We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise was the only let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #78 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noise was the only let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staff all very well trained especially at front-desk. Concierge should be a little more attentive particularly if cabs take extra long to arrive.

Rooms are small but functionally comfortable for a business trip. Comfortable bed and pillows. However you could hear people talking outside in the hallway and in the next room, doors and cupboards shutting close. This woke or kept me up quite a few times.

Ordered breakfast one morning. Crumpets were hot and decent. Petite muffins were very nice.

There is a good business centre just above the reception, with large tv panels for you to plug in your laptop if you need to share screens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear WillJay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to sharing this great feedback with our teams. Please allow me to apologize for the noise inconvenience from other guests, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again for a pleasant and quiet stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    530
    213
    55
    27
See reviews for
159
335
71
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took our son to Melbourne during the July school holidays to attend a scooter camp at The Shed Indoor Skate Park in Cranbourne. We wanted a central location in the CBD and found a very reasonable package for seven nights including buffet breakfast at the Crown Plaza.

We were very impressed with the ease in booking in to our room, the staff both friendly and courteous. Our room, although a bit small for three, was very clean and comfortable with a view of the pool. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever had the privilege of sleeping on in any hotel I've stayed.

Location was fantastic. Close to everything, and we were able to park our hire car very near the hotel. Lots of food, cafes and shops within walking distance and also the free tram that you can get on and off around the city centre.

The buffet breakfast was the highlight of our mornings. Nothing better than a hot cup of coffee to start your day, with a hearty breakfast. Great selection of food, made to order omlelette, which kept my husband going back for more. Friendly and attentive staff, who cleared tables quickly and attended to our every need.

It was a great pleasure for us to spend our week at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Melbourne, and we will definitely be back again next year.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quality place to stay, close to the city and with a fantastic buffet breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsofwannanup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear wellsofwannanup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during the school holidays. I look forward to sharing this feedback with our team and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards,

Cameron Abbott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful... room badly overpriced seeing as room was so small. Outdated bathroom and towels. . hearing other guests shower. . TV had broken and lamp had blown.. disappointed to say the least being a country lady I was hoping for a luxurious night away. Shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjl3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear rjl3007,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we stayed here during Australian open.
great location, you can walk to the huge casino which has all the nice dining options you need across the street.
it is facing the river and you can even walk to shops across the river by walking nice view of the river.
rooms are standard but clean.
small room .

Room Tip: choose river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great waterfront location - ask for a river view when you book! Handy for business trips or shopping & a show! Close to the Casino and walking distance to most things. Cable car stops close by too. Downside was the stairs! I'll explain - the Reception was on a floor lower than the lifts to the rooms so you had to go up a lot of steps or use an escalator (with your cases) on arrival and when leaving the hotel - the only way to reach the lifts to get to all guests floors/rooms. No one offered to take my case and I didn't see anyone else get assisted either. Rooms clean and well maintained but towels need to be updated. Restaurant food excellent taste and value (2 course deal $45) and service good and staff very attentive and friendly. Bed comfy and all very clean. Only downside was really the stairs to the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Carol K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed the view from our property and the restaurant service was up to your liking. I apologize that the layout of the hotel was not completely to your liking. We take all feedback seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimmera
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Within 10 mins easy walk down Spencer Street from Southern Cross railway station. Pricey enough but so central which saves on time, taxis etc.. Room small and toilet seat and electric jug needed replacing as they were well worn!! Didn't like the heavily "air-freshener sprayed corridors!!!!However, location was quiet and suited the need for Conference accomodation. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request room with river view - rather than roof-top/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caranta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a business traveller I found this hotel excellent. It's centrally located within walking distance for both South and North side of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and very cosy, the breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of options. I had dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant where I tried the 2 course deal for $45. I must say the food was excellent and way above my expectations. The staff is very attentive and polite however I decided to give 4 out of 5 only because my credit card has been double charged due to the checkout staff not paying attention to the fact that my stay has been paid in advance. I am still trying to get my money back and as in a lot of these cases they are always very quick charging you but not quite fast refunding the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,403 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#13 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing