We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor organisation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #73 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor organisation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed here for second lions test, staff gr8 but ran out of beer on match day despite the fact we pre warned them before hand.stayed in many holiday inns but this one has to be the least organised.location great,i would recommend this hotel as I don't think they have had so many thirsty people there at once.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Michael T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The Lions weekend was a very busy period for us, and unfortunately after a lot of preparation, we were still caught short on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback , and are glad that you enjoyed the service that our friendly team offered and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    413
    143
    26
    9
See reviews for
115
209
77
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After two really bad experiences with the chain in Texas and Louisiana i swore I would never stay at a Holiday Inn again.
However after reading a few good reviews and getting a special deal thought i would give it another go.
The whole experience at this hotel was great.
Early check in
Good Food
Room service good
Counter staff excellent

The bathroom is a bit dated and the gym small but all fine.

If i had to make a suggestion for improvement it would be for the waiting staff in the restaurant. They were if anything too attentive checking all was ok all the time. I don't think the three of them communicated who was looking after which tables. (this is really picky though) The food was excellent. Highly recommend the seafood paella

So yes i will be back to this hotel other Holiday Inn I am not sure yet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear PHB75

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel, it is great to hear that you have given our brand another opportunity to impress and I am glad that we were able to change your perception. It looks like you were able to try many aspects of the hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service we offered. I appreciate your feedback regarding our wait staff in the restaurant and I will pass that on to the restaurant manager. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights at end of June. Our room was so small, there was only room for one small bedside table beside the bed. Described as having a large desk area - this turned out to be a table at the end of the bed which was almost impossible to pass, all for a hugely increased charge, raised considerably because of the Lions Tour.The response from the hotel has been to say the room is as described and price increase (100% increase) is because of the tour. Basically tough we can charge what we like. We stayed at the Sheraton in Sydney, for the same price, during the Lions weekend, where we had a superb room and excellent service, they obviously didn't feel the need to exploit tourists during this period.
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and definitely not a 4* property.
The trip was made to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and thankfully all the other hotels we stayed at were superb for the same budget.
Some sensitivity from the operations manager, would have helped in his response to our comments.

Room Tip: Try another hotel, many to choose from that are better value. We had a 100% increase in the room co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verrcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Verrcr

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room and the price of the hotel. Unfortunately high demand periods like the British and Irish Lions rugby tour do result in an increase in prices in the market. I am glad to hear through our prior communications that you enjoyed the high quality of service provided by our team.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The thing with changes is usually know what you're going to get with them - they're not usually outstanding or too terrible.

However, the sincerely warm and friendly service here is really something else. I arrived at 8.30am and was mostly expecting to be invited to wait 5 or so hours for my room to be ready... but no, these guys pulled out the stops and found me a room that I could have straight away. Great!

Sadly, I'm a ridiculously light sleeper and the room faced the street. I hate being a nuisance but when I called down to Becky on front desk... not a problem... in fact she even came up and helped me move! All of that with a genuine smile and great service.

My second room faced the internal courtyard over the pool and was absolutely perfect for me. The location is awesome with Southern Cross Station a stone's throw and Flinders Street Station a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear algray

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I am glad that we were able to impress you with our service. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I’m glad we were able to ensure you had a good night sleep.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked in for two nights at the holiday inn, great little hotel with tram lines within a stone throw, i arrived slightly early, and was checked in seamlessly by one of the duty managers - becky - she was bright bubbly and easy to deal with, the room had all the standard amenities, and i had a good nights rest, very clean, breakfast was good quality however i did not try the room service or the lunch/dinner - would i stay again?. yes,
good staff members throughout and always met with a smile, which i think goes a long way,

thanks for the great stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughMiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear HughMiron

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and share it with the team. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I am glad you found all staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked ourselves into the Holiday Inn on Flinders for the last night of our stay in Melbourne following a terrible accommodation experience at an apartment on Flinders Lane.
The on-duty manager and staff were really helpful and friendly, and were genuinely gutted for the experience we had just endured at the apartment (not associated with Holiday Inn). We were offered early check-in, and as a extra touch, given a bottle of wine to help us relax on our last night in the city.
The room was really tidy, clean, quiet, and warm. A really pleasant, comfortable stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Kitncat

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I’m glad that our team was able to help you relax for your last night in Melbourne after a bad experience elsewhere. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I really appreciated all the assistance and good cheer I got from the managers and staff here. We flew into Melbourne after a very long flight from Mumbai India for my parents and Dallas Texas for me. We were all booked to take a day long trip on the Great Ocean Road tour when my dad (80 years old) got a fever. He could not come on the trip and said he would relax at the hotel that day so he would be rested for the rest of our Australia trip. I was loath to leave him alone in his room.
The day and night managers at the Holiday inn and the staff were great. They looked after him really well, They brought him soup and bread and snacks and magazines, they had my cell number and checked on him every 2 hours and called or texted me. They sat with him and talked to him so he didn't get bored. At the end of the day when we were back his fever had dissipated and he was feeling much better.
The night manager came to check on him and see if he needed anything and they took care of us really well over the next 2 days we were there.We are fussy vegetarians and they helped us locate Indian restaurants so we could get Indian food. I really appreciate them going out of their way and helping us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ratna N

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on the service we deliver, and going the extra mile for our guests and I am glad to hear that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable, and help with your father during your stay. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with our team.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#75 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#52 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing