We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Impressive even for Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #66 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressive even for Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The thing with changes is usually know what you're going to get with them - they're not usually outstanding or too terrible.

However, the sincerely warm and friendly service here is really something else. I arrived at 8.30am and was mostly expecting to be invited to wait 5 or so hours for my room to be ready... but no, these guys pulled out the stops and found me a room that I could have straight away. Great!

Sadly, I'm a ridiculously light sleeper and the room faced the street. I hate being a nuisance but when I called down to Becky on front desk... not a problem... in fact she even came up and helped me move! All of that with a genuine smile and great service.

My second room faced the internal courtyard over the pool and was absolutely perfect for me. The location is awesome with Southern Cross Station a stone's throw and Flinders Street Station a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear algray

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I am glad that we were able to impress you with our service. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I’m glad we were able to ensure you had a good night sleep.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    420
    148
    26
    9
See reviews for
119
211
78
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Booked in for two nights at the holiday inn, great little hotel with tram lines within a stone throw, i arrived slightly early, and was checked in seamlessly by one of the duty managers - becky - she was bright bubbly and easy to deal with, the room had all the standard amenities, and i had a good nights rest, very clean, breakfast was good quality however i did not try the room service or the lunch/dinner - would i stay again?. yes,
good staff members throughout and always met with a smile, which i think goes a long way,

thanks for the great stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughMiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear HughMiron

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and share it with the team. Becky will appreciate the personal mention and I am glad you found all staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked ourselves into the Holiday Inn on Flinders for the last night of our stay in Melbourne following a terrible accommodation experience at an apartment on Flinders Lane.
The on-duty manager and staff were really helpful and friendly, and were genuinely gutted for the experience we had just endured at the apartment (not associated with Holiday Inn). We were offered early check-in, and as a extra touch, given a bottle of wine to help us relax on our last night in the city.
The room was really tidy, clean, quiet, and warm. A really pleasant, comfortable stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Kitncat

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I’m glad that our team was able to help you relax for your last night in Melbourne after a bad experience elsewhere. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I really appreciated all the assistance and good cheer I got from the managers and staff here. We flew into Melbourne after a very long flight from Mumbai India for my parents and Dallas Texas for me. We were all booked to take a day long trip on the Great Ocean Road tour when my dad (80 years old) got a fever. He could not come on the trip and said he would relax at the hotel that day so he would be rested for the rest of our Australia trip. I was loath to leave him alone in his room.
The day and night managers at the Holiday inn and the staff were great. They looked after him really well, They brought him soup and bread and snacks and magazines, they had my cell number and checked on him every 2 hours and called or texted me. They sat with him and talked to him so he didn't get bored. At the end of the day when we were back his fever had dissipated and he was feeling much better.
The night manager came to check on him and see if he needed anything and they took care of us really well over the next 2 days we were there.We are fussy vegetarians and they helped us locate Indian restaurants so we could get Indian food. I really appreciate them going out of their way and helping us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ratna N

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. We pride ourselves on the service we deliver, and going the extra mile for our guests and I am glad to hear that we were able to make your stay more enjoyable, and help with your father during your stay. Your kind comments are much appreciated and will be shared with our team.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at Holiday Inn on Flinders in May 2012. We got a really good deal as the hotels in Melbourne CBD are very expensive.

Rooms are reasonable spacious and very clean. Beds are comfortable with a clean bathroom. hotel is in a very good location and walking distances to the shops and other attractions. Tram stop is nearby too.

Staff are friendly and provided good service when we stayed there.

If I visit Melbourne again, I wouldn't mind staying here again. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone if you re considering to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Luxurious88

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you found a good deal and received great service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Unfortunately we had a few problems, got to hotel after 2pm and our twin room wasn't ready, apparently hotel was fully booked on previous night and rooms still weren't clean. We got a call an hour or so later and was told they could upgrade us to a suite with a king and pull out sofa bed. We thought this would be great, the king bed was fine but pull out mattress was extremely thin and uncomfortable, we asked for another mattress but it never came. Overall hotel is a bit dated but clean, staff friendly, breakfast a bit expensive at $29 a head.

Room Tip: Breakfast available at Crown for half the price and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Rob0203

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
We are sorry you had a less than perfect experience with your room and sofa bed and we are currently addressing the issues that you have mentioned.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We received an early check in which was much appreciated! When we checked out we heard a few other people were granted early check in's so this may be a good choice for you if your arriving early and don't want to pay for an extra night!
The location was great, quick walk to the Crown complex and about a 15 minute stroll to the main shops.
Our room had just been rennovated. Nicely done however the bathrooms were a bit old- but you could see they tried to jazz them up with new taps etc.
The rooms were a bit noisey when people next door showered but that didn't bother us too much.
All in all we would stay again- it was a great price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzAdventure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear MazzAdventure13

Thank you for your review on out hotel. Our service team always try to accommodate all guest requests where possible and I’m glad they were able to accommodate you early during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#75 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing