We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Ranked #72 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in February 2013. What a pleasant surprise! After a very long flight from the states it was wonderful to get to such a clean and comfortable room. The bed was great with a good selection of pillows. Room was the perfect size and the bathroom was updated and very nice. I had a room next to the street ont he 8th floor and it was quite.I ate at the restaurant and it had lots of choices and food was good. I walked all around the city and the hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Yarra River. There are a ton of nice restaurants along the river. The ladies at reception were very nice and helpful about walking and where to go. I had to come back to Melbourne a few days later but had to stay at another hotel. I would have preferred to stay at the Holiday Inn! It is one block from the Southern Cross Train Station, which was good for me.
If... if I had to pick anything bad about the hotel it would be that the hallways carpet is very worn and old. But once in your room it was all updated. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scout303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 966 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

really comfortable beds and a pillow menu meant a few very restful sleeps. great position - within easy walking distance to southern cross station and the free city circle tram.range of free mags in bar downstairs

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is well situated for getting round Melbourne its self local to the Southern Cross railway station and City circa l tram network the rooms are a little dated but clean and functional with wifi etc Staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served very good meals including a good breakfast. This was a business trip to Australia for one week. I will be returning and using this hotel next time i go .

Martin Prescott

Room Tip: for good rooms choose 7th floor 711 being one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location, fantastic standard for hotel room, pleasant outdoor area with pool and friendly service. Can't fault this place for the price.
Breakfast was adequate with a juicer which was fun.

Kids ate free and they brought in a rollaway bed for our son at no extra charge

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally37S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a few times for business, close to Casino (just 10 mins walk across). Free street park close to hotel after 10pm till 7am. 7/11 just around the corner. Wine store across the street.
Rooms okay and quite (as for rooms facing the side street or the swimming pool).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushroom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Whilst we had a friendly helpful welcome here there was something lacking-it hard to put a finger on it but there was a lack of any genuine personal touch.
Unfortunately there had been an error regarding our booking in that our Guest Loyalty status had not been processed (Hotel blamed the bookers)
Our initial room was adequate but the facilities were all tired & in need of refurbishment. We were later moved to another room (a suite at the front of the hotel) which was much better but still had that "overworked"appearance.
Location is good-across the road from the Southjern Cross station. Hotel is on Flinders LANE not on Flinders STREET-dont be fooled although there is not really much difference.
Restaurant facility adjoining-Scirroco offers breakfast & dinner opportunities.
It would have been nice to see a bottle of water being provided on a daily basis-this service appears to have disappeared as part of a new "Green" approach to reduce water consumption & plastic manufacture (or costs?)

Room Tip: Rooms on Flinders Lane will provide a view albeit limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIRDIE2Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear BIRDIE2Cambridge,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed with my girlfriends for a shopping vacation. The hotel is in a great location-. Two minute walk from Southern cross station, five minute walk to the crown casino and southbank. There's a tram stop 50mtrs down the road on Spencer st but you also have the trams a minutes walk away on either Collins or Flinders st. We had a standard double room which was adequate for the three of us. The bathroom was clean and the beds and pillows very comfy. Initially the room was step up for two people but this was rectified when we rang reception to advise them that a third person was staying and they provided us with extra towels and glasses . Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Would Definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vett08Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,603 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders

Address: 575 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $90 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are planning a staycation, weekend getaway, family holiday or attending one of the many events occurring in the city, Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders is perfectly located in the free tram zone in Melbourne CBD on the corner of Flinders Lane and Spencer Street. When it comes to family holidays, nothing can beat accommodation at Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders. As part of the world’s most family friendly hotel chain, our team happily engages with all guests big and small to create a kid friendly holiday environment. Kids under 12 Stay and Eat Free with any paying adult. Relaxation begins at arrival with a safe off-street driveway, onsite car park and efficient check-in process. Comfort extends to our modern, spacious and secure hotel rooms. For larger families, we also offer interconnecting rooms, plus free rollaway beds and portacots. The city’s best family attractions are within easy reach. Walk to Melbourne Sealife Aquarium or Melbourne Star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne On Flinders Hotel Melbourne
On Flinders Holiday Inn
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing