We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
$107
$102
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$230
$182
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$133
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$228
$206
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$213
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$261
$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$212
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
461
720
313
80
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
720
313
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyarra rivergreat locationlobby bara river view roomacross the bridgeexhibition centretram stopsouth wharfbusiness hotelvalet parkingshort walkbusiness trippillow menuconcierge staffbit datedspencer streetfree tram
Filter
Updating list...
1,004 - 1,009 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

IHG member so we gained a few extra benefits, but that did not extend to a view over Southbank. Reasonably sized room with quite good appointments with one or two on the luxury side. Noise from other guests in the hallway into the room was intrusive. Hotel is situated on the edge of the city, but it provides a great walk down Southbank to St Kilda Road or trams are plentiful within 150m along Flinders Street. We were in Melbourne for an "event" in Exhibition Street, so walking through the city from one side to the other and back on a different route gave us a great perspective of the various attractions. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhredNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear PhredNerk,

Thank you for your feedback. We're always happy to receive feedback regarding our guest's experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to Melbourne on Business and decided to stay there 2 nights prior for a treat, it didn't disappoint. Beautiful! so close to the Casino trams restaurants etc. Rooms were impeccable, staff friendly. You can choose to eat on the premises or from one of the many restaurants or food hall at Crown Casino across the road. We took in an AFL game at Etihad Stadium and trammed it there and walked home.
A nice feature was free apples were available on each floor and the King sized bed was sooo comfortable
We tried to stay extra nights but it was booked out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a little over a week. The location is very good, most of the rooms are towards the canal (Yarra river). In walking distance from the Melbourne business district, china town, restaurants, shops. An Outlet center in the Hilton in front. Also 2 minutes from the free tramway that takes you around the city (line 35).
Hotel is clean and not smelly. Rooms are quite spacious. They also have a gym and an outdoor heated pool. Breakfast is always the same, but we had enough choice for 10 days and didn't get bored with food. It's a bit pricey (25$ per breakfast), but in that area everything is well above average priced.
The staff is very polite and will do pretty much anything that you ask (call a cab, call another hotel, tell you where to go in the city to discover, etc.)
You can rent a bike (2.50$/day or 8$/week) which is 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel (towards the white mini-bridge). Then you ride around the city to discover it. If you return the bike in less than 30 minutes, you don't pay any extra. There are bike stops around the city and as far as the beach.
We liked Australia and will be coming back soon.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor, or close to it, as there is an open-terrasse bar downstairs, which is quite noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

For a fair priced business hotel it's not a bad option. Decent location for conventions, south bank or if your business is more towards Port Melbourne.
Overall the hotel feels like it needs a refurb - fittings are aged, curtains are drab, paint is flaking. Access to the hotel is strange - if the you approach from the street level (as opposed to a taxi dropping you on the driveway ramp) it is not immediately apparent as to where the the entrance is. Even when inside the hotel, after checking in, access to the rooms is via an escalator and then a strange short walk to a round elevator foyer. Pool area felt isolated.
Staff are friendly and service was prompt.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Riddoch88,

Thank you for your review. I am always grateful when guests are able to share their feedback and experiences with us. I was happy to read that you found our location convenient and our team friendly and prompt. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great value hotel across the road from Crown Casino. Definitely recommend paying the small additional fee to upgrade to a river view room which gives you an uninterrupted view down the Yarra! Clean rooms although the bathroom is a little dated. Only a five minute walk to Bourke Street Mall and two minutes across the bridge at the hotel entry to the casino.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear adhs,

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed your view and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews