We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate front-desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #75 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“First-rate front-desk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late in the evening having been let down by a minibus service from the airport, so we needed to rush straight off to the convention centre the minute we set foot in the hotel. The reception staff were excellent, happy to take all our things and have them delivered to our room, allowing us to speed off with minimum fuss. It is little touches like this that enables hotels that may not be the most glamorous in town to distinguish themselves and create repeat business. We were looked after well during our short stay, despite the hotel being very busy, and the only downside was a glitch with one of the lifts which briefly caused minor pandemonium as no one could come or go. Good location for the harbour side Emirates stadium and train station..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Wentworth40

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We continually aim to give the highest degree of service and I know the staff will be delighted to hear of the wonderful feedback received from you. I am glad you found location convenient to the stadium and transportation. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    409
    137
    26
    9
See reviews for
113
206
76
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here duringa flying visit to Melbourne. The location (in the CBD right by the train station and the trams) was wonderful, the rooms were standard Holiday Inn rooms, nothing special, but very clean and comfy enough. What made the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. They were very knowledgable about the area and very professional in all matters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Dom1874

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. You are absolutely right, our staff are what make the hotel special, and I am glad that you found them to be very knowledgeable and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had four nights in a corner suite (6th floor) - although the view was only up and down Spencer Street we enjoyed the view from the floor to ceiling windows. The trains (and traffic to a lesser extent) were noisy at night but did not keep us awake. Staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful and obliging. Like many hotels breakfast is expensive A$29.50 per head but the buffet was extensive - even had honeycomb one morning!! They have an "egg chef" in a corner of the dining room which is a nice touch. Dinner was well presented and we were well looked after. Internet - free W- Fi in the lobby worked well and staff helpful in sorting any connection issues. Worst feature - shower over bath (both bath and basin could do with replacement).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John S

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the views offered by our floor to ceiling window’s, they are a feature of every room in the hotel, and the corner suites especially offer a typically Melbourne view. Thank you for mentioning our staff, they are what make our hotel special and always appreciate great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at end of Aug 2013 for a conference meet at the nearby Melbourne Convention centre(convenient 10-15 min walk). Clean rooms of standard size. Breakfast OK but boring after the 3rd morning. Location is a good 1+ km walk from Chinatown or flinders station or southgate after 6pm when the free tram service ends. Very few good dinner options(except fast foods or at hotel) nearby, in fact a very quiet southwest corner of CBD. Southern cross station 300m away and skybus station is a convenient 500m even with 2 big luggage bags still walkable, so you safe at least 20 aussie dollar for 2 with skybus compared to by cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humanH1N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear humanH1N1

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am glad that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and of a good size. Our breakfast buffet is an area that we are constantly looking to improve and I would love to hear your suggestions on what you would like us to add on to the buffet for more variety, please email me directly at simon.carter@ihg.com if you would like. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated close to the football ground, casino, dfo and a short walk up to the main shopping mall.
Great lounge to sit with friends for a drink or dining in the restaurant . The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie j J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kerrie j J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and friendly service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were all really lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered a lot of variety. Easy walk to CBD and surrounding areas. We felt very welcome as a couple with two small children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders and Melbourne too. We receive a lot fo feedback about this hotel being child friendly and pleased your family felt very welcomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Melbourne again soon.

Thanks for the feedback

Kind regards

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet rooms, staff always eager to assist and good food at the Holiday Inn.

A nice touch offering a wide range of complimentary toiletries in case you forget something.

Good location for conferences or events at the convention centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Raquellish

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found our hotel to be nice and quiet and enjoyed the food and service we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#78 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,785 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#36 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing