We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations, but pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks, great location for my office, large room that had all the facilities we needed, friendly and helpful staff that always smiled as you past reception.

We arrived early in the morning and our travel agent had forgotten to book the room from the night before, instead of sending us away and asking us to come back in the afternoon, reception did some juggling and managed to get us into a room straight away, which after an overnight flight from Singapore was much appreciated.

The room was outside the lifts so I was worried about the noise, but we heard nothing through out the night and there is no 'pinging' from the lifts when they open on your floor. Actually, had really good nights sleep here, a kingsize bed with a firm mattress.

House keeping did a great job and the room was always spotless and everything topped up, the room had a fridge which had been emptied of mini bar things so you could actually keep your own things in there. The bathrooms are a bit tired, but everything was clean, and the amenities were good.

Yes the decor is nothing fancy and it is very much a functional hotel, but for the money we paid, it was a very good stay and we would certainly stay here again.

We didn't eat in the hotel, but there is an awesome cafe just back down Flinders Lane called Grain, which is really good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danrichoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Danrichoz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad that had a pleasant stay and we were able to exceed you expectations. Thank you for mentioning the reception and housekeeping staff, they will appreciate the praise. We hope to see you back again soon

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 978 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Before I checked in to Holiday Inn on Flinders, I stayed at Holiday Inn Sydney. When compare the two, I prefer this property for a couple of reasons. The room is as spacious as the Sydney one but it appears a bit more classy and cleaner. It's true that bathroom is a let down because of its size and it's dated.

Staff is very friendly in this Holiday Inn and I was amazed that they were able to anticipate traveller's needs.

Location is good as it's just at the centre of the Melbourne business hub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear HJKHongKong

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I am glad that had a pleasant stay and that you found our staff very friendly and able to anticipate your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the AFL Grand Final weekend when it is nearly impossible to get a room anywhere in the Melbourne CBD. This hotel was also totally booked out, so it was naturally quite busy. However, despite this we had no problems with check in, or out and had no complaints at all. The hotel is only about 300 metres from the airport shuttle stop at the Southern Cross Station, from where a trip from Melbourne's Tullamarine Airport takes about 20 minutes and costs $17, compared to about $55 by taxi. In addition the hotel is also only about 100 metres from the City Circle tram stop, which is a free service and can be used to get to most places in the city, or connect to other tram and train services. Breakfasts were excellent with a station where eggs fried, poached or omelettes could be ordered to suit. Other hot food to go with these eggs was also plentiful. Of course there was also a vast range of cereals, fruits, juices, toasts and pasteries. Restaurant meals were also quite reasonable. The hotel is getting a bit dated, but the convenience to transport and the excellent meals, especially breakfasts made up for that. Staff were friendly and helpful and I would have no hestitation recommending this hotel, especially for anyone travelling to Melbourne to attend AFL footall games at either MGC, or Docklands Statiums.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear 13hawkeye

Dear 13Hawkeye

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. It is always rewarding when guests tell us how much they have enjoyed staying at our hotel and how wonderful our staff are, especially over a busy period such as the AFL grand final. I am glad that you loved our convenient location to transport and found the breakfast buffet plentiful. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect as all areas are within walking distance or you are very near the tram stops. We booked Holiday Inn believing we would get an expected standard but we felt this particular hotel fell short. The seating in the lounge bar was so dirty and stained I would'nt sit on it and other chairs were covered in food which had been swept off the tables. The bathroom fittings had a thick layer of dust which remained for the whole of our stay. The power shower was great though.hotel needs a revamp

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrymc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Terrymc55

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that we fell short of your expectations, please be assured that I have passed your comments on to our management team so that they can be actioned upon. I am glad you enjoyed our power shower and convenient location close to transport, shopping and restaurants. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times on business, and once prior on a social visit. The property is located close to Spencer St, and a fair way from the major shopping and dining areas - I've always enjoyed staying here though. My only "complaint" is that the bathrooms look very tired...the bath tubs need replacing as they look like they'be been scrubbed many times and look dull, and not 100% clean. Apart from that, the beds are comfy, the pillow selection very good, and the food in the restaurant is adequate. The staff are professional, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Robbie2604

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your positive feedback after your stay with us. Thank you for the comments about the quality of the service you received, I am glad that you enjoyed your room and had a comfy sleep. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It wasn't the first time I had stayed at the Holiday Inn Flinders Lane and again I was not disappointed. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are spacious and all in all it's a very pleasant venue. Crown nearby and the City Circle tram not far away. Great tourist venue.

Room Tip: You get a choice of pillows?? never seen it anywhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandK2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear KandK_2486

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is nice to hear from a returning guest and I am glad that had a pleasant stay upon returning. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were heading to Melbourne for a food expo and chose the Holiday Inn because it seemed pretty central in the CBD, which it was! It was a 5 min walk to the Exhibition Centre and DFO South Wharf, 5mins from Southern Cross Station and about 10 mins to the Bourke St Mall. On the street outside, there was also a number of Tram stops - one of them being for the free City Loop Tram.

Our room had two double beds and was a quite nice room. The beds were comfortable and the room itself was spacious, with a lot of room for bags, etc.

The staff were incredibly helpful and willing to do anything they could for us. They advised us on good places to go and how to get there and went it came time to leave, they helped us work out the best way to get back to the airport. We bought frozen goods at the expo and they allowed us to store them in the Kitchen's freezer until it was time to leave, which we were so grateful for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Cassie1911

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and friendly, knowledgeable service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,582 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $117 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane & Spencer Street right near Southbank, Melbourne Conference & Events Center and SEA LIFE Melbourne. Our newly refurbished modern hotel rooms have been thoughtfully designed to ensure that your stay is a restful one. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park & efficient check-in process. In room enjoy free wifi, a pillow top bed with your choice of soft or firm pillows & our over-sized walk in shower. All rooms have HDMI and USB connectivity which connect to our fully HD Smart TVs. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay & Eat Free with any paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing