We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #78 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I generally try to stay here when traveling to Melbourne.

Staff are friendly, check in efficient. Rooms are a reasonable size, and I was fortunate to be upgraded on this occasion.

Very comfortable bed and great pillows. As I am tall the shower in most places is a problem as I usually have to bend down. I am happy to say that in this property I can fit very comfortably under the shower in the room.

Being a work trip and pretty busy, I chose room service for my meal on the first night. Very nice overall and my steak cooked as asked (which is difficult to get in many places)

My only complaint, which is not at all a fault of the hotel is that being down one end of the city, all of my custoemrs on this occasion happened to be at the other end! Can't complain too much I suppose as the walk was definitely great exercise.

Would recommend and will be staying here again on my next trip/

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 937 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for work but will come back for holidays. Staff had great attitudes, always happy & helpful. Rooms have all the basics. Convenient to the city, short walk, tram or taxi. Restaurant food & service was the best I have seen in a while. Gym pool, sauna & outdoor area.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nomadsby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two night in March, it was ok, but nothing special about the hotel. It was generally clean, the linen on the bed had a dirty smell, like it had been left in the washing machine wet, so that was unpleasant, and there was makeup marks on the sheets also.
location was a little bit far from the areas of Melbourne that we like, its right on the edge.
Probably wouldn’t rush back to stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hy_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Hy_Pie,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the undesirable smell. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the Skybus Terminal which takes you to and from Tullamarine Airport. It is a little bit of a walk to the main shopping precinct and Southbank but it isn’t too far and there is a taxi rank at the front which is very handy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms aren’t large but the beds and pillows are exceptionally comfortable. In fact, the bed was so comfortable I seriously overslept on the first night so had to set the alarm for the remainder of the stay.

Room Tip: There is a great steak place one block away from the hotel The Rare Steakhouse is not cheap but the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, quick 10 minute walk to Crown Casino and convention centre. Room was great, bed was perfect for a good nights sleep. Bathroom just a tad tired, could not got the plug in the bath to work. Breakfast was spot on and good quality. Great hotel. Only negative comments would be the price for a room and charge for wireless. Australia is just so expensive for hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice smallish hotel 100m from the river. I was on a business trip and found it very convenient. Taxis right out the front, staff very nice and helpful. Room on the small side but nicely appointed and very clean. Air conditioning adjustable and quiet. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in February 2013. What a pleasant surprise! After a very long flight from the states it was wonderful to get to such a clean and comfortable room. The bed was great with a good selection of pillows. Room was the perfect size and the bathroom was updated and very nice. I had a room next to the street ont he 8th floor and it was quite.I ate at the restaurant and it had lots of choices and food was good. I walked all around the city and the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Yarra River. There are a ton of nice restaurants along the river. The ladies at reception were very nice and helpful about walking and where to go. I had to come back to Melbourne a few days later but had to stay at another hotel. I would have preferred to stay at the Holiday Inn! It is one block from the Southern Cross Train Station, which was good for me.
If... if I had to pick anything bad about the hotel it would be that the hallways carpet is very worn and old. But once in your room it was all updated. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scout303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 160 in Melbourne
1,790 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
193 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,656 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne is alive all year round, but there’s something extra special about this holiday destination in autumn. With amazing restaurants, quirky cafes and a plethora of shopping options, including designer boutiques in charming laneways, there is plenty to keep any traveller busy. Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. Kids receive special treatment from gift packs at check-in to our Kids Stay & Eat Free program. Kids menus have been designed by nutritionists to satisfy kids’ appetite for flavour and fun, and parents’ desire for healthy, nutritious food. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star, visit the zoo, attend a sports event or simply enjoy the sights and sounds of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing