We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #112 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location, no need for a car or taxi at this hotel. The rooms are not luxurious, however they are clean and tidy. It is a basic hotel in a great location, we found the beds to be comfortable and after a day out on our feet, it was nice to have a good bed to rest on. Breakfast was very basic, however more than enough toast, cereal, juice, yoghurt and fruit. If you want comfort and a nice place to lazy around, this is not for you, however, if you want a clean, cheap, great location hotel to rest your head at night, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fnqfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 634 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The room was tiny, but it was clean and tidy and we had enough room for all our luggage. The only thing we weren't happy with was the thin pillows. We didn't have the breakfast - it really doesn't seem necessary when you're in walking distance to so many great cafes. Staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is an old hotel but clean and all I need is a place to sleep. A Continental breakfast is included so makes it even better value.The entrance is off a lane opposite the GPO so is easy to get back to the hotel.The free tram (Stop 5) is close to the entrance.There are two lifts,one to the second floor and another to your sleeping floor

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A friend and I had a great 4 night stay here with no complaints at all. The location is perfect in a quiet lane way that is full of cafes that only serve lunch and b/fast so it is very quiet at night. Just outside the lane is Myers and a tram stop that will take you anywhere you want to go. The rooms are small but very clean, we were hardly there anyway, there is so much to do in Melbourne. The staff were lovely and provided excellent service especially Tammy and Herman. Our flight left later in the day and they offered to keep our bags safe till then. I will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rose_dxrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of Bourke Street Mall! Cafes, shopping on your doorstep. The breakfast is an added bonus! Rooms are clean and adequate. Overall good value and did I mention the location?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freshjive_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It has got all you need but just not anything above. Location in the center and at the Mall with good connections to local public transport is so good as possible. Reception is small and not accessible during day time by taxi.To reach the rooms (at least ours) in the wing we had to use two different lifts. TV broadcast in the room stopped before the end of men's single semi and so obviously in some other rooms, too. Many of the guests gathered in the breakfast space to watch the end of the game. Same happened following night as well, and so we assumed the channel was paid only for the evening hours by the hotel. Breakfast was continental and good ok. Wifi was available to the rooms at 8 AUSD / hour. The room was tiny but had everything needed and it was clean. We stayed there for 4 nights and it served well the purpose. Price was not cheap of any point of view but taking into account that our stay was just at the time of Australian Open semis and Australian Day it might be just peak season and priced accordingly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekuvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in January for the Australian open tennis at Melbourne Park. The location of this hotel I would score 5 out of 5. It is very easy to get to Melbourne Park from here, about a 20 minute easy walk which felt very safe. You are just around the corner from the main shopping areas, less than a 10 minute walk to Flinders Street Station and about a 15 minute walk to Southern Cross Station (where the Skybus to Melbourne airport arrives and departs - costs $16 one way and takes around 20 minutes). To be honest we could not have chosen a better location for what we needed.

When entering the hotel reception there was a strange odour a bit of a sewerage smell, not sure whether there were problems with the drains but the odour was present every day.

The staff at the hotel were always polite, friendly, efficient and helpful.

Our room was a standard room and as other reviews have mentioned expect small - as that is what you get. There is a kettle, tea, coffee and milk provided together with complimentary toiletries.

The good:
- Very peaceful - had no concept of the city noise outside which was great so you get a good nights sleep
- Good strong door which makes you feel very secure in your room
- It would appear the bedroom had been recently (maybe a year or so) painted as the paintwork was clean and not chipped
- Access to the first lift is accessible via your room key card which helps secure the building
- In room safe was large enough to fit a laptop, cameras, lenses and many other things
- Generally the room was clean and comfortable

The not so good
- The bathroom has no windows, a poor extractor fan and there was a lingering foisty smell (quite strong). It would appear that the bathroom did not get updated when the bedroom was painted - the sealant around the shower has turned black
- The fittings in the bathroom were not all securely fixed
- The shower head is strangely angled so you have to stand almost against the wall to get the spray
- The fridge was very small and aspects were broken (cooling element hanging off and the rail which secures bottles was missing)
- TV reception is appalling on the small LCD TV. We obviously wanted to watch tennis (when not at Melbourne Park) but the picture was so bad in the room that you just could not watch it. We called maintenance who was very helpful and tried to resolve it for us but apparently it is an issue in all the rooms (particularly with this channel). You can watch the large TV in the lounge (which we did in the end) as this has a digital reception so the picture is very clear. However, when the cost of a room includes a TV you do at least expect to be able to watch it in your room.

We didn't use the wifi (as it's chargeable) or have the breakfast so cannot comment on those.

All in all if you want to stay in an excellent CBD location then this accommodation fits the bill. If you want a non-budget room then choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#88 of 161 in Melbourne
1,088 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#140 of 161 in Melbourne
361 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 161 in Melbourne
1,205 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
4,291 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $76 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing