We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round except free wifi 2hrs a day and only in lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #77 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good all round except free wifi 2hrs a day and only in lobby”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at end of Aug 2013 for a conference meet at the nearby Melbourne Convention centre(convenient 10-15 min walk). Clean rooms of standard size. Breakfast OK but boring after the 3rd morning. Location is a good 1+ km walk from Chinatown or flinders station or southgate after 6pm when the free tram service ends. Very few good dinner options(except fast foods or at hotel) nearby, in fact a very quiet southwest corner of CBD. Southern cross station 300m away and skybus station is a convenient 500m even with 2 big luggage bags still walkable, so you safe at least 20 aussie dollar for 2 with skybus compared to by cab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humanH1N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear humanH1N1

Thank you for your review on our hotel. I am glad that you found the rooms to be nice and clean and of a good size. Our breakfast buffet is an area that we are constantly looking to improve and I would love to hear your suggestions on what you would like us to add on to the buffet for more variety, please email me directly at simon.carter@ihg.com if you would like. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    473
    178
    31
    13
See reviews for
144
242
89
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated close to the football ground, casino, dfo and a short walk up to the main shopping mall.
Great lounge to sit with friends for a drink or dining in the restaurant . The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrie j J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kerrie j J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and friendly service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff were all really lovely. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast offered a lot of variety. Easy walk to CBD and surrounding areas. We felt very welcome as a couple with two small children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders and Melbourne too. We receive a lot fo feedback about this hotel being child friendly and pleased your family felt very welcomed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Melbourne again soon.

Thanks for the feedback

Kind regards

Garry Beadel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet rooms, staff always eager to assist and good food at the Holiday Inn.

A nice touch offering a wide range of complimentary toiletries in case you forget something.

Good location for conferences or events at the convention centre.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Raquellish

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found our hotel to be nice and quiet and enjoyed the food and service we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff on reception and bar are very responsive and helpful.

Even though it is on a busy corner, the rooms are clean and quiet.

The price is modest and a good find for the budget traveller looking for something in the city.
Well situated for Spencer St Railway Station, Ethiad Stadium and Crown Casino.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom needs a refresh.
I'm not crazy about shower curtains or stained grout.

Room Tip: Get a Holiday Inn Loyalty Card, which may entitle you to an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuJo-a-GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sujo-a-GoGo

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you found good value at our hotel and received great service from our reception and bar team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel will never be ranked as outstanding but it is well-serviced and clean. Bathrooms are showing their age and are quite small. I have never had a room here with a separate shower. Beds are comfortable with a good choice of soft or firm pillows. Front desk is always helpful and never seems to be short of people. Good selection of free morning newspapers. Desk and over-bed lighting is excellent. Have only eaten in the hotel once or twice but the food is not too bad. II keep going back because it is good value for money in a city where hotel prices have really rocketed up. Also by being on the edge of the CBD it forces me to walk! Nowhere in the CBD would be more than 30 mnutes by foot.

Room Tip: The rooms on Spencer St have a lot of traffic noise, epsecially from trams. Ask for a room on Flind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeKayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear DeeKayAdelaide

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you found a good deal, and received great service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had 2 nights here. Staff great at both reception and bar/dinning room. We had a king bed superior - very spacious (desk, bed, chairs). The bed perfect. Bathroom due for a makeover but spacious with shower over bath. Location perfect - close to trams (including free City Circle Tram) and trains but very quiet. Walking distance to Crown/South Wharf DFO, Docklands/Ethihad and CDB although also easy short tram ride to the latter. Taxi to airport booked via reception and on time. Would recommend it as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on Flinders Lane side in King Bed Superior - 7th floor with great block out curtains for sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Martyn N

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed one of our spacious rooms and received great service from our team. Our location is great for many different reasons, and I am glad to hear that you would recommend us as a great place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 160 in Melbourne
1,723 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
183 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 160 in Melbourne
1,089 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 160 in Melbourne
3,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing