We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, done the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #102 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, done the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Was after cheap and central accommodation and this hotel was fine. We paid $130'ish a night for a twin room, and the room was as expected. A little small and in urgent need of renovation, but that said, it provided a couple of clean, comfortable beds and a shower. Kind of clunky elevator situation where you take the lift to level two, then wander through the breakfast service area and then take another lift, and no view whatsoever from the room - BUT, as I said, it was clean, comfortable and very affordable. The staff at the front desk were lovely. Would certainly look at staying here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    275
    154
    43
    16
See reviews for
79
266
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed 3 nights here for a Melbourne shopping trip. The location was fantastic - right in the middle of the Bourke Street Mall and walking distance to trams to get us to all the other shopping destinations on our list. We had a twin room on the 5th floor. It was compact but not unbearably so and as we didn't spend much time in the room this really didn't matter. The room was clean (except for the windows on the outside which many people have commented on - really needs doing!!) and the beds comfortable. Bathroom was fine - nothing fancy but perfectly adequate. Continental breakfast each morning was basic - yoghurt, cereal, toast, croissants and fresh fruit, tea/coffee/juice but nicely presented and well topped up by staff. Friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk staff was variable but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streettalk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUALA LUMPUR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I booked a family room with 1 double bed + 2 single bed @AUD197/nite. After stayed 2 nites they told me the price is for 2 persons and as me to top up AUD100/nite. I feel CONNED by their confusing. Standard room only AUD137, If I take 2 rooms still cheaper. Why we want to squeeze 4 in a room? And If I know this stupid family room cost AUD297/nite, I would go for Somerset on the Elizabeth St Apartment, with so much better and bigger place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EriccaFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Causeway Inn On The Mall, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good morning Ericca,
Thank you for your review. As you had booked a Family Room and only indicated 2 guests, this was the cost on your booking. As there were four guest in the room, additional charges had to be made for the two extra guests. I trust explains the situation.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We were in melbourne only 3 nights and for the price we paid we were happy with this hotel. The room was small, there was no space for your toiletries in the bathroom, bar a small glass shelf above the sink which also made brushing your teeth awkward as it covered half the bowl!

If you're a clean freak then it's perhaps not the right place for you- clean enough on the surface, but certain areas looked like they hadn't been cleaned for months (hair dryer unit, around the window).

That said, for the price, the great location, and the very comfy beds, not a bad choice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ang186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel in a very convenient and central position. The structure is essential and so are the rooms, quite small even if well kept and clean. IMHO the color chosen as the base for the rooms and the corridors, grey, gives the impression to stay in a kind of barracks, but I understand this is arguable. What it is annoying for sure is the internet connection chargeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in the hotel when in Melbourne for a conference. The location was wonderful -- centrally located within walking distance to so many venues and the central city.
The room I had was quite small but I was staying as a single so was adequate for me. Entering the room, the first impression was of a very pleasant clean and bright room --- very welcoming.
The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning easily adjustable and efficient and the bathroom roomy enough.
The complimentary breakfast was a continental breakfast with cereal, juice, fruit, yogurt, bread and a toaster and croissants provided as a buffet. It was all fresh and very enjoyable. Coffee was also available.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Must recommend the 'Superior Rooms' or better for more than one person staying for more than one night. The hotel is clean, comfortable, superbly positioned but not grand. The staff were helpful. The bed and ensuite were excellent, don't expect anything more. Step outside the door into buzzing Melbourne. Walk, tram, eat and shop. It's all there. Will have to go back.

Room Tip: Pick a 'Superior Room ' or better if staying for more than one night, or more than one perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#126 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Property: Causeway Inn On The Mall
Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing