We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonable priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable priced”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good central location, close to most amenities including train station. Although room was not overly big it was comfortable and clean and served its purpose. Plenty of cafe and restaurants within easy walking distance of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Flinders Street are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Tony G,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to hear that you found your room comfortable during your stay and our Housekeeping team will appreciate your mention of the cleanliness. It sounds like you were able to try out some of the wonderful eateries around the hotel, which is always a good way to spend time in Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    463
    176
    30
    12
See reviews for
135
239
87
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice hotel, comfy bed & pillows, lovely breakfast- good location just needs a lick of paint & new carpets
Don't bother with a taxi from the airport, get the shuttle or train.
Trams are a rip off, you have to buy a card for 6$ before purchasing your ticket - even the locals don't like it.
St Kildare beach was not very nice & lots of downies in the area.
Melbourne was a good day out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear AmberReading,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Sometimes there is nothing worse than being away from your own bed so I am glad to hear that you found our bedding comfortable during your stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a day out in Melbourne during your time with us, no doubt exploring the many things this great city offers.
Kind Regards,
Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is small but provides a basic, clean and comfortable stay in Melbourne. The room was not very big but was comfortable, clean and served the purpose.

Breakfast choices are limited but then having stayed at Holiday Inn(s) in the past (in other locations) a Holiday Inn breakfast is not something I would look forward to. The Hotel is located close to the train station but if you need a taxi you may have to wait for a while (or call before hand)

I faced no negative points during the 4 day stay but nothing great either. If the hotel serves your budget and location requirements, I don't think there would be any reason not to choose it !

The hotel has a small gym and pool as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dum_chick_dum_dum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear dum_chick_dum_dum,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and that our hotel suited your needs during your 4 days with us.
Kind Regards,
Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights during the Australian Open. The hotel is located near the Southern Cross Station and close to several convenient tram lines. It's in the business end of the city so the laneways, cafes and other attractions are a bit of a walk away. It is however close to the city circle tram line, so it's easy enough to hop on one of these to get to the other side of the CBD. There was also a free shuttle to the Australian Open close by that also went past the rest of the city.

Service was okay, a bit of a mixed bag. As visitors we obviously asked about public transport and the concierge said we should purchase the myki from any 7Eleven and just add whatever amount. He unfortunately did not tell us about the Visitor Pack which has discounts to a number of attractions and could have been bought just up the road at Southern Cross Station.

There was also a bit of a mix-up with the cost as they did not seem to have registered that we had changed the number of occupants (we changed it on their website the week before). We were on the top floor and unfortunately there was construction on the roof on two mornings (around 7-8am). Reception was called but it was around an hour before they stopped the banging. A few other visitors were out in the corridors trying to find the source of the noise.

The room was quite spacious and had all the usual amenities including a desk and chair. Our group had one room with one bed and another with two (obviously less space with two beds). Looks relatively modern although there are some signs of age if you look a bit closer (mould in bathroom, the carpet has come out around some of the furniture, one of the curtains did not operate smoothly). Interestingly there's no card activated master light switch so you have to pretty much manually switch all the lights off when you leave the room. Also, not sure what cleaning products they use but the towels have a slightly weird sour smell.

There is also a tiny guest laundry room (coin-operated) with 1 washer and 2 dryers. Free wi-fi only if you are a member of the IHG hotel group.

Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazza_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear kazza_oz,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay. The Australian Open is a fantastic time of year to come and explore Melbourne and it sounds like you did just that during your five nights with us. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by construction work on two of the mornings during your stay. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your time with us and assure you we will look into this matter further.
Kind Regards,
Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders would love to say thanks to Paul and the others on reception and for the lovely surprise gifts put in my sisters in laws room for her 50th was so unexpected and appreciated. The only drama we had was booking in around July and not being told about the saturday night surcharge was a bit of a shock on arrival to be told that we had to pay another $105.00 for the two of us because we were staying on the saturday was not real impressed as we were on a tight budget as it was,, we were there on the weekend Friday 17th January to Sunday 19th January 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear rhonda6260,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is lovely to hear that our team was able to do something special for your sister in law on her birthday and we thank you for choosing to stay with for this special occasion. Paul will be especially proud to hear that you have mentioned him by name. We wish to address the issue you had regarding a “Saturday night surcharge” of 105 dollars. Room rates do fluctuate on a daily basis until a booking has been made, however Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders does not apply a surcharge to any room rate at any time. We would love to speak to you regarding this issue to work through what happened upon your arrival. Please contact me, Garry Beadel – Hotel Manager on 03 9629 4111 at your convenience.
Kind Regards,
Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The first problem was finding the hotel. The title '. . . on Flinders' suggests being on Flinders Street, a main thoroughfare of Melbourne, not Flinders Lane, a parallel street. However, having arrived we were immediately confronted with a sign offering Valet Parking for $40 per night. I am quite capable of parking my own vehicle and find the imposition of such a charge to be extortionate. If I was to add $40 per night to the cost of the hotel room it would lead me to more conveniently located hotels with free parking.
We received vague alternative advice about on-street parking and so sought out a suitable parking bay nearby. Here we came across the total unfriendliness of Melbourne to the visiting driver. Almost every parking spot has a different rack of signs attached; as many as four separate regimes being listed. I parked where I believed it would be OK until 7.30am only to arrive at 7.15am to find a parking ticket for $144 on my screen; issued at 07.13! I had missed the Clearway designation amidst the visual cacophany. At least we hadn't been towed away as was happening to other unfortunates.
For the remaining three nights of our stay we managed to safely interpret the signs enough to recoup the cost of the fine, which was $16 less then the hotel parking would have cost.
As for the hotel; it was standard for a Holiday Inn, though even on the eighth floor there was a lot of noise from the trams and trains across the street. We wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Spencer Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1fromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Alan1fromOz,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were faced with some parking issues during your time in Melbourne. For security reasons, we are only able to offer a valet parking service for cars parked on hotel premises. As we understand that parking in the heart of the city can be very expensive, we aim to offer a prompt and hassle free service which in regards to cost, is on par or below that of other ‘off street’ parking services. I do hope you were able to enjoy your time in Melbourne and everything that the city has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for our visit to the Australian Open. It was very convenient, short walk down from Southern Cross station, one block to the 70 tram to the tennis, which also goes past Flinders St Station and Federation Square. The staff were very welcoming and always polite and friendly. The room was nice and comfortable. I needed to call housekeeping for a clock and they brought one up to me within 5mins. I would definitely recommend this hotel, not just for the Australian Open but at any time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 484Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear 484Michelle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you were able to get to and from the tennis with ease during your visit. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they are our greatest asset and I am pleased to hear that they were able to make your stay that much more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 159 in Melbourne
1,663 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#36 of 159 in Melbourne
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,467 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing