We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but the bathrooms need a revamp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #78 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but the bathrooms need a revamp”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times on business, and once prior on a social visit. The property is located close to Spencer St, and a fair way from the major shopping and dining areas - I've always enjoyed staying here though. My only "complaint" is that the bathrooms look very tired...the bath tubs need replacing as they look like they'be been scrubbed many times and look dull, and not 100% clean. Apart from that, the beds are comfy, the pillow selection very good, and the food in the restaurant is adequate. The staff are professional, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Robbie2604

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your positive feedback after your stay with us. Thank you for the comments about the quality of the service you received, I am glad that you enjoyed your room and had a comfy sleep. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    468
    177
    30
    12
See reviews for
138
240
88
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

It wasn't the first time I had stayed at the Holiday Inn Flinders Lane and again I was not disappointed. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are spacious and all in all it's a very pleasant venue. Crown nearby and the City Circle tram not far away. Great tourist venue.

Room Tip: You get a choice of pillows?? never seen it anywhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandK2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear KandK_2486

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is nice to hear from a returning guest and I am glad that had a pleasant stay upon returning. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were heading to Melbourne for a food expo and chose the Holiday Inn because it seemed pretty central in the CBD, which it was! It was a 5 min walk to the Exhibition Centre and DFO South Wharf, 5mins from Southern Cross Station and about 10 mins to the Bourke St Mall. On the street outside, there was also a number of Tram stops - one of them being for the free City Loop Tram.

Our room had two double beds and was a quite nice room. The beds were comfortable and the room itself was spacious, with a lot of room for bags, etc.

The staff were incredibly helpful and willing to do anything they could for us. They advised us on good places to go and how to get there and went it came time to leave, they helped us work out the best way to get back to the airport. We bought frozen goods at the expo and they allowed us to store them in the Kitchen's freezer until it was time to leave, which we were so grateful for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cassie1911

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and friendly, knowledgeable service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay, we were in Melbourne for the Monet Exhibition and found the Holiday Inn to be the perfect location for a Melbourne stay particularly if arriving from the Airport on the Skybus or to Great Southern Station, it’s such an easy 5 minute walk to the Hotel
The hotel was very comfortable, good 4 star standard but the staff are the standout – we were just so impressed with the friendliness of so many of the hotel staff.
From check-in where we were quickly allocated our rooms by friendly efficient staff, and extending right through to the bar and restaurant, the same friendliness prevailed, such a bonus and made it just a pleasure to return to our hotel each day.
The breakfast menu is top class, love the fresh fruit and juices supplied by Holidays Inns and HI Flinders Lane is right up there for breakfast quality – an impressive egg station with specials of the day and the Eggs Benedict on one day just pipped the superb omelette I ordered another day. I Iove making my own juices and there was an ample supply of fruit and vegetables available to do this. Breakfast staff including Mel, Lola and John (hope I have the names correct) were as a friendly and helpful as one could ever find, just a pleasure to be greeted by them each day.
Used the restaurant for our nightly meals and found the meals to be of a high standard with specials on each day, some specials including a glass of wine. Our favourite was the Grilled lamb on salad but the lamb shanks were really good. Only one glitch with a venison meal but staff handled this well with a replacement meal and no pressure, I have to thank Laura for looking after us so well each night, another gem to add to the list of great staff at this hotel.
Our room located on a higher floor as requested had floor to ceiling windows, was very comfortable and overlooked Swanston Street with the Grand Hotel opposite, plenty of traffic but noise not a problem. The bathroom quite small but did its job, the bed okay but not quite as comfortable as I would have liked so not sure if new mattresses are on the drawing board. The only thing that really needs attention was one of the lifts must have been the service lift and did get grotty at times plus one of the other lifts seemed a little jumpy at times but just something perhaps to be checked out
Despite those minor points we loved our stay and will be looking forward to returning here next year, just so appreciate a Hotel that has such exceptional staff and must congratulate the management on a job well done on customer service.

Some handy hints and for ease of travel, the Holiday Inn would take some beating, Trams out the front in Swanston Street, only a few minutes’ walk to Flinders Street and the free trams or numerous trams available to get all around Melbourne. We caught a tram out the front in Swanston Street to take us to St Kilda, the famous outlet Centre DFO South bank is about a 10 minute walk along the River which we did a few times plus the Crown Casino only a short walk. Walk the other way and only 5 minutes to the Great Southern Station and access to all parts of Melbourne or the country trains. Close by plenty of liquor outlets and grocery stores for any supplies but we availed the Hotels happy hour for our nightly drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear barkem

What an amazing review to read! Thank you so much, it is reviews like these that inspire the team to deliver exceptional guest experiences day after day.
I am so pleased to hear of your experience with our staff, in particular Mel, Lola and John. Our team love going the extra mile to make our guests feel special and your review has been shared with them.
We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, being close to shops, transport and entertainment is a big bonus for us. The restaurant has been through many changes and it was great to hear that you took advantage of our egg station and juice station as well as the dinner specials.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late in the evening having been let down by a minibus service from the airport, so we needed to rush straight off to the convention centre the minute we set foot in the hotel. The reception staff were excellent, happy to take all our things and have them delivered to our room, allowing us to speed off with minimum fuss. It is little touches like this that enables hotels that may not be the most glamorous in town to distinguish themselves and create repeat business. We were looked after well during our short stay, despite the hotel being very busy, and the only downside was a glitch with one of the lifts which briefly caused minor pandemonium as no one could come or go. Good location for the harbour side Emirates stadium and train station..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Wentworth40

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We continually aim to give the highest degree of service and I know the staff will be delighted to hear of the wonderful feedback received from you. I am glad you found location convenient to the stadium and transportation. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here duringa flying visit to Melbourne. The location (in the CBD right by the train station and the trams) was wonderful, the rooms were standard Holiday Inn rooms, nothing special, but very clean and comfy enough. What made the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. They were very knowledgable about the area and very professional in all matters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Dom1874

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. You are absolutely right, our staff are what make the hotel special, and I am glad that you found them to be very knowledgeable and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had four nights in a corner suite (6th floor) - although the view was only up and down Spencer Street we enjoyed the view from the floor to ceiling windows. The trains (and traffic to a lesser extent) were noisy at night but did not keep us awake. Staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful and obliging. Like many hotels breakfast is expensive A$29.50 per head but the buffet was extensive - even had honeycomb one morning!! They have an "egg chef" in a corner of the dining room which is a nice touch. Dinner was well presented and we were well looked after. Internet - free W- Fi in the lobby worked well and staff helpful in sorting any connection issues. Worst feature - shower over bath (both bath and basin could do with replacement).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the views offered by our floor to ceiling window’s, they are a feature of every room in the hotel, and the corner suites especially offer a typically Melbourne view. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they are what make our hotel special and always appreciate great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 160 in Melbourne
1,672 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#35 of 160 in Melbourne
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#58 of 160 in Melbourne
3,546 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing