We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good business hotel at a reasonable rate well located in the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #78 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 31, 2013

When working interstate, most businesses cannot afford to have their staff staying at the premium hotels in Melbourne as they are so expensive. A good alternative is the Holiday Inn on Flinders, Conveniently located, it is a short walk to most offices in the CBD. After a good breakfast at the Sirocco it is most restful not having to fight the traffic and not having to pay exhorbitant parking fees.
The rooms are adequate and there is a desk to do extra work after hours, The pool is really nice and most relaxing. There's a gym for the more active.
Valet parking is expensive at $40 but at least you are not having to pay the crazy $70 to $80 that other parking garages charge for a day parking. Here you are parking overnight and it makes it easy to leave your car in the hotel whilst you go about your busines and only pick it up later in the day even though you have checked out.
The Sirocco downstairs is a very good restaurant and a great place for a meal.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear WellTravelledAussie2,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay. At the hotel we pride ourselves on making sure our corporate guests enjoy a fuss free stay by ensuring essentials such as a comfortable work desk and a good breakfast are readily accessible. I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our valet parking service, as it is indeed a hassle free option for city parking.

Kind Regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 937 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

I chose the Holiday Inn because of the location, it is easy and quick to get out of the CBD even in peak times as I need a car for business meetings in the suburbs. The car park at the hotel is valet only and at $40 per night seems expensive. The rooms are typical Holiday Inn, comfortable enough for a short stay. The restaurant is small but the food selection is quite good. The only issue I found was the noise in the adjoining room and corridor, the hotel has a promotion where kids stay and eat free which to me means it is less suitable for business customers. The A/C system control in the room is quite difficult to adjust, ask reception for advice.
The staff are friendly and helpful, but checkout can take some time in busy periods.

Room Tip: Rooms exposed to the afternoon sun can get very hot.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear thedoultonman,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had booked for our 3 night visit at another hotel, however had a terrible first night so I rang the call centre at 5.30am to see if there was rooms available at the holiday inn, in my luck there was. My husband and I had taken our first trip away from the kids in 17 years so we were looking for a nice weekend away from it all. Upon arrival the staff made us feel at welcome and at home. The room was fantastic, King Size Bed, comfy couch to sit on and an amazing view out our window which in melb is hard to get as there are so many buildings. The Breakfast was amazing. It is a stones throw to the bus station if your catching the sky bus to your hotel. All in all it was a very good visit and I will be returning with my family for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Kym V,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. It’s a shame to hear that your long awaited trip started with a less than pleasant experience. I am glad however, that once you arrived at our hotel you felt welcomed and at home. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I usually stay here when I have business in the CBD and I cant be bothered fighting peak hour traffic to get there in the mornings.
The staff are always friendly and very helpful. Being a Holiday Inn you also know what you are getting in most cases - i.e. a reasonably comfortable bed and a choice of firm or soft pillows - which is important when you travel as much as I do for business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrybelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Terrybelle1996

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing an efficient and consistent level of service throughout the hotel and I am glad you were able to enjoy this service. The pillow choice between soft and firm pillows is a favourite with our guests and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed this on your visit. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location on Flinders Lane very close to the South Cross Station with a new DFO shopping centre just opening in South Cross Station (1st Floor). Southern Cross Station has supermarkets and eating places as well. Would recommend getting the room package with breakfast included as a great full buffet breakfast - friendly Chef who helped with the best shopping places to go. We got upgraded to a one bedroom corner suite which a good size but was fairly basic but suited our needs. If you like shopping definitely go to DFO South Wharf about a 10 min walk from the hotel.
We would certainly stay at Holiday Inn Flinders again - great location.

Room Tip: If you can get a one bedroom corner suite then do this as above the road noise and plenty of room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Andrew M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. I am glad the location of the hotel suited your needs. Including breakfast in your room package is a great option and it is nice to hear you loved our breakfast buffet . We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for business ,good quick check in, nice room service menu ,good pillows, nice size room. Overall a pleasant stay and would return . Location handy to convention centre and the hotel is well priced for this area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headchef57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Headchef57

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing an efficient and consistent level of service throughout the hotel. I am pleased to hear this was achieved during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It's not too far from Crown casino in Melbourne (within walking distance). The pool is outdoor , has gym and sauna. Room was upgraded to deluxe if you are a IHG club member + free internet for its member ( check website for details)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear solo6005,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 160 in Melbourne
1,786 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,654 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing