We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve 2011” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #77 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed two nights in a King River view room. Bed was very comfortable, our room overlooked the Casino, towels were good, shampoo and conditioner weren't very good though. Valet and check in went extremely smoothly. Happy hour (two hours actually) was great fun. Location location location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    619
    252
    67
    35
See reviews for
197
403
86
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The first impression of this hotel was,"Where's the luxury hotel? Isn't this the car park?" Although one of the selling points of this hotel was that it was located right across the Melbourne Convention/Exhibition Centre and within walking distance to the centre, the hotel itself was a deep disappointment.

The approach to the hotel was up a narrow spiral road, the sort of drive one took looking for parking space in a multi-storey car park. Indeed I believed part of the circular building of this hotel was a big parking lot. The entrance to the hotel was all but grand. We arrived exhausted, around 11 pm. There was nobody helping to unload our luggage from our car or coming forward with the baggage trolley.

We paid nearly AUD400 for the room which was a high rate considering The Langham’s rate was just over AUD 400. We struggled with our luggage and checked-in, expecting a bit of luxury to off-set the poor initial impression.

We couldn’t be more disappointed. We were directed up a flight of escalators over tired-looking carpets and through an unglamourous steel bridgelike passageway into the lift lobby. We struggled to get a glimpse of the lights along the beautiful Yarra River but the otherwise panoramic view was nearly completely blocked by a huge utilities room right in the centre of the circular glass facade!

The corridor from the lifts to our room was equally depressing and foreboding. Our room was basic with absolutely no view. The window was nearly completely blocked by a huge concrete wall. The decor was standard 3-star quality. The room was so dusty I could draw on the dust. I had to wash all the cups and saucers before I could use them. Carpet had hair balls. The bathroom door could not close and the knobs came loose. The towel hooks were loose too. One of the curtains was jammed in its tracks and could not be closed fully.

I enquired at the reception if this was a 3 or 5 star hotel and was again told it was “5-star”.
The staff did not come across as being that friendly. Once, I could not get down to the restaurant for my breakfast until 10 am and was turned away saying the restaurant was closed although food was still displayed and there were guests still helping themselves to the food. The following morning I got into the restaurant before 10 am and noted guests were still sauntering in after 10.00 am and the trays of food were not removed even after 10.30 am!

I would have imagined chambermaids would be expected to wash used cups as part of their cleaning duties but no, every evening I had to wash my coffee and tea cups which were left unwashed by the sink. Pyjamas left on the bed was randomly thrown onto the side tables in a bunch, let alone folded.

If I had booked into this hotel knowing it was a 3-star hotel I would not be so disgusted. Then again, I would not pay that kind of rate. A group of my friends stayed at the Pensione Hotel, a stone’s throw away and paid AUD 130 a night . The rooms were tiny but spotlessly clean, giving great value for money.

The overall impression was total disappointment and shock tinged with a sense of having been “cheated”. Altogether a distasteful, depressing stay at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Remember to get river view or else risk facing concrete wall. Good idea to tell reception that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear GeeJee,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor after your visit to Crowne Plaza Melbourne in November 2011.

We were very disappointed to read that you were so dissatisfied with your stay.
It is a pity that you were not greeted on your arrival, and we will be addressing this with our team, as this is certainly not reflective of our usual arrival experience. We are also in the planning stages of an upgrade to the look and feel of the public areas of the hotel.

The housekeeping and maintenance issues you raise, will be addressed, and please be assured that this is definitely not in keeping with the Crowne Plaza brand.

Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 4.5 star hotel, and we apologise if you were under the impression that we are a 5 star hotel. We will be sure to remind our team members of this.

Although we do not know the exact dates of your stay, Melbourne hotels were extremely busy in November, as the President's Cup golf tournament was being held here, as well as a number of large conferences.

Breakfast in our restaurant is served until 10.30am on Monday through to Saturday, and until 11am on Sunday. We have noted with the Food & Beverage team that all guests should be able to arrive at the restaurant for breakfast up until the time that the buffet is closed down for the morning.

Please accept our apologies for the issues that you have raised, and we will work hard to ensure that we do not leave this impression with any other guests.

Thank you again for your comments, as they will invariably assist us with ongoing training and improvement of our team’s customer service.

If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to email us on rachael.miller@ihg.com


Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Centrally located to great eating and shopping in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginetta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Good hotel and great rooom.
Very good location for Southbank.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gchjlfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nice clean hotel in good location. Comfortable bed and good size room. Bathroom on smaller side and shower is in bath which I find annoying but is common for Crowne hotels in which I have stayed. Good selection at buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betweenmeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza, Melbourne. The staff were wonderful, nothing was to much trouble, the breakfast was presented and taste beautiful, waiter service we couldn't fault.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the Yarra river view looking down to Southbank was amazing. One of the best views in the world!
The Crowne Plaza is so close to all attractions, and only a Tram ride away if needed to go into the main shopping area of Melbourne. LOVED OUR STAY!

Room Tip: Chose River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights. It was a breeze. No issue with the room, no issue with any of the service. Even had a coffee plunger in the room. The room was comfortable, clean. We were not disturbed at all. The staff were friendly but not overly annoying. Views were fantastic. We did order a high view room. Room service was prompt, room service was great. I really was overall very impressed.

Room Tip: Parking a few meters down the road is cheap $13 over night compared to at the hotel at $35 per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,280 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing