some staff, particularly in the breakfast room, were very friendly, warm and welcoming. Also some great desk staff on Reception. But some desk staff needed to learn their manners and look up and meet and greet guests as they come and go in the lobby, rather than staring at their computer screens constantly. Hospitality is the name of the game.
Very convenient and handy suburb with good tram services. Also in a very pleasant area of Parkville/Carlton. I will go back to stay here when I attend the same annual Conference next year.
Just one really petty thing - I know that some travellers only want a bath, but is it time that hotels offered step-in showers in some rooms and baths in some other rooms??? I am finding at 60 that I am a little worried about stepping over a bath to have my shower when I am not used to that at home any more. I think that, as the Baby Boomers like me age, there should be an option to have a room with "Shower over Bath" or "Shower Recess only". One possible problem otherwise is litigation, as the hotel industry could have claims for more and more falls resulting in broken hips, arms, legs etc, unless they begin to provide more easy access shower stalls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Julie A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and received amazing service from the team here. Just to let you know we do have some rooms within the hotel that have walk in showers so feel free to request one of these when making your booking for next year's conference.

See you next year Julie - if not before!

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    376
    151
    62
    27
See reviews for
193
197
94
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great spot. Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Looking a for good hotel that is not too expensive and in a lovely part of Melbourne. This hotel is a great wee gem. Problem with the shower tap though, but nothing a plumber could not fix!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Joshua W B,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton.

We are happy to hear you found us a great wee gem and hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great on site parking at reasonable rates, public transport on the door step. Rooms are clean and tidy. Check in and out done quickly and staff were very friendly and helpful. Bit disappointed with the breakfast selection.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Tricia F,

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Vibe Hotel Carlton. We are delighted to hear that you experienced our teams friendly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in town.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mccrae
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great location. Make sure you Myki is topped up for travel on the tram as the nearest top up is a fair walk. No convienent dinning close by.
We found the staff very helpful, the room warm, tidy and clean with no road traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Leanne R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton. We sell Myki cards at reception for new travellers however if you have a current card requiring money to be placed on it the 7-11 is a short 10 minute walk towards Sydney Road.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in town.

Many thanks,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were very impressed with the staff when our daughter stayed here on an Eastern States school trip last week. She lost her retainer and Tina at reception made several calls to housekeeping and the laundry service to help locate it. She spoke with my daughter and also kept us updated in WA. She was very understanding of the situation, with us being so far away. The retainer was later found in the room, so no lost property after all.

Our daughter felt comfortable in this hotel, and found the room to be spacious and clean. Thanks for your assistance with this, Tina.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ang S,

Thank you for your lovely review of the service you and your daughter received on her recent trip to Vibe Hotel Carlton.
I have passed your comments to Tina and the team and we are so glad you found our service to be impressive.

We hope to see you when your in Melbourne next.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is well-priced comfortable accommodation close to University of Melbourne. Evening eating options were very limited on public holiday.
Some rooms might be a bit noisy, so request a quite room (as I did).
The bathroom was a bit small, but ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LSL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear LSL2008,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time your in town.

Many thanks,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great location for the zoo however terrible food. Was disappointed by the fact I always woke up with the sun on me despite the curtains being closed (gap on the side) slightly frustrating check in/out experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krystal L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Krystal L D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Vibe Hotel Carlton.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and were able to walk around the corner to the Zoo.

We hope to see you back soon.

Many thanks,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#50 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,922 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,687 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Carlton

Property: Vibe Hotel Carlton
Address: 441 Royal Pde | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vibe Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing