We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, excellent concierge, average rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent concierge, average rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel rooms in melbourne are notoriously expensive and in short supply. So this view is relative to other hotels in Australia and not hotels in Asia. Crowne Plaza is definitely a hotel targeted towards business travellers. While the rooms are average, the location is excellent. Right across the river from the south wharf, casino, restaurants and shopping (DFO outlets). The concierge is excellent and extremely helpful. Only if the staff behind the reception would have been more polite, I would have given the hotel an excellent rating. The staff looked bored and were kind of rude. The hotel has a lot of airline cabin crew staying there and the reception tends to get crowded. It would have been a more pleasant experience if the staff was more patient. Also, somehow Internet and breakfast was not included in the corporate rate and I found the Internet connection very expensive. So make sure you get an inclusive deal with the rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the river and the casino and you get to see the fire show also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Tgta,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay as Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed a pleasant stay in the hotel.

While it was great to hear that the service you received from our concierge team was excellent, our responsibility is to ensure this high level of customer service is replicated consistently across all areas of the hotel. It was therefore disappointing to read that the reception team failed in delivering the expected level of service on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments will used as a training tool to help our team continue to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    575
    232
    62
    31
See reviews for
176
365
77
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and have found this to be one of the friendliest and best hotels in Melbourne. The staff have been there for a long time, which is always a good sign. In particular Stan and Sam who are Concierge are the most wonderful guys who always greet me by name and are amazing service representatives of this Hotel chain. The rooms are spacious and have lovely outlooks. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast, although dinner is average. The Chinese restaurant is exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Try for a room close the the elevator as you can walk for miles if you are at the end of the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyHGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very happy to find my room was very quiet even though overlooking a busy street and a helipad as well as a lovely view of zthe Yarra River. The staff were pleasant and helpful but I had hardly any requests or needs. The continental breakfast buffet had a good selection of food and I returned on several days rather than trying other outside less expensive options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tas_traveller_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for the review Tas_traveller_26

We were happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us recently. We do agree that the view overlooking the Yarra River is lovely especially at this time of year with blue skies and the sun shining. It’s terrific to receive positive feedback regarding the breakfast offering as this is an area we have been focusing on recently by adding a wider variety of choices for both the full buffet and continental breakfast options.

We look forward to seeing you back soon

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our tour of Australia started here for a 3 night stay. As soon as we exited the cab & were greeted by Collin at the door we were off to a great start at this hotel! Check in/out were both quick & easy. Attention to details was great....asked which newspaper we preferred to be delivered each morning, told us that free wi-fi was available in the bar area and breakfast (included in the room rate) is downstairs. The room had a beautiful view of the Yarra River, had all the amenities you expect and the cleanliness was maintained throughout our stay without any interruptions to us. The breakfast staff were very friendly, polite & professional each day. Great selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc. and you can order eggs, from a chef centrally located in the dining room. Wonderful location that makes it easy to get to so many things like the tram, Southern Cross Station, shops & restaurants. Fabulous!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear TiffanyAlberta

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were pleased to read that you had such a fabulous time. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on the team members, especially Collin who does such a great job along with our other doormen greeting and welcoming guests to the hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Australia.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a comfortable very well located hotel. My husband and I spent 2 nights here while we attended a conference. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were nice. The hotel is very close to Southbank and there is a tram stop outside from which you can access most parts of the CBD and beyond. Also, the fantastic South Wharf DFO outlets are only a 10 minute walk away under the Hilton South Wharf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Deb0910

Thanks for the positive review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our breakfast experience.

We agree that the location of Crowne Plaza Melbourne is one it’s best assets. With close proximity to the CBD, the restaurants and nightlife of Southbank as well as the shopping experience of DFO. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 4 star hotel with a 5 star location and 6 star staff. Everyone, from the guys on the driveway, to the check in (upgrade provided, thank you!), concierge and restaurant staff were terrific.
I travel a lot and have stayed at many Crowne properties all over the world (Platinum Priority Club member) but this is absolutely the best.
Location couldn't be better, especially if you're visiting the exhibition centre. The rooms are true 4 star but only due to the limited amenities provided. But they are spotlessly clean, and smell "right"! Oh....and did I mention the staff? Sensational. Thanks guys (and girls), I'll be back.

Room Tip: Overlook the river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thankyou Dennis C for your wonderful review.

We pride ourselves on the fantastic staff we have working throughout the hotel. I will ensure your positive feedback is passed on to all our frontline team members. We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne.

Kind regards

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Its an okay place to stay, good for a 1-night stay perhaps, or a business stay if youre in and out of town quickly. Location is pretty good, close to all the places we wanted to be by. Breakfast was fine, but at the end of the day its a hotel chain that feels like a hotel chain, and doesnt quite hit the mark for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing