We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Ranked #110 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel was absoloutly fantastic I loved it. I was living in Perth WA at the time and was moving back to the UK that week and decided I wanted to see Melbourne before I left, It was a bit of a last minute trip! I took the red eye out of Perth and arrived at 6am where I was amazed to be allowed to check in to my room early, as I'm one of those people who never sleeps on the plane I was very grateful as the prospect of walking the streets of Melbourne for 8 hours on no sleep wasn't appealing to me at all! I was in a "Mall Room" on the 7th floor, The room was perfectly adequate for me. The room was clean and very comfortable, looked very new and swanky too, don't know if it had just been updated or not but it was great. The location can't be faulted, right in the center of the city and everywhere is within walking distance. Staff also very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a Mall Room, they cost a little bit more but they're very nice, and you get a view of the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlesTaylor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 646 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere right in the middle of the City, it doesn't get better than this.
Located in a small alley way right opposite Myer in Bourke St Mall and the GPO. Great cafes located just outside the entrance offering much better rates for Breakfast than the cafes in Degraves St.
Our room was nice and clean enough, a few spots here and there on the linen and towels but nothing major. The TV was quite blurry to watch on most channels but being located here, you probably wouldn't be spending too much time watching TV anyway.
The free breakfast they provide is pretty standard. Toast with all the spreads and cereal with milk. There were also juices as well as fruit available. We were looking for a hot breakfast so only took advantage of the free breakfast here for one morning opting to sleep in most days instead.
Pillows were terrible and require updating. The shower also needs a facelift with the shower floor being made of an ugly brown tarp like thing. The shower floor made the rest of the bathroom look dirty.
There wasn't as much as a hi or bye from hotel staff but if you're looking for a place to just sleep while being in the heart of it all as you're out all day, stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very well located, and well priced. The rooms were rather small, but were adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I had lived in Melbourne for two years so we knew where this hotel was in relation to all the main attractions of Melbourne city and it is a great location.

The Causeway is one of Melbourne many famous laneways and exits right onto the Bourke Street's pedestrianised shopping area where David Jones and Myer are prominent.
If shopping is what you are in town for you are close to the Collins St designer shops.
Also walkable are Docklands, MCG and other sporting arenas, the river, all theatres and entertainment venues, exhibition centre, Chinatown, Southbank and Crown (basically everything in the city - even if I missed something).
If you are worried about your walking ability just Google Maps where you are going and get directions from the hotel in walking mode.
Trams run right outside the end of the Causeway (but not so loud that you hear them in the hotel) so getting to other areas is incredibly easy. Flinders Station or Melbourne Central Station are a couple of blocks away.

Now for the hotel.
We had a very small room but it was only a place to rest our heads for one night and it was sufficient. It was clean, everything worked and had all the standard amenities.
You get to your room by taking a lobby lift to level 2 then walking through the breakfast area to another set of lifts to all higher floors. Bit of a pain with a suitcase.
Breakfast was good with usual toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc.

We would make one comment that there wasn't much of a welcome from staff or smiles at any point of coming, going and having breakfast. Would have been nice to see a bit more cheer about the place and feel valued as a guest. As a couple that travel a lot we are used to warm greetings and smiling hotel staff. Not that anyone in the Causeway was rude or grumpy, only that they were busy doing their jobs and maybe forgot that their jobs include making guests feel welcome.

We can also say that this hotel is very good value for money, given the price we paid for our stay and its location in the world's greatest city.

Al in all we would say this is a sufficient hotel, made better by its location and relatively low price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Checked in at 1pm, wished it could have been earlier as we were pretty jet lagged, however the rooms are guaranteed for a 2pm check in (pretty standard). Beds were extremely comfortable and well lit. Buffet breakfast included but checked out too early to try. Check in/out was efficient and fast - no waiting around in big queues. Bathroom was clean as was the room, sheets etc.

Will definately stay here again - the price, location and room were all very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Our room was comfy but very small. About the size of an average main bedroom with ensuite. Shower recess was a decent size, but the bathroom was very small with only a small glass shelf for toiletries. The bathroom fittings are a bit old, and could use a refurb. The Continental breakfast was included. Cereals, toast, croissants, condiments, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices, tea, coffee, very clean and well set up. Airport transfers are not to the door because the Hotel is located in the Mall, and the laneway entrance is foot traffic only. So theres a bit of walking your luggage to and from transfer locations. Staff were very helpful. You are right in the centre of the Mall, so its a great location in that respect. Very handy to Trams, which we used a lot. They are a great way to get around, and also to sight see from.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wayneandmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Though the room was small, the bed was comfy. A buffet breakfast was included in our package. This hotel is nicely located in the CBD on a laneway. Nice towels. The bath tile grout was discolored; no free internet access.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Noodlie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#89 of 161 in Melbourne
1,093 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#140 of 161 in Melbourne
363 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 161 in Melbourne
4,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Inn On The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Inn On The Mall

Address: 327 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $80 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Causeway Inn On The Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bourke Street Mall, the vibrant heart of Melbourne, Causeway Inn On The Mall is situated in a prime position opposite the GPO shopping complex and Myer department store. Causeway Inn On The Mall's central location makes the hotel ideal for the business and leisure traveller who wish to be in the hub of Melbourne. The hotel is surrounded by lively cafes, fashion & accessory boutiques, Melbourne's famous shopping arcades and major department stores such as David Jones and Zara. Trams and trains are just minutes away from the hotel, providing convenient access to shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Brunswick Street and Chapel Street as well as the DFO South Wharf shopping centre. Melbourne's cultural, sporting and entertainment venues are all a short walk from the hotel, including The MCG, Hisense Arena, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Etihad Stadium, the National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Gaol, Regent Theatre, Crown Casino complex and the Southgate precinct. Attractions such as Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit are all accessible by tram within a few minutes. Causeway Inn On The Mall prides itself on offering comfortable, well-appointed rooms at affordable prices in the heart of Melbourne. Room facilities include a bar fridge, in-room safe, air conditioning, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee maker, LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and en-suite bathroom with shower. Facilities at the hotel include a business centre with internet and printing facilities, guest laundry, 24 hour reception and tour desk. The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings. A hotel that is value for money offering friendly service in a quiet atmosphere in the centre of Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Inn On The Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Inn On The Mall Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Causeway Hotel On The Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing