We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
wimmera
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Within 10 mins easy walk down Spencer Street from Southern Cross railway station. Pricey enough but so central which saves on time, taxis etc.. Room small and toilet seat and electric jug needed replacing as they were well worn!! Didn't like the heavily "air-freshener sprayed corridors!!!!However, location was quiet and suited the need for Conference accomodation. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request room with river view - rather than roof-top/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caranta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    551
    221
    60
    29
See reviews for
169
346
74
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

As a business traveller I found this hotel excellent. It's centrally located within walking distance for both South and North side of Melbourne. The rooms are spacious and very cosy, the breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of options. I had dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant where I tried the 2 course deal for $45. I must say the food was excellent and way above my expectations. The staff is very attentive and polite however I decided to give 4 out of 5 only because my credit card has been double charged due to the checkout staff not paying attention to the fact that my stay has been paid in advance. I am still trying to get my money back and as in a lot of these cases they are always very quick charging you but not quite fast refunding the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although not a new this hotel still looks fresh and modern. My room did not have a river view but was clean and functional. A very good point was the quality of tea bags provided, they were excellent. On the other hand I think it is time for new towels, mine had lost their fluffiness quite some time ago. Check in staff were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Front desk service was excellent. About 1/2hr after I got to my room, the front desk rang to check that all was OK. River View room on the third floor. Amazing views of the Casino, gas show at night and beautiful sunrises in the morning with hot air balloons in the distance.

Comfy bed, good bathroom but getting dated. Could hear noise from above and room next door but nothing that was worth complaining about. Had room service for both dinners and breakfasts. Quite nice for room service. With the Casino across the river and Southbank a little further along, if you want really nice food - those are the obvious options.

Only minor thing that annoyed me was, if you wanted a paper there was a door hanger to place out the night before. Both nights I did this and never received a paper, yet rooms around me had them. I certainly wasn't paying a budget price, so not sure what happened there. When asked, a paper was promptly delivered.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyingabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here in December and it was amazing, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and super clean. The hotel is at a perfect location close to DFO shopping, accross the road from the tram stop and walking distance to the casino. It was an amazing stay and definately recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Has a great weekend at the Lions Test in Melbourne.
The Crowne Plaza is 200 yards from Crown Casino with Spencer Street Station 500 yards away.
Perfect location with great service and superb staff, truly a great hotel right in the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Arrived after 2pm to be told our room wasn't ready as someone had smoked in our original room and so we had to be moved. We were also told they were really busy and that was another reason the room wasn't ready. We were given drink vouchers and asked to wait in the bar, as were a lot of other guests. Almost an hour went past before I asked and we were finally told they had upgraded us to a river view, we had this in our booking but we were now on the first floor. Room was OK, but one chair for a room that caters for 4 people? We ordered room service twice, over priced, over cooked and both times forgot an item. Dinner in the restaurant was again, over priced and service as terrible. Left waiting for long periods and asked for dessert menu but left without ordering as after 20 minutes of no one taking the order, we gave up. Upon check out, we were billed for services we had not used and were spoken to very rudely by the girl who served us when I pointed out the error.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. For a similar price you will get better facilities and a more pleasant experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Marni-Lee,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing