We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice basic hotel in a great mid city location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Causeway Inn On The Mall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #98 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A nice basic hotel in a great mid city location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was in Melbourne on a shopping trip and just needed somewhere very central & not too expensive, for one night. Causeway Inn with its fantastic location right on Bourke Street Mall was perfect. Being a 3 star hotel it is clearly not going to be the Ritz, the rooms are small and quite basic, however the bed was comfortable, with good quality linen, the shower was great and it was clean & tidy. On check in I was told that my rate included a breakfast and that was your standard continental buffet breakfast, not bad though with a great fresh fruit platters. They have 2 computers for guest use on the level 2 lounge area, with a printer. I paid $2 for 30 minutes on the internet which I thought was pretty reasonable. The reception staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Since it is mid city & probably quite noisy outside at night I requested a high floor and was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    271
    150
    41
    15
See reviews for
78
261
64
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD= Check-in was very nice,friendly and welcoming. The rooms are small for two people but perfect for one person.bathroom is small but perfect,this hotel has the best water pressure I've ever had in a hotel. Rooms are clean,very nice bed,TV and bar fridge worked well.location 10/10.

THE BAD= I'm sorry to report this but the noise that comes from doors to other rooms is BAD! It will wake you from your sleep as it did me.SLAM!(loud slam not soft) Is what you will hear all night if are on a floor with people that go in and out all night. I was woken at 1am,2:30am then at 5am. I love this hotel but I will not stay here again because of that slamming door noise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Don1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Firstly i have to say the staff we encountered were lovely.

At check-in we were told we had been upgraded so that was nice. We get to our room and lucky we only had back packs and small ones at that because anything bigger would not have fitted in the room.

Remember we had been upgraded so how small was the original room we booked.

The bathroom was so tiny and old and worn, windows that overlooked the mall but so dirty you could not see through them. The temperature in Melbourne was extreme and the room was so stuffy, look elsewhere and find something nicer,

Breakfast was continental and coffee was a press button machine ordinary to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a twin room with my daughter. Room was clean and although a little small was adequate. Comfy beds, crisp clean bed linen and additional pillows if you need them. Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit, cereals and bread with juice and coffee available from early to mid morning. Excellent location with a fab choice of nearby cafes and bars. Helpful and friendly staff manned the 24hr reception desk. Would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BootieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location just doesn't get any better. The rooms are adequate, a little run down, but our queen bed room was spacious enough. Although we requested a quiet room when we booked months in advance we were given the room on second floor overlooking Bourke Street Mall, which actually was reasonably quiet considering we were close to the mall. I do, however, find it hard to believe this is one of the quieter rooms in the hotel. The bed and pillows were comfortable enough. TV --- Well just forget it-it's useless. The bathroom needs a good clean and update of shower tiles, also the shower curtain ?? What is it there for, except to flood the bathroom floor. Daily cleaning was hit and miss, mostly miss. Towels are changed daily if you want them changed, soaps may or may not be replenished, I think it depends on the enthusiasm of the cleaning staff, bed sheets are pulled up and tucked in, but your bed is not made and the bottom sheets are still crinkled from the previous nights rest. We were there 3 nights and in that time there was no dusting by any of the cleaning staff of the desk and bedside tables.

We chose to include breakfast in our accommodation costs. It was again adequate, but nothing special. Cereal, toast, yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee/tea. A very limited selection, but probably good value for the extra we paid.

Check-in and check-out was efficient, but no where was a smile to be seen from any staff at any time. No helpful advice or friendly conversation. At one stage we did hear a staff member arguing with a hotel guest.

We would stay there again because of the excellent location.

Room Tip: If you are taking advantage of the free hotel shuttle service from the hotel book early as seats are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Love the location - smack right in the middle of bourke st mall. However, the room smells and doesn't look pleasant at all. Reception looks dodgy. Not worth the price. I would rather pay the same price but stay further away!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinnhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Parked in Wilson Parking off Elizabeth Street and Little Collins Street. Small reception, nice staff. There was no mini bar, and the tv remote was missing, but replaced very quickly. The tv channels were hopeless, mostly realty tv, no free to air or movie channels. The room was nice, breakfast included, continental, very nice. Right opposite Myers. Got charged $50 on credit card?? Charged $20 for overnight parking, very reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room 512 overlooked The Walk, which was okay. Get familiar with Melbourne Streets easy to get lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski09Taree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#123 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Parkville
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing