We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“loved the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #75 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We would stay again, reception fantastic, good price, clean room, full breakfast $29 each, valet parking $40.

We chose this hotel as it was close to the exhibition centre, booked direct with hotel as same price as on other sites. Very good customer service at reception, breakfast was good also, there is a 1.5% surcharge on credit cards but im not sure if that's the norm these days. Valet parking was punctual. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Richard 1236

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and I am glad that you had a great stay with us. It is good to see that you booked direct with us, as we have a lowest price guarantee with all of our Holiday Inn Hotels and you will always get the lowest price available through any booking channels when booking direct. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    409
    137
    26
    9
See reviews for
113
206
76
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,550 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a wonderful Hotel and I can highly recommend a stay at Holiday Inn Flinders Street. The rooms are lovely, the Guest Experience Manager Amanda is Superb, the team are the very best, friendly, attentive and helpful, yet have an air of style and effecient grace, and another Amanda on the front desk is charming. Brad the GM oversees the operations and has obviously a flair for customer satisfaction, as his team all seem so passionate about their Hotel. This Hotel have staff that truley come across as if they enjoy their work from the housekeepers and the front office, its always nice to arrive here.

The rooms have block out curtains so a good nights sleep is almost guaranteed, though if you are sensitive to mild noise and vibration then ensure you ask for a room away from the Tram side of the hotel. The airco is great and keeps the room ambient, and the room service is Fabulous. Delivering a vast range of healthy treats and naughty defeats you'll love them all. Breakfast can also be very well delivered by room service or in the restaurant downstairs where they have a very good buffet. They have a dedicated chef at an egg station to cook you eggs just the way you like them. Also say hello to Howard in the restaurant he is a star, He has been working there for close to 7 years which is as many years as I have stayed on and off and always remembers me, when I visit. All the staff in the restaurant and bar were super friendly, polite and know the menu well to make some great recommendations.

The Hotel is within easy walking distance to so many attractions, like the CBD central shopping, the newly refurbished Myer complex, the lovely David Jones, the Crown casino and Flinders street station. The guys at the desk can help and assist with all your bookings, maps and advice on things to do and there's plenty to do. The city has the Yellow Cab Charm of New York, the Trams that remind one of Amsterdam or San Francisco and cafe set that rivals many European cities but still holds a uniquely Australian feel.

This year in July 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club, so look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Elite Ambassador, for ten years, I can Highly recommend this Hotel and the free IHG Rewards Club. I am truly looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear VangeInternational

Thank you for your amazing feedback about our hotel and specific team members. It is great to hear this positive feedback from one of our regular guests that choose our hotel time after time.

It is very rewarding to read that you found particular staff to be at their best and delivering friendly attentive service. We pride ourselves on the standard of the service we deliver, and this great feedback has been passed onto those that you have identified in your feedback.

We too are excited about the positive changes from Priority Club Rewards to IHG Rewards Club that will take place 1 July 2013.

Thank you again for your informative feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for about 6 years and while it is in a fantastic location for transport and access to football grounds (Etihad and MCG) I don't think much has been spent on updating the rooms. The staff are always friendly and helpfull and the dinner and lunch Ala carte menu at the resturant is good the breakfast is a bit ordinary and not worth what they charge. You would be advised to skip breakfast and head downtown to a laneway cafe, far better food and and cheaper.
The rooms are always clean and tidy but have not been updated for quite a while with the exception of a flatscreen TV. The rooms and bathrooms desperatly need some dollars spent on them and some new towels in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Go down to a laneway cafe for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swannie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Swannie 47

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the location and friendly service from our staff. We are currently reviewing options for updating the bedrooms and bathrooms and hope to see a change in these areas shortly. We have recently ordered new linen for the entire hotel which should be implemented within the next month. Thank you for nice comments regarding our lunch and dinner offerings, and I hope you see improvements in the breakfast offerings as we have been focusing on this meal period and making many changes including the addition of an egg chef and egg station.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Reasonable rooms but a bit tired. Vanity basin was cracked, paint peeling off some of the doors, but clean and tidy. Breakfast OK. Standard motel fare. Location is central to most areas of the CBD. Off street parking available for a fee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootsjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Bootsjjs

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
We are sorry you had a less than perfect experience with your room and we are currently addressing the issues that you have mentioned

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at this property for 2 nights last week. Very impressed. From the moment I arrived and was greeted by Amanda on the front desk through until check out my experience was nothing short of excellent. Perhaps it was the upgrade, courtesy of Platinum PriorityClubRewards membership, but I don't think so. From my observation all of the guests were treated in a similar manner, but perhaps not everyone got upgraded. I was also impressed by Scott the breakfast chef. Armed with an infectious smile and a great attitude Scott made the breakfast experience very enjoyable. Who'dve thought watching a chef cook eggs would provide a such great start to the day. I must also pay credit to Kristy from the Old Sydney Holiday Inn who recommended I try Holiday inn Melbourne on Flinders. I'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mark C

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, we greatly appreciate your feedback and share it with the team, Amanda and Scott both have a passion for service and will appreciate the personal mention. I am very happy that the egg station is adding another dimension to our offerings, as it is a new addition to this hotel and it is great that guests are enjoying the extra service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at the Holiday Inn on Flinders and was pleasantly surprised. I found the rooms were a very good size and contained a writing desk, king size bed, excellent lighting and full size bathroom and bath. The airconditioning was also very effective. Breakfast was included and although not the variety of many other buffets, the selection was, nevertheless, very good.

Location of the hotel is opposite Southern Cross station and the tram and free city circle tram are only 50 meters away. Southbank and Crown Casino are just a short 5 minute walk across the Yarra river, so there is plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Navy35

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised by all that our hotel and rooms have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Its a pleasant hotel, in typical Holiday Inn colours, decor etc - its centrally located, and within walking disance of the offices in Docklands and the Central Business District....

The breakfast buffet has a decent spread and is a good option to include in the booking, at least works for me !

Quite a few restaurants close by,and a nice one called Sirocco, inside the hotel - room service is decent as well, with a few things available around the clock for folks with erratic schedules :)

In all a nice warm Holiday Inn experience !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn M, Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear VVTRIP

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I am glad that you received a nice warm Holiday Inn Experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Carter
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#78 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#53 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,787 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#36 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Property: Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, a truly friendly and personal boutique-style hotel is perfectly located in the financial hub of Melbourne. The ideal base for any business traveller close to the Melbourne Convention Center, Melbourne Exhibition Centre, World Trade Centre and Stock Exchange. The hotel also caters to the needs of any leisure traveller with most of Melbourne's iconic sightseeing spots, art and cultural centres within easy reach, including Etihad Stadium and the Docklands precinct. Southern Cross Railway Station is just a two minute walk away and the International Airport can be reached via direct freeway access in easy 25 minutes.Sirocco Restaurant & Bar offer a rich hot & cold buffet breakfast and market fresh specialties during the day and evening. The cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet, relax and enjoy. Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders hosts three meeting rooms, three board rooms and all required business facilities. For leisure your the hotel offers a heated outdoor pool, mini gym and sauna. Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders is a 100% smoke free property and won the prestigious 2007 Australian Hotels Australian (AHA) Awards for Excellence in Best Environmental Initiative of all hotels Australia-wide. The hotel is recognized for its friendly and courteous service and enjoys a great share of regular return customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing