We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Causeway Inn On The Mall
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$195
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$89
$84
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveler rating
119
305
170
55
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
305
170
55
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbourke street mallopposite myercontinental breakfastgreat locationrooms are smallyogurtthe heart of the cityqueen roomdavid jonessmall fridgeshopping triptea and coffeebudget hotelshort staybed was comfortablewould stay here againreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 670 reviews
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 25, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 26, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This hotel was a pleasant little place in the middle of everything. The nice part is you can shop til you drop or eat till you're rolled out of there without walking more than a few steps outside the front door. But being on the mall has its issues; you can't park that close by and the Christmas festivities meant noise later into the evening than we expected. The continental breakfast was included, decent and was where I had my first Vegemite! The room was small but OK. No view whatsoever.

Internet access was annoying. Well, it was actually nonexistent for us. We wanted to research restaurants and sites to see on the go, so we thought we'd get online. Wireless signal was nonexistent in our room, even though we were resigned to paying the expensive rates. So they charged us something like $8 for an hour and offered an ethernet cable... only they didn't know where it was and had to get it from their sister property. Finally, we got it... and ... it didn't work. The port in our room must have been off and nobody knew how to fix it. We just had to give up at that point.

Tip: many McDonald's restaurants (Maccas) in Australia have free wifi, so that was what helped.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at Causeway in for 3 nights for a weekend away in August 09.


Price:

We paid $126 per night which included continental breakfast- see below.



Breakfast/Dining/Bar:

The breakfast included toast, mini croissants, cereal, various fruits and some juice. We only ate breakfast in the hotel once, as right outside there were some gorgeous cafes and dinners we had mostly down Collins Street.


Location:

The hotel was in a laneway off Bourke Street Mall. Cabs had to drop us around the corner as there was no vehicle access. Everything else was a couple minutes walk away, the trams were just around the corner as well.


Noise, etc:

We could hear a bit of street noise from the room but nothing that kept us awake.


Other Travellers:

Mostly holidayers



Rooms:

Our room was very small, and not much space to put our luggage let alone our shopping! Water went all over the floor after a shower and the lighting was quite bad.



View:

We had views of lots of buildings, no balcony, but the windows at least opened for fresh air.



Check In / Out:

We arrived at about 8am and our rooms were not ready, the reception staff filled out the forms and locked up our luggage for us. When we came back the next reception staff handed us our keys. They were all very efficient and quite nice. Check out was done quite quickly as well.



Cabs:

We did not really need cabs as everything was with in walking distance, the times we did use a cab, we managed to flag them down on Swanston Street. The before we left we asked reception to organise us a cab for the morning and they came down the laneway as it was closed that early in the morning.



Security:

To get into the building at certain times of night we needed the door keys. There was a lift which took us to 2nd floor, then we had to catch another lift to get to our floor. Reception was always manned.


Overall Experience:

The location was fantastic, everything was close by, the reception and staff we saw around the place were very nice and friendly. I guess the bad thing would be the size of the room, and the price we paid was great for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Hotel is located in a quaint side street full of small cafes. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had no problem changing rooms when Christmas decorations started to be put up outside in the mall at 1.00 in the morning.
Laundry facilities good. Breakfast excellent but there is also a vast choice of street cafes to choose from locally. The hotel is modern and has a small lounge upstairs for residents
The hotel sells internet access on a time basis but you need to be aware that the time continues to elapse from first logging on even if all the time is not used. We found that a 30 min or 1 hr card was the best solution for each log on

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuchTravelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews