We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 3+ star experience”
Review of Vibe Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Ranked #87 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A solid 3+ star experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Some of the reviews on here are clueless. Yes it's a little isolated, if your definition of isolated is needing to take a 8 minute tram ride into the city. I found the service polite, helpful and 24/7. The facility, whilst obvious an older building, has been nicely renovated & the rooms basic but quite functional. For such a well priced hotel, how can you go wrong?!?

Room Tip: The wing parallel with Royal Parade is definitely nicer, not too noisy (windows sound double glazed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techydude71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Techydude71,

The team and I at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We agree that the location be it not in the City still very accessible by tram (only 8 minutes) and close to amazing shopping and restaurants of Sydney Road, Lygon street and Brunswick. Our hotel is a 60 year old gem that has been refurbished to modern standards and we ensure that the room rates from $109 per night reflect our location and the product. With all new beds we offer a great night sleep at a great rate. Again thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton or one of our Toga Hotels in the future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    427
    178
    79
    31
See reviews for
227
241
108
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If this were classified as a hostel for backpackers then it would be five-star. If it were a hotel, however, it would have some surprising weaknesses. The building seems like an old 1960s office block, with wind-swept open concrete stairwells at the back, but it has been done up rather well, with a startling lime green arch across the front and a large and welcoming reception area with helpful and friendly staff. My double bedroom was huge and really comfortably furnished, but the bathroom was very small and basic. The WiFi was a mystery and I never succeeded in getting it to work. The breakfast buffet was crude and the pastries awful. The location on Royal Parade is beautiful but a long way from anywhere except the two Universities. There is a tram stop nearby with a good service into the city centre.

Room Tip: Better view at the front but quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Colour-Professor,

The team and I at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The team will be pleased you found their service to be friendly. You are correct that the hotel was built in the early 60's as a hotel and we have refurbished the property recently however opting to keep the original 60's charm with the added modern conveniences. The rooms are all larger and comfortable with new beds, flat screen TV's and all the mod con's one would expect. The downside is that whilst we have updated the bathrooms they are still slightly on the smaller side, however quite functional with bathtubs, which is often a hard find in a hotel room.

Our location being not a City Hotel does offer a quiet base for travellers just outside of the city. A short eight minute tram ride will find you in the heart of Melbourne in one direction and a short fifteen minute walk or five minute cab will take you to the wonderful Lygon Street dining precinct.

Again thank you for the review and valuable feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I really enjoyed being here because the staff are so friendly and genuinely helpful!. Thanks everyone. I would recommend this place for its convenient location to Melbourne Uni, and Monash Uni. Stayed 4 nights -s quiet enough to work on my laptop, any gripes I had were quickly sorted.I was given a quieter room when I asked for it ( poolside) They make great coffee and have a sandwich bar as well as a restaurant. No 19 Tram right out the front that goes straight to Flinders station so if you have kids you can visit the aquarium etc easily (8 minutes on tram to Flinders) 5 minutes walk to the zoo ( just around the corner. Hotel Pool is actually as large as photos make it look with a nice little gym and spa. 5 minute taxi ride to Lygon street restaurants in Carlton ( fed the kids pasta) - hey- and the Melba Hall is down the road and so is the Union Theatre! (4 minutes on tram) I will certainly stay here again. For a single traveller, especially, this place is an excellent balance of value, cleanliness, safety and good location. Brunswick 4 minutes by tram going north. Older person- restricted mobility bathroom on ground floor such a nice touch too. Well Done!

Room Tip: Ground flr overlooking pool seems quietest; reception side balconies would benefit from clear scree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Rosie J,

Thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton we appreciate your time and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team dealt with any issues immediately and with a smile. We try to ensure that all of our guests requests and needs are met. The hotel does work very closely with Melbourne and Monash Universities for all of the academic needs.

Our location be it not in the City Centre is still very close with a short tram ride and just a stones throw from Lygon Street & Sydney Road dining and the Melbourne Zoo which is great for families. We try to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and safe whilst in the hotel and are happy that you felt both.

Again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton next time you visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I can't complain about the service or the actual hotel itself - just hated the location. Was there on business and at the end of a long day felt quite stranded - feels like a long walk to anything - no nearby restaurants etc - maybe if you had a hire care etc then worth it. Certainly quiet as its opposite a large park

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Lookinoutallover,

The crew at Vibe Hotel Carlton would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you found our service to be friendly and the hotel clean comfortable and affordable. Sorry to hear that you didn't like the location. Carlton is only a short ten minute tram ride from the City and we are spoilt for shopping and restaurants very close by on Sydney Road only a two minute tram ride or ten minute walk away. Our own restaurant is also available from Breakfast, Dinner & Room Service.

Again thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back to one of our Toga Hotels in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I have been regular guests at Vibe Hotel Carlton for 7 years when we are in Melbourne on business. We have tried other nearby motels but were drawn back to the Vibe Carlton for several reasons. Price. Value for money. Facilities. Friendly staff who have always gone beyond our expectations to meet our needs and ensure a comfortable stay. Comfy beds and pillows. Close proximity & easy access to City & Airport. Walking distance to excellent dining experiences on Sydney Rd.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the pool are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear MichelleW1972,

My Team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton and for the kind words. We love hearing positive stories from our guests and knowing that what we offer is an affordable and comfortable hotel to base yourself whilst in Melbourne. The team always endeavour to make all guests feel like part of our Vibe family. I again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Carlton for many years to come.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Queensland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we stayed there for 3 nights. The staff at front desk were friendly. The room was a good size however the shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor. The housekeeping did not clear away the dirty dishes from room service. If you want to park your car they charge $10 a day for guests :( the waitress at breakfast was in a bad mood and was loudly smashing down the plates as she cleared them from table to table. The meals are quite average. The gym treadmill was out of order also. However the room was clean and the bed was comfy but $15 to hire a movie is a bit pricey. The hotel is in a very good location, right on a tram line and opposite Princes Park which is nice. So this hotel has it's good points and bad points.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftowner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear outoftowner_13,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Vibe Carlton. We thank you for the valuable feedback and will pass onto the housekeeping team with regards to room service as this should not have been the case. Our restaurant team do work extremely hard in the morning with all of our groups having early morning breakfasts and we will discuss with the team to ensure that all of our guests feel a warm welcome even during the busy periods. We are glad you found the rooms comfortable and spacious as we have just replaced all of the beds to ensure all of our guests have a great night sleep. Again thank you for the review and we do hope you will return next time you visit Vibe Hotel Carlton.

Kind regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed from the very start. We arrived late at night ready to get to our room and the front desk girl was unprofessional. Our keycard didn't work and it took 20 min back and forth for her to come up to open the door. She used the main key to open up but we still didn't have a key card until the next morning. Apart from the service, our bathroom door had stains and the toilet seat and bowl still had remains on it. The breakfast was below average for 17.50 aud per head. The positive outcome was that we politely informed the staff of our bedroom state and the unprofessionalism of one of their staff and they were able to give us one of the breakfast for free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Filip O,
My team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Carlton. Sorry to hear that one of our team were unprofessional and I will be sure to discuss this with her. We have started rolling out new keys to our Toga Hotels which are not only bio-degradable and good for the environment they are actually 99% faultless, this should see a reduction in the issues with keys not working. Again thank you for bringing the issues to our attention on departure so that the team could assist in offering complimentary breakfast. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future and show you that this was an isolated incident.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Hutchinson - Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
3,546 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Carlton

Property: Vibe Hotel Carlton
Address: 441 Royal Pde | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Parkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vibe Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing