We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - room a bit less than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #105 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in January for the Australian open tennis at Melbourne Park. The location of this hotel I would score 5 out of 5. It is very easy to get to Melbourne Park from here, about a 20 minute easy walk which felt very safe. You are just around the corner from the main shopping areas, less than a 10 minute walk to Flinders Street Station and about a 15 minute walk to Southern Cross Station (where the Skybus to Melbourne airport arrives and departs - costs $16 one way and takes around 20 minutes). To be honest we could not have chosen a better location for what we needed.

When entering the hotel reception there was a strange odour a bit of a sewerage smell, not sure whether there were problems with the drains but the odour was present every day.

The staff at the hotel were always polite, friendly, efficient and helpful.

Our room was a standard room and as other reviews have mentioned expect small - as that is what you get. There is a kettle, tea, coffee and milk provided together with complimentary toiletries.

The good:
- Very peaceful - had no concept of the city noise outside which was great so you get a good nights sleep
- Good strong door which makes you feel very secure in your room
- It would appear the bedroom had been recently (maybe a year or so) painted as the paintwork was clean and not chipped
- Access to the first lift is accessible via your room key card which helps secure the building
- In room safe was large enough to fit a laptop, cameras, lenses and many other things
- Generally the room was clean and comfortable

The not so good
- The bathroom has no windows, a poor extractor fan and there was a lingering foisty smell (quite strong). It would appear that the bathroom did not get updated when the bedroom was painted - the sealant around the shower has turned black
- The fittings in the bathroom were not all securely fixed
- The shower head is strangely angled so you have to stand almost against the wall to get the spray
- The fridge was very small and aspects were broken (cooling element hanging off and the rail which secures bottles was missing)
- TV reception is appalling on the small LCD TV. We obviously wanted to watch tennis (when not at Melbourne Park) but the picture was so bad in the room that you just could not watch it. We called maintenance who was very helpful and tried to resolve it for us but apparently it is an issue in all the rooms (particularly with this channel). You can watch the large TV in the lounge (which we did in the end) as this has a digital reception so the picture is very clear. However, when the cost of a room includes a TV you do at least expect to be able to watch it in your room.

We didn't use the wifi (as it's chargeable) or have the breakfast so cannot comment on those.

All in all if you want to stay in an excellent CBD location then this accommodation fits the bill. If you want a non-budget room then choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Causeway Inn On The Mall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 624 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

As per other reviews, yes the rooms are small so if this is a deal breaker stay somewhere else.

However I stayed with a friend here for 3 nights while going to the tennis and it worked out fantastic.

We were allowed to check in early as we caught an early morning flight, the room was small but comfortable if you are just looking for a place to sleep. We were on the 6th floor and didn't hear any noise (outside or airconditioning).

We enjoyed the simple continental breakfast, which was all we needed before heading out for the day.

The location is right in the centre of town, easy access to cafe's and transport.

The lift was not working the day we checked out, but this only the ground to level 2 section.

When we checked out, the hotel organised our shuttle bus (for later that day) and held our bags till our departure.

Overall, we were very happy and would definetly stay again for the tennis or similar trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregandrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in Dec2012. Small room, clean & quiet. The continental breakfast was great. It has the best location for transit, dining, sight seeing, or just plain wandering around. Would stay here again. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zyg022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Room was tiny, air conditioning and TV didn't work properly, water drainage in sink slow, parts of shower in disrepair and grubby. Lift from foyer sometimes held up, forcing stair usage. Just not impressed with whole stay, room deficiencies too many for staff not to know about.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crowinmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff are all friendly and helpful at this hotel. I actually stayed here about 6 years ago and there have been no changes since then that I could see. The location is excellent and right in the heart of the action. The room we had was small and basic considering the price we paid. You could find more real estate for your Aussie dollar elsewhere I expect. We stayed on New Years so we got a bonus view of the fireworks. Great for shoppers or if you get a good rate, but not the best value for money.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Found this Hotel on Hotel travel.com, really cheap rate, and what a bargain. Right in the city on Bourke St Mall, Melbourne. You go down a little sidewalk between ANZ Bank & Forevernew shop. Reception area very small and wondered what sort of Hotel this was, but it was fabulous and right opposite Myers. Queensize beds which were comfy and rooms and bathrooms were clean. A small Continental breakfast is included in the price, which consisted of cereal, toast, fruit, tea & coffee and fruit juice. It is 5 min walk from Flinders St Train station and by tram from Southern Cross train, which passes right out the front of the Hotel down Bourke street, which took approx 8 mins. Would definitely stay again, and at breakfast the age range of guests was young to old. Perfect location and you need a swipe card to access the lift.

Room Tip: I requested a room with a view. The only view would be looking over the Mall on Bourke Street, oppos...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank solotravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights last week. We walked to the hotel from Southern Train Station about 15 minutes. Very central tucked down a little lane in one of the busiest malls however our Standard room was on the 8th floor and very quiet. Rooms are small but well appointed and very clean, tea/coffee, mini fridge, safe, TV and even an ironing board and iron! The front lift from the outside only operates with a room key card , a good security measure. The only negative was the noisy aircon although it wasn't enough to keep us awake!
Continental breakfast was a bonus, you can fuel up on as much cereal, juice , coissant,fruit and yogurt, toast tea and coffee as you like before heading out. 5 minutes walk to Flinders Street for the trains or the free city tram. Tourist info booth right on the Mall as you exit left out of the hotel.
The location is perfect for anywhere in the centre of Melbourne, walking distance to Southbank and Federation Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#86 of 160 in Melbourne
1,078 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
356 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
4,238 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
1,182 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#113 of 160 in Melbourne
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $83 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing