We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, modern, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #78 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big, modern, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a modern hotel in the very nice new part of Melbourne on the Yarra river. Close to Casino and entertainment district with a lot of nice restaurants and shops. But, we did not notice noise in the room. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with all necessary amenities. Staff is excellent. We left in the room for us from Europe no more usefull public transportation cards (Miky cards), and received later letter from hotel that we have fogotten cards!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Dragan M,

Thank you for your kind review. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, experiencing our hotel's great location. The team here at the hotel look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    531
    215
    55
    27
See reviews for
159
335
71
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

IHG member so we gained a few extra benefits, but that did not extend to a view over Southbank. Reasonably sized room with quite good appointments with one or two on the luxury side. Noise from other guests in the hallway into the room was intrusive. Hotel is situated on the edge of the city, but it provides a great walk down Southbank to St Kilda Road or trams are plentiful within 150m along Flinders Street. We were in Melbourne for an "event" in Exhibition Street, so walking through the city from one side to the other and back on a different route gave us a great perspective of the various attractions. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhredNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear PhredNerk,

Thank you for your feedback. We're always happy to receive feedback regarding our guest's experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to Melbourne on Business and decided to stay there 2 nights prior for a treat, it didn't disappoint. Beautiful! so close to the Casino trams restaurants etc. Rooms were impeccable, staff friendly. You can choose to eat on the premises or from one of the many restaurants or food hall at Crown Casino across the road. We took in an AFL game at Etihad Stadium and trammed it there and walked home.
A nice feature was free apples were available on each floor and the King sized bed was sooo comfortable
We tried to stay extra nights but it was booked out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a little over a week. The location is very good, most of the rooms are towards the canal (Yarra river). In walking distance from the Melbourne business district, china town, restaurants, shops. An Outlet center in the Hilton in front. Also 2 minutes from the free tramway that takes you around the city (line 35).
Hotel is clean and not smelly. Rooms are quite spacious. They also have a gym and an outdoor heated pool. Breakfast is always the same, but we had enough choice for 10 days and didn't get bored with food. It's a bit pricey (25$ per breakfast), but in that area everything is well above average priced.
The staff is very polite and will do pretty much anything that you ask (call a cab, call another hotel, tell you where to go in the city to discover, etc.)
You can rent a bike (2.50$/day or 8$/week) which is 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel (towards the white mini-bridge). Then you ride around the city to discover it. If you return the bike in less than 30 minutes, you don't pay any extra. There are bike stops around the city and as far as the beach.
We liked Australia and will be coming back soon.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor, or close to it, as there is an open-terrasse bar downstairs, which is quite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
561 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For a fair priced business hotel it's not a bad option. Decent location for conventions, south bank or if your business is more towards Port Melbourne.
Overall the hotel feels like it needs a refurb - fittings are aged, curtains are drab, paint is flaking. Access to the hotel is strange - if the you approach from the street level (as opposed to a taxi dropping you on the driveway ramp) it is not immediately apparent as to where the the entrance is. Even when inside the hotel, after checking in, access to the rooms is via an escalator and then a strange short walk to a round elevator foyer. Pool area felt isolated.
Staff are friendly and service was prompt.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Riddoch88,

Thank you for your review. I am always grateful when guests are able to share their feedback and experiences with us. I was happy to read that you found our location convenient and our team friendly and prompt. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great value hotel across the road from Crown Casino. Definitely recommend paying the small additional fee to upgrade to a river view room which gives you an uninterrupted view down the Yarra! Clean rooms although the bathroom is a little dated. Only a five minute walk to Bourke Street Mall and two minutes across the bridge at the hotel entry to the casino.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear adhs,

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed your view and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powassan, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

GREAT hotel. Friendly efficient staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Very happy with the location and view. Please "FREE" wifi in the rooms. Beds very comfortable. Buffet breakfast .... super delicious
I would highly recommend this hotel!.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARILYNJOANNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear MARILYNJOANNE,

Thank you for your positive feedback. The team and I were delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,406 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing