We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our standard room had a view of the Yarra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very comfortable beds. Great view. Good breakfast. Accommodating staff.Easy walking to centre of city or to free tram every day. Well placed for Casino and its various restaurants both up market and economy. Extended our stay because of convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Standard hotel room - bed and a bathroom. Water pressure was pretty good and the bed nice and comfortable.

Great location! Close to crown casino and southern cross station. Minibar reasonably priced. Parking is relatively cheap - $7 per day on the weekends at the Wilson carpark about 200 m away.

If you need to stay close to the city definitely consider the Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed a couple of days at this hotel during a break from a business trip. The location is very good....close to all things you want to see.

As a tip: upgrade your room to a river view....the couple of bucks will give you a great view....

For the rest: it is like any other hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels_Maaike_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

When we need a night or two in Melbourne we always choose to stay at the Crowne plaza and normally its good. But our last stay was not up to standard! The rooms are normally quite sound proof and a good size and i just pay the standard rate but this time they offered me an upgrade for an extra $30 and all i got was a downgrade!!! The room was smaller and the beds were doubles when they are usually queens. The bathrooms are old and need upgrading,you have to use a shower curtain! You expect them to be really nice for the amount you pay for the room. It was so noisy we were woken up several times a night by the people in the next room and from the people walking on the street! One morning the man in the next room was up at 5am and we could hear every movement he was making then to top it off he made a phone call and he was talking so loud he woke my 2 children! Every parents nightmare at 5am!! I choose this place because its normally so quiet the children sleep in and i had to pay extra to be woken up at 5am! Normally we are on a higher level so don't hear the noise from the street and never hear the people in the next room. I suggest asking for a room above level one. I don't think ill be renewing my membership next year when you don't get the good rooms with the membership, what's the point. Though i must say the staff are always happy and helpful especially the concierge.

Room Tip: Try to get on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tajana251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Tajana251,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. It is nice to know that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. However, please accept my sincerest apologies that you were inconvenienced by the room that you were allocated. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My alternative initial choice was the Park Hyatt, a more upscale, luxurious hotel right next to St. Patrick's Cathedral, in the East of City Center district. However after doing further research, I finally decided on the Crowne Plaza. It was the right choice! While it had enough upscale facilities and rooms to be a very good business hotel, it excelled in two areas: 1) location -as other reviews can attest to, within a shorter walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bars of all kinds, casino and night life, Southern Cross Station, museums, Federation Square, etc., yet without the noise. 2) service- while everyone was friendly and quite accommodating, the concierge Luis Barra was exceptional. He was very helpful in facilitating the delivery of my delayed luggage. I would definitely keep staying in this hotel whenever visiting Melbourne and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I would recommend a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effenzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Effenzee,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Melbourne.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the great location and great service. Luis is a great asset to our team, we will pass on the feedback to him.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed last month for a business trip and it's so handy to Southbank and good restaurants the Casino. Nice clean quiet modern hotel.
Great views of the city and lots of wonderful eating and drinking places just outside of the hotel.
Directly opposite you have the new DFO Direct Factory Outlet. Fantastic pricings and bargains.
The great thing about the hotels location is that it’s on the city side of the river and very close to the city without the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river are the ones you should ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martykrahge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Martykrahge,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay with us. We are blessed to be positioned in such a great location, close to the city, Southbank, shopping, restaurants, etc. Our rooms overlooking the Yarra River are spectacular and very popular. We encourage all our guests to upgrade to a King Deluxe River View Room at time of booking to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regard,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fabulous experience right from the moment we booked. The staff at this hotel were some of the best we have experienced at any hotel. Late check out approved even though it was a week end, concierge waited with me while my husband collected the car, no pressure to valet park even directed us to carpark they use. Nothing was too much trouble and were very helpful during our stay. Apples in bowl on each floor level, a nice touch. Normally stay at nearby Clarion Suites but due to no availabilities tried Crowne. All our future stays in Melboune will be here now. Keep up the good work Crowne Plaza. Excellent position on the Yarra River.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Gayle C,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially relish our level of service - we do try and go above and beyond our guest's expectations where we can.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
3,989 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
2,540 reviews
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing