We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveler rating
505
773
335
93
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
773
335
93
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra river great location lobby bar a river view room across the bridge exhibition centre egg station tram stop south wharf valet parking business hotel business trip bit dated short walk concierge staff pillow menu free tram
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Would never stay here again they gave us a room with a view of a tin roof so after many words with them we got a higher room with a better view. If you are going to spend your money spend it at the metro pol it’s just a little more but worth it .

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Leeann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidM24835, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Leeann W,

Thank you for sharing your review though it is disappointing to hear you were not happy with your stay. We do have a few options when booking your room to guarantee certain views, such as the Riverview Room which are on the higher floors and sweeping views of the Yarra River, South Wharf precinct and Bay or the Skyline Riverview Rooms which again are the higher floors and stunning views over the Yarra River and Melbourne City. I am pleased to hear our staff were able to assist in moving your room to a higher floor with a better view on this occasion.
We do hope to welcome you back again in future.

With kind regards
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne while on a week-long business trip to the city. My room overlooked the Yarra and I enjoyed my walk to and from work every day. The hotel is conveniently located with respect to its proximity to public transport, to the business district as well as to some great eating places - both cafes as well as dining places! I cannot comment on the food at the hotel since I did not have a chance to eat there; neither can I comment much on customer service since I hardly interacted with the staff except while checking in and out; that said, I had no complaints and overall, my stay was good.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ashwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidM24835, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Ashwin B,

Thank you for your review. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a great place to stay while on business trips just as yours. Being conveniently located near the CBD and south bank and also having the free trams just out the front means accessing Melbourne and what it has to offer is so easy!
It's great to hear you had a comfortable and carefree stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay here and were pleasantly surprised by the recently renovated room we were given. We have stayed before and had remarked it was a little tired. New floors are beautifully done and we had a lovely spacious room with a great view of the Yarra and south wharf.
It has a great handy location to restaurants and outlet shopping.
Handy that it is 5 min walk from the airport sky is terminal.
Will stay again

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 859lynseym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidM24835, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Dear Lynsey M,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review. It certainly sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel that is in the process of being refurbished. Our room on the 9th floor was brand new and had a great view of the river! Close to tram stops and Southern Cross Train Station, it’s also a stone’s throw from Crown Casino and the heart of Melbourne. What more could you ask for?

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidM24835, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Kate S,

Thank you for your feedback on our brand new rooms and also for your review of your stay! Its wonderful that you were able to enjoy the view from your room also. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Myself and five friends stayed at the Crown Plaza over the AFL Grand Final weekend. The hotel was well positioned to the city, Crown Casino and the Southbank restaurant precinct. While we walked nearly over 40kms while down, the trams are very easy to catch nearby to either get to the MCG, other side of the city, Southern Cross Station, the South Melbourne markets and/or St Kilda beach. The rooms were clean and well serviced each day and there was really only one problem it that when you used the shower, there was a significantly loud pumping noise when you used the hot water (which is every time). Very annoying to the user and anyone else in the room. The price of the room in a package we paid for the trip was reasonable (shower aside) and especially the location of the hotel. The staff were friendly and the room service good considering busy time of the year. Nothing impacted on the great experience we had which was attending the 2018 grand final, the parade, the South Melbourne market and great food and people of Melbourne.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidM24835, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Jonathan M,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and it was convenient for your stay over Grand Final weekend. I have passed on your feedback regarding the shower to our Engineering Manager for further investigation and I am sorry that this disrupted you otherwise enjoyable stay.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Mansfield
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews